We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Customer Considerate Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #47 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Lewisburg, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Customer Considerate Staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My visit was in late February with a convention of college students. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I did not meet one staff member that did not speak to me at anytime of the day. I felt that staff was always looking for some way to help someone. The hotel was beautifully decorated and sits on the Savannah River. My room was large and comfortable. We had an easy walk to most locations and got help to others. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchellbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    576
    365
    175
    113
See reviews for
403
591
41
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff for the most part was very friendly. We never passed anyone that didn't speak to us. The river view of the cargo ships was a site to see for sure. But, they do travel all hours, so if you are concerned about sleep disturbance, don't choose this side. The hotel was average, nothing really spectacular and for this I feel it was over priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCDMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

We truly appreciate customer feedback whether positive or negative, as it helps us see our hotel from a guest's point of view.

It seems our staff displayed the incredible service Marriott is known for. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We also were pleased to note your enjoyment of the container ships traveling by on the river.

Although you enjoyed your stay, you mentioned our price was not reflective of a five star hotel. We strive to provide five star service, even though we are a three star, three diamond rated facility. It appears we fell short of your expectations, and for that I offer my apologies.

Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

When I stayed at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront for a conference in late February through early March, I was impressed by how attractive the hotel was and how beautiful the view of the Savannah River from my room was (see photos). My room was very attractively appointed, down to the choice of pictures above my bed, and the comfort of the bed and the room temperature were conducive to a relaxing and restful sleep. The bathroom was big, and the products supplied were quite high end. I also enjoyed that the free ferry on the river had one of its three stops right next to the hotel. The gym was an adequate size, and it was never busy whenever I went so that I could readily hop onto an elliptical, and it was great that they had sanitary wipes, towels, and fruit as well as a water dispenser. The employees were also cordial, every single one that I interacted with, from the bartender who guided me on what to order for a light dinner to the concierge who made reservations for dinner at a local restaurant one night for me to the front desk personnel who remembered me by name (!). The rooms for meetings were appropriately arranged, and the banquet for all of us at the end of the conference was tasty and plentiful.

There are a few downsides. I've never been to a hotel whose indoor pool is actually on the lobby level so that occupants are just there for everyone with an indoor balcony to look down upon and so that anyone wishing to use the pool had to walk from the hotel elevator past bar patrons. The hotel bar closed at 10 pm, quite early I thought and atypical. And I haven't been to any major hotel without a Starbuck's or other shop where you can get an espresso or latte or cappucino. This last point may be a Savannah thing since the closest I could find a real espresso -- not just a good coffee but an espresso -- was about a 10-minute walk away. But this fact brings up perhaps the last downside: that this hotel is at the end of River Street furthest away from the most active nightlife and interesting areas of the historic district.

But it is close to places like The Pirates' House and is attractive within its own space, and one colleague saw dolphins following a freighter in on the river when he looked out his window one morning, so for a charming place to stay in Savannah, this venue is definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Thanks for making my stay-cation enjoyable. I live in Hilton Head but love coming to Savannah for a little r&r. Your hotel is in a great location that makes parking and getting around easy. The room was clean and comfortable. I will be back..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed here several times, and we just spent two nights there. The rooms on the river with the balconys are great as you can watch huge freighters pass by a few yards away on the river. The staff at this hotel is just great. I stay at Marriotts all the time, but I don't think I've ever stayed at one where the staff is as friendly and helpful as they are here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river if you have any interest in watching ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It is always rewarding to receive such glowing comments about our property and staff, particularly when a guest has just left our hotel. Thank you for your review.

Being a guest, who consistently returns because of their experience, is the highest form of praise.

We certainly look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Accompanying my husband on business this week, never can pass up a trip to Savannah! This was our first stay here, plenty of secure, off-street parking, including a parking garage. Easy walking distance to the shops & restaurants in the north historic district. An older hotel but massive, with a humongous atrium with several room balconies that overlook the main lobby and indoor heated pool.

Decent size gym, do like all the windows that offer views of the river as well as the lobby/pool (nice as most hotel gyms are rather claustrophobic). Mostly cardio equipment, bikes, tread wells, elliptically but they do have a small universal weight unit and some free weights.

The room is quite nice, decent size and recently updated, with great views of the Savannah River. The huge bathroom is definitely a plus! Bonus is the 8th floor concierge suite for Gold club members that is open 24/7 - accessible by members only with your room key - free breakfast in the morning with a buffet-style eggs, oatmeal, bread/muffins/bagels, several types of cereal, coffee-tea...but best of all: lots of fresh fruit! Coffee-tea, soda, water & fruit are available all the time, with snacks, cookies, crackers/cheese and the addition of beer/wine in the evening. I've met two of the concierges and were equally excellent in helpfulness & knowledge of the city.

There is also a spa on-site which I plan on checking out later today ;-). All in all, great experience so far - would love to come back here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay.

You mentioned how pleased you were with our location, accommodations, parking and concierge service. It is a privilege to hear so many wonderful compliments about our hotel and staff. We appreciate you taking time to do so.

We certainly look forward to your return trip, where we hope you will find our spa as satisfying as the rest of our services.

Thank you again for your review.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is not a five-star hotel nor do you pay a five-star price, but the service is five-star all the way! I have stayed here many times because it is a popular venue for educational conferences in Georgia. In the last few years this hotel has just gotten better. I have experienced a friendly and quick check-in each time. The rooms have been recently renovated and are now spacious and clean. There is high quality bedding and bathroom amenities. The common areas are showing their age but adequate for people or ship watching while having a cocktail. It is a short walk to all the Savannah Riverfront shops and restaurants, but the food I have had here (even the conference fare) has been good. It is also located for an easy trip to the "mall area" or a visit to Tybee Island. The club level is pricier, but a treat for feeling pampered. This trip I indulged in a spa visit and it was perfection. I can't believe I haven't visited it before. The spa area is small, but very clean and welcoming. A sauna and steam room are available. Yes, some areas still need a little cosmetic attention, and it is at the edge not right in the middle of the historic district and Savannah squares, but the people, service, and location make this a good choice in Savannah.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthgaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

We strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations and service and it seems we were successful in regard to your visit.

Your appreciation of our staff, check-in, room, and in particular our spa will be shared with our associates in our weekly staff meeting. That you have enjoyed your past visits is wonderful to note, but that you feel we just "keep getting better" is truly a compliment.

We certainly look forward to serving you in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Property: Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401-2900
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's only full service Marriott on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street - conveniently connected via the Marriott Riverwalk. Easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. Relax on the beach at Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing