We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and walking distance to all sites of interest. We had a corner room with a private balcony. A little more pricey than some other hotels but a nice place to stay. The service was great and their restaurant had a great breakfast buffet we would stay there again on our next visit

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amh99_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
amh99_23 - We appreciate the great feedback and glad to see you enjoyed the property and breakfast! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    665
    385
    222
    115
See reviews for
436
694
69
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My first TA review and it had to be for the historic DeSoto! We stay here 5 or 6 times a year, and have been staying here for over 20 years, and are always treated with the best of service. The location is perfect, with the true character and beauty of Savannah wrapped around you. The squares, cafes, shops, historic homes/museums, the breathtaking cathedral and beautiful Forsyth Park all awaiting you the minute you walk out the doors of the DeSoto. Bay Street and River Street just a 10 minute or less walk away. One of the highlights of this property is the incredible views! Be sure to get a balcony room facing the river and downtown. We never tire of the amazing view, from sunrise to sunset it is perfect. The lounge with Giselle, Carol and Kiki is always a relaxing pleasure. The dining room with efficient and friendly Chandra waiting on you, as you experience another fabulous breakfast, is the perfect way to start a Savannah morning. And don't miss the Friday night seafood buffet! Over the years we have seen many courteous and helpful front desk staff come and go, and Victoria and Raymond continue in that tradition. The hotel staff, some of whom have been here 10, 20, 30 or more years, say it all with their smiles and friendly southern hospitality. To sum it up, the DeSoto Hilton may not be the coolest, newest hotel in town, but with its quiet elegance we cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
David S - We truly appreciate the wonderful review and feedback, truly not the newest building on the block but we sure try to give our guests all we can with a smile and a positive experience. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and were truly appreciative to have loyal guests like yourself. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Savannah and we sure hope your next stay is as good as your last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this is an older property and yes, the rooms are small. We were blessed with a high floor room and had a great view of the city. Bellman, auto valet, and front desk folks all made our stay great. Overnight parking using the valet is expensive but you know the car is safe. Also, all the staff are knowledgeable about the best spots to eat. By all means take the trolley if you've not toured the town before. Great historical info. And if you go for the breakfast buffet, take along a good appetite. It includes eggs cooked to order, waffles and pancakes. And a good place to taste grits if you haven't tried before.

Room Tip: Try for one from the ninth floor up on the Liberty Street side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
414Bookworm - We appreciate your great feedback and glad to see you had a great stay! Thanks for dining us and glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We hope you come see us again when coming to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The facility is almost 50 years old and shows it's age in the size of the rooms and occasional difficulty with utilities. During our visit we had to move rooms due to loss of electricity on the floor (the hotel informed us right after we checked in and provided a bellman to help move our luggage and free breakfast buffet tickets for the inconvenience). Even in the new room, the air conditioning did not seem to be functioning. Luckily the balcony door provided plenty of cool January air.

Despite these issues, the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and have learned to work around the occasional difficulties inherent in an old property and still keep the guests happy.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Food was hot, excellent selection and items were far superior to the usual "free breakfast" at lower priced hotel chains. Having it for free (see above) didn't hurt, either.

For nearby dining, you are a block or less from Public Kitchen and Bar, Soho South Cafe, J. Christopher's (for breakfast/brunch), Sixpence Pub and Fire Street Food. Pinkie Master's Lounge, the famous Savannah dive, is a block to the south and open long after everyone else has closed. The historic Savannah Theatre is just over a block away and is absolutely the #1 evening entertainment in Savannah with great live performances 5 nights per week and week end matinees.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Toastmaster2D2 - We appreciate your patience and undertsnading of some our challenges, I am glad to see the team stayed the course and went above and beyond! Thanks for the great review and for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent a few days in Savannah, so i stayed a couple days at the Hyatt and a couple days at the Desoto. 13 years ago i lived across the street from the Desoto and have wanted to stay here. I have to say they exceeded my expectations, from my room on the 12th floor to having a drink at the bar again and having a great time like a i did 13 years ago. The only complaint i have was the $20 parking fee

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidnightnSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
MidnightnSvannah - We appreciate you giving us an opportunity to have you as a guest, glad to see you had a great stay and you enjoyed the town! Come see us again before 13 years go by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel, close enough to both the river, shops, and the historic area of Savannah. Dale, the concierge who helps out at busy times, was excellent. If you are looking for a solid hotel, in a decent area, and don't need lots of frills, this is the place. Nice bar, good food, and plenty of other restaurants/bars across the street, and only 10 minute walk to the river.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Robert W - Thanks for the great feedback and for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate the comments on the staff and the hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Aside from being down by the river, this is a good spot in historic Savannah! There is actually a trolly tour pick-up spot right outside of the hotel which is nice if you are looking for a good tour of the city.

The rooms are fairly out-dated but they do offer balcony-view to the city or the river. Service was great from the front-desk to the concierge- answering any questions we had. The bar also was friendly as they gave me two champagne glasses to use for a New Year's toast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZMAN3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for the great feedback on the location and staff! Come see us again when passing through Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing