We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #46 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stay started with zero recognition of my gold status, when I asked if there were any rewards for this was told no as the hotel was fully booked. The wait for the elevator from the garage certainly validated that, and that elevator delay continued through our stay. There was a single bartender at the bar who was not happy at all, he could have used some help on a busy Friday evening. The saving grace of this hotel is its location, closest Marriott property to the Riverfront. Rooms are typical Marriott nothing too fancy. We were interrupted overnight by an alarm but were told to say put while it was investigated. Turned out to be nothing but it certainly disrupted our sleep. Pretty average stay, at an above average price.

Room Tip: Prefer riverview with a balcony, had that our first stay and it was great. Second stay was looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Guest comments are important tools, in that they allow us to see our property from the guest's point of view.

It seems you stayed with us during a very busy time and elevator and bar service were slow. In addition, because of our sold out situation, we were unable to upgrade your room. I apologize that these were your experiences.

I also want to apologize for the fire alarm issue. Although we have addressed that problem, it was not a pleasant situation for our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had to travel to the area for a business conference which was held at the Marriott. There was another conference going on at the time of our arrival and it was obvious that most of the rooms were filled. Everyone on staff was pleasant and helpful and always had a friendly smile even during such a busy time. The location is also perfect since you are within walking distance of River Street, but can sit back and enjoy the river from the hotel if you so desire. Overall it was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I checked in today after waiting at least 12-15 min for a second attendant to help the busy check -in person (she was helpng one guy for a LONG time). I am so disappointed. I will be here 5 nights for a conference. The walls are dirty all over this hotel, incl the common areas and halls. The bathroom wall texture is peeling off. The wall area around the light switches is filthy. Can this not be wiped? This place is in dire need of painting, cleaning and updating. It feels very worn and cold. No greenery, rugs, art etc. No flowers on the property, only shrubs.
I called the desk and asked if it was just my floor...they "didn't know since they only work the front desk"'. I plan to call corporate. Not how I want to feel on conference/vacation time...

DO NOT stay here. Your money will be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the length of time you had to wait to check in to your room. In addition, the cleanliness issues and general upkeep of the hotel you mentioned are most definitely not customary Marriott standards. For this I thank you for bringing your observations to our attention and at the same time apologize that this was your experience.

Please know that guest feedback is vital in knowing where we succeed, as well as where we fall short. The issues you mentioned are being addressed.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From arrival to departure the service couldn't have been more hospitable. Everyone smiled and greeted you in a pleasant way and some often did it by name. Nothing out of the ordinary - this just shows that management has stressed exceptional service to their employment team. Job well done. What a beautiful town and a lovely location on the riverfront. Seeing magnificent ships pulling in to load and unload cargo. Nice restaurant on premise too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river to enjoy watching the ships quietly roll by. 8th floor is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome stay here after a bad first night at another hotel. Abby at the front desk was excellent and Michael the concierge gave us some excellent recommendations and made reservations for us. This was a great experience and the room was beautiful with great view of pool and atrium as well as the river. Nice walks along the river. Thank you so much for an excellent time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tazmonkey1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First and foremost:The Staff could not have been more pleasant. Everyone was extremely nice.
That said this Marriott is very VERY dated. The "lobby" is nothing more then a very old and tired pool and a large expanse of space with no place to sit. The room was lacking in basic room amenities. No fridge. No make up mirror. Everything that one expects in what they claim is a full service 4 star hotel. They charge $2.00 for a cup of coffee in the morning where all other hotels that friends and family were at for our stay not only had comp. coffee all day but free breakfasts and comp wine & beer in the afternoon!
It is located at the end of the River walk but, as other guests have mentioned, it is not a pleasant walk at all. If you go by the river it gets very spooky. If you walk on the street the sidewalk actually doesn't exist in front of the hotel. In fact, there is no real entry to this hotel. When you come in by taxi you are immediately confronted with a set of stairs to get to check-in. Not pleasant with luggage.
The river side of the hotel has a large patio with a few old dirty chairs to sit in. Ugh!
I surely have almost blind faith with Marriott but boy was I wrong with this hotel. Came back into our room at 3:00 to get ready for a wedding and the room was not yet made up. Had to ask for new towels, shampoos etc.
I did mention my disappointment to the front desk on my departure and was pleased that MARY JO was able to credit me one night's stay.
That helped but it was an "icky" room in a dated icky hotel with an absolute icky atmosphere at the "bar". Don't bother to stay here until they renovate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillEdgartown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay.

We value all feedback. Positive or negative comments allow us to see our hotel and it's services from our guest's point of view.

I am sorry for your disappointment in our location. Although many guests comment on the Riverwalk as being a wonderful and easy access to restaurants, bars and historic sites, that was not your experience. I am sorry for that and the other disappointments you expressed - the lack of a fridge and makeup mirror in your room, the entrance, decor and the patio of the hotel and the lack of complimentary coffee, breakfast, beer and wine.

Also, please accept my apology for your room not being cleaned when you returned from your outing and the need to ask for additional towels.

It seems that our staff was the highlight of your stay, in particular Mary Jo. Thank you for letting us know. We take great pride in our staff and their dedication to our guests.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel is right on the waterway that leads to Savannah harbour. It's walking distance to Savannah's colorful historic district that comes to live at night. The city it'self is filled with historic antebellem homes with architecture that will keep your eyes busy. The many tours are very useful to get around town and inform you about all the famous and infamous people & events. Best thing about the tour buses is, you can get off and get back on at any designated stop! Take time to enjoy it all!

Room Tip: If you can, get a river front room, but don't be alarmed with the ships blow there horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We were so pleased to hear about your stay! Guest satisfaction is our top priority and it seems we accomplished that with your visit.

Also, it was good to note that you enjoyed our beautiful city as well. Savannah, being coastal and historic, does have many attractions, and by being on the waterfront, our hotel offers a "bird's eye view" of the river, and as you mentioned, the huge container ships.

Should your travels bring you back to Savannah, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,131 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £118 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing