We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby, overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Savannah Desoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Dansville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shabby, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am surprised this is a Hilton property. I stayed for three days. The first morning I had a cold shower because the boiler broke. Second morning I had a lukewarm shower. Third afternoon I found a note under my door that said the boiler would be offline again. My pillows smelled bad, the chair at the desk was torn and beat up, the lampshade in the bathroom was cracked, and there was dirt and rust on the vent over the shower stall. I can see that Hilton attempted to update the room decor but the overall impression of this hotel is dated and careless. The lobby has large, dusty crystal chandeliers and even the floor tile in the elevators is cracked. Our conference room was so cold that we had to wear jackets. The rooms are noisy, with sound from neighboring rooms and from outside waking me up several times a night (and I was on the 9th floor!). The final insult was being prompted to purchase wifi internet access when I tried to log in on my laptop. Even inexpensive chain hotels now offer free wifi for guests. For the cost I paid for this room, nickel-and-dime internet fees are unacceptable. I would not stay here again. The staff was friendly but did not wish to inquire how I found my stay upon check out. That was remarkable. It seemed to be a "take it or leave it" attitude that I am not used to in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Devin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Devin H - Were sorry your stay was dissappointing, we did have challenges with the boiler during that time period and unfortunately mechanical mishaps do happen. Most of what you have described is part of a renovation plan that is underway currently. We certainly try hard to make sure all guests have a great experience, sometimes we fall short as well. We appreciate the feedback but do know that we are working on many of the product issues you express concern with and anticipate by the end of the year to have the bulk of this done. I sure hope you give us another opportunity once the updates have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    643
    363
    200
    104
See reviews for
398
669
68
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great Hotel, from the minute the valets met us (Brendan and Tyrell) to the time we sadly had to check out, we had a wonderful experience! The concierge, was so informative and helpful. She guided us throughout the city and sent us to points of interest that were not to be missed. We would without a doubt recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Savannah. We were able to walk to everything but also directed to Hilton Head and Tybee so we could enjoy the convertible we rented for the trip. A definite home run!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in a corner room which had a nice view, however was a bit noisy because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewmanKelly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
NewmanKelly12 - We appreciate your kind feedback on the staff, the hotel and your overall visit to Savannah, glad you enjoyed! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a 2 week road trip down the east coast. Nice location within easy walking distance of the key Savannah sights. Service was very good although we faced a long wait for our room to become available at check-in. Offset somewhat by free drinks at the bar and free breakfast. Staff were great. Room was good. Price was a little high although we'd booked Memorial Day weekend which carried a premium.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Neil H - Thanks for the feedback, sorry about the wait in getting your room but I'm glad the staff made your wait worthwhile. Glad to see you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Besides a great location and friendly staff this could be a great hotel. I gave it 4 stars as the staff was very friendly & helpful + the hotels location is right where you want to be. I however, would not suggest their Ghosts, Grits & More package. The hotel staff did not seem to know how to set it up despite my reservations having been made months ago and my calls regarding the ghost tour tickets. They made me work at getting the tickets. Then the ghost tour - we left tour ½ through it. While it had a "little" history to it, all we did was ride around and around listening to the tour guide drone on and on. It appeared that we were not the only ones bored on this tour. The hotel room (corner room with balcony) needed a face lift & was rather small but clean. Main dining, bar, reception areas looked great but hallways and our room could have used a fresh coat of paint. But then....how much time is spent in the room? Not really worth the money. Wished we had stayed at another hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Deborah F - While we are a historical property we certainly try to maintain the areas the best we can, we will certainly look into your feedback and address your concerns. I'm surprised with the challenge of booking the tour, a visit with our concierge is truly all it takes to book this tour. I am glad you enjoyed the staff overall and do hope you give us and Savannah another opportunity for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice clean rooms,some with views. The location to walk everywhere excellent. If trouble walking take a trolley tour hop on and off all day.
In the lobby they always have water with fresh fruit and in the afternoon they put out fresh baked cookies.this was all nice but loved the staff esp the bell staff ! Upon arrival back at the hotel. They have a cooler filled with bottles of ice cold water ready to give out with a warm smile and welcome back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
SamzimaNH - Thank you for the kind feedback on the staff and the hotel in general. Glad to see you enjoyed the location and the little things we do to make someones stay just a little more intimate! Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Joseph
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

First visit to Savannah, GA had no knowledge of Savannah, or the Hilton Desoto Savannah. Found the hotel staff very gracious and available when needed. We dined in the restaurant each morning for breakfast, the buffet had good variety, quality of food was good also. My hotel room was on the 11th floor with an excellent view towards the river. Location of hotel is excellent, walked to and from the river/downtown along with walking to/from residential historic district with NO problems. Found the area very safe, day and NIGHT, only 2 or 3 times did I see questionable individuals during my four day stay. Did have a rental car to travel outside of Savannah to Tybee Island and Bonaventure Cemetery, otherwise used the hotel concierge to arrange tickets and transportation. Used the hop on hop off Old Town Trolley which was great to learn our way around Savannah along with history. A lot of modes of fun transportation/tours in Savannah which can be arranged at this hotel. Recommend this hotel for all types of travelers, single, couples, families, and honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 386Patrick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
386Patrick21 - Great to see you had a great stay and a super experince in Savannah. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing super special. Just a nice higher end hotel room. Definitely paid high dollar and they charge extra for parking and wifi which is just annoying. Very nice reception by the front desk. Clean room and comfortable beds. I have stayed cheaper in savannah before and would look for a better deal in the future. This was a last minute trip do not many options to choose from.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Anne G - We appreciate your feedback, things do get pricey in the Savannah market, especially on weekends and more so on prime holiday weekends. Our rates do fluctuate so please keep an eye on us and look for promos and packages. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing