We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this Hotel for a long weekend. The front desk was friendly and efficient, the room was great. . Our room looked out on to the river and the old town. All rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs and the beds are so comfortable with down covers. There is nothing we did not like about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chru98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    566
    354
    170
    105
See reviews for
393
577
40
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Ask for a river view if you can get it—it was amazing to watch the giant container ships navigating the river. That said, the interior rooms had balconies that are usable year-round and the atrium was architecturally interesting with the north wall being entirely of glass and facing the river. We grumbled about having a room with double beds (who has that anymore?), but found the beds to be cozy and not at all cramped.

If you don’t mind walking a bit, the location is okay—about a 15 minute walk along the river to the heart of the historic district. There were many other hotels much closer to the restaurants and attractions, but we got a fabulous deal at the Marriott and it was worth the trade-off. It also helped that we stayed on the executive floor which came with a continental breakfast Monday-Friday and cocktail hour Sunday-Thursday.

We were also glad we took advantage of the concierge. In addition to being very personable, she gave us some great suggestions. The trolley tour was a wonderful way to see the historic district with their hop-on hop-off policy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I attended a conference here and the hotel was able to meet the needs of a large group. It was on the Riverfront and we explored the Riverfront and the city. We were able to do this on foot and it was wonderful! The restaurants were great! The bougainvillea bushes were beautiful and fragrant. I would live in Savannah (my birthplace) if I could!

Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kygal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed here during our recent trip to visit SCAD with my two teenagers. Picked this hotel for price and location. It is located right on the River walk and an easy walk to just about everything in downtown. Parking is a major issue in Savannah, so location is important to walk in a safe area.

Positives: location, very clean hotel, incredible staff and service, food was great for a hotel
Negatives: rooms are small, some rooms in need of updating (we asked for a newer remodeled room and they accommodated), parking was $18 per day, no free internet access in business center or room

We were treated exceptionally by the hotel staff. They offered us a free upgrade to a water view with access to free concierge services saving us money on breakfast/snacks. When I asked about the internet, the manager gladly offered me free service in the business center. My best advice, just ask for what you need and they are more than willing to offer with a smile.

I would not recommend the ghost trolley tour unless you are looking for theatrics. It was $25 per person and very disappointing. The Pink House was our favorite restaurant, but then again, all the restaurants were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We got the hotel on priceline and were satisfied with both the price and location. It is not centrally located within the historic district. But not a far walk at all. Very easy to do the walk down River street or anywhere really.

Our room was clean but some of the furnishings were outdated. The TVs haven't been replaced since 1980 and the chairs were pretty old. Our bathroom was very clean and our bed clean and comfy

I found the whole atrium and rooms overlooking it a little odd.

And how do they get away with $18 a night parking!! That is ridiculous!!

Next visit to Savannah I think I would rather try a B&B but this was fine for our Valentines Day weekend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanem688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel over New Year's. Honestly, we probably would have chosen a different hotel if we hadn't had so many Marriott gift cards to spend. The hotel was fine, but really nothing special.

We had a room that had an outside balcony-- even though the view wasn't good, I still preferred it as opposed to some of the other rooms that had balconies that overlooked the indoor courtyard. The room itself was a bit larger than expected, but worn and in need of an update. The bed was comfortable.

We were given an upgrade to be able to use the club lounge. It was nice to get some free drinks and appetizers one night. The lounge was open for breakfast one morning that we were there (closed on the weekends). The breakfast was fine since it was free, but again, nothing special.

The location was walking distance to River Street, a good location, though on the end of River Street. I think next time we visit Savannah we would choose a hotel with a more central location.

We did work with the concierge to arrange a couple of tours and for restaurant recommendations, and we were happy with her suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenj31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I know from other reviews that people have had some problems here, but I have stayed here twice (Jul'09 & Jun'08) and had a good time both times. We were on the conciege level both times and it was okay. Breakfast is light, but we are light eaters in the morning anyway. We had riverfront rooms and did not experience noise like some other reviews. The pool IS very chlorine-heavy and permeates the lobby and atrium. We did not swim there. I like the location since it is on the highway to Tybee Island, which is where we do our swimming/beaching. It is about a 5-minute walk to the riverwalk area with the bars and some restaurants. Staff was very friendly and we had no problems. On both stays, we spent 4-5 nights each.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvthebeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Property: Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401-2900
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's only full service Marriott on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street - conveniently connected via the Marriott Riverwalk. Easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. Relax on the beach at Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing