We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Historic Savannah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Savannah Desoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Concord, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location for Historic Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. The service was superb from the bellhops, hotel check-in, maid service and restaurant service. We had a corner room on the 11th floor with great views and a balcony. The location puts you right in the middle of Historic Savannah so it was easy to walk to any place we wanted to go. Even though it was a busy weekend, even the elevators were quick. The only downside I experienced was noise from the city as people partied outside until early morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Keith M -Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback Glad you enjoyed the location, the hotel in general and the staff. Sorry about the noise, it is a loud town on weekends. Come see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    643
    363
    200
    104
See reviews for
398
669
68
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel DeSoto is a great property located in the historic district. Short walk to River Street or Forsythe Park. The Trolley Stop is also located just steps away. The Conceirge was very helpful in helping us make choices to on how to best spend our short time there. It was also great to purchase the tickets right there on the property. The rooms may be a little older, but were very clean and had a great night's sleep. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Valet parking was very convenient and we were able to have our car waiting for us when ready to check-out. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kesbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
kesbas - We appreciate the kind feedback and it's great to see you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the team herer at the Desoto! Come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a small gathering of customers and key vendors (about 50) and the hotel was great - good service, friendly staff, great location within easy walking distance of downtown Savannah and the river front.

Room Tip: Don't get near the elevators - they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Chris M - Thanks for the great feedback and for using the hotel for the meeting and your guest stay. Glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
372 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wonderful location on the edge of the Historic District, 10 blocks or so from river. Everything in easy walking distance which is good because they only have valet parking which is a pain. They were busy when we arrived and we had to wait 10-15 minutes on the sidewalk with our luggage to get the car taken care of. The downstairs has been nicely updated and has a Starbucks counter in the expansive lobby. Good meeting rooms and restaurant. Elevators (3) are fast. It's when you get upstairs that the age of the building becomes apparent. Rooms are OK in size with real wood furniture which is a nice plus. However, the bathrooms are small as you would expect in an older building and there's only so much you can do with that. Very good water pressure in the shower. The other downside was the acoustics. We were next to the elevators and could hear them and conversations in the hallway very clearly, as well as people on the street 11 floors below. Staff was friendly and helpful although one night there weren't any pillowcases on my pillows which wasn't a big deal, just odd. In summary, I like the place (except for the valet parking) and would not hesitate to stay again but if you are expecting one of the brand new generic Hiltons, it ain't one. Still I was very comfortable here.

Room Tip: The higher on the River side the better. Ask for a balcony as only a few of the rooms have them. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Jim M - We certainly appreciate the feedback, we continue to work and upgrade the property throughout the year and some of the areas you mentioned will be tackled this year. We apologize for the pillow cases, strange is right but consistency is what we are seeking so we will work to get to that end! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovina Center, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Desoto might not be sparkly and hip, but it's a great place to stay. There's a garage below the hotel so you can just take the elevator up to your room. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Great beds & pillows. Nice big tv. Get a high room if you want a view of the bridge (pretty at night) or I like a low room sometimes in the back looking down on the purple lit pool. The breakfast is super, better biscuits & sausage gravy then my favorite place a few blocks away (I was surprised.) There's a bar, you can walk across the street to a gourmet market if you don't feel like eating out. (Across from the 7/11.) There's 3 pubs and a dive bar a block away, lots of cool places right around there. The staff is super friendly, good looking and sincere. Stayed at the Mansion on Forsyth on the way to FL, the Desoto on the way home for much less money and we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
VictoriaButtercup - We truly apprecite your feedback and I'm glad to see you enjoyed the property, the location and the staff! Thanks for the response and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I thought I was taking my wife for a nice weekend treat. Instead we ended up in a room with a moldy bathroom not to mention that we were misled by the help at the front desk. This hotel had to be the worst value that I have ever experienced anywhere. Ripoff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLanceUllman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, GA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

First time in Savannah. The location of the hotel is wonderful because all of historic downtown is within walking distance including River Street. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. No problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Lucinda R - Thanks for the great feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the staff and the hotel! Come see us again when coming to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing