We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works, but needed new bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah
Ranked #81 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
south carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It works, but needed new bed”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for one night with a group of youth so we had reserved the 2 bedroom suite which had four double beds, 2 bathrooms, a sitting area with a pullout sofa, and a kitchenette. The space in this accomodation was large and nice. Everything appeared clean and neat. We were not actually in the room for a long period of time other than to sleep for the night. One of the beds apparently needed to be replaced as it seemed to be broken because when you laid on it you felf as it were slanting and every move it creaked loudly. The other beds seemed fine though. The parking lot was a bit tight and the area of town seemed slightly suspect but as we were not there long it was difficult to assess. Breakfast was crowded as they had everything in a small square area and it would get jammed up. The lobby where the breakfast area was had space that was not well used as there were a very limited number of tables but lots more space where tables could have been added.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear sunburst83,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Savannah!

I have asked our maintenance team to check the bed you mentioned so that we can repair or replace it, so thank you for your feedback on this. I apologize for the tight parking while you were here. We were getting new roofs on all of our buildings, and the crew took up some of the parking spaces with materials. I'm glad to report that they are completely finished, packed up and gone and our roofs look great!

I also wanted to let you know that after our renovation this summer/fall, you will be seeing a lot of what you mentioned in the lodge. The plans are to open it up to provide more seating and lessen the congestion around the food areas.

We are glad you enjoyed our two bedroom suite (largest suites in Savannah) and our housekeeping team appreciates your comments about the cleanliness.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    172
    139
    136
    123
See reviews for
375
197
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms were very nice as was the property. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast and evening receptions are great cost savers making the hotel a good bargain. The hotel is convenient to the shopping district with restaurants as well as an easy commute to downtown Savannah and Tybee Island. My only recommendation would be to request a room that does not face White Bluff Rd. as it is quite busy and the traffic is loud. Although some areas were a little worn, they weren't bad and they are undergoing a major upgrade this summer. Our room was quite clean and everything was refreshed daily. The pool and hot tub are also nice. The pool is heated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face White Bluff Rd, the traffic is loud and will keep you up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Tina D,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Savannah and thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope you got to spend the money you saved on parking, breakfast and dinner on some Savannah souveniers!

I'm sorry about the noise from White Bluff. When this hotel was built over 20 years ago, White Bluff was not the main street that it is today. We are hoping to get double paned windows installed on the street side of the hotel during our renovation to help cut the noise for our lighter sleepers. Meanwhile, we do have complimentary earplugs available at the front desk if you should need them.

Thank you for the kind words for our team and we're glad you enjoyed the pool and hot tub! Make sure you come back and see our facelift when it is completed!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The only problem we had with this hotel is what MapQuest gave us. It sent us south on a divided boulevard, where we needed to go about half a block before we could make a U-turn to get to the hotel. The room was clean, but could use some TLC. We were told by the management that that particular building would be shut down and remodeled later on this year. The free breakfast was typical of hotel free breakfasts, with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, a waffle maker, toaster for bread or bagles and a small selection of dry cereal, small selection of yogurt, and a small amount for fresh fruit. I wish hotels would get off the idea that everybody likes banana-strawberry yogurt. The free "manager's reception" food was just barely adequate and not very hot. Their beds were rock hard, which we don't care for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokey223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Smokey223,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel! I apologize for any confusion on MapQuest. Depending on which direction you are arriving from, you may have to make a U-turn because the street is divided.

I also wanted to let you know that the entire hotel will be renovated so all suites and our lodge will be getting a fresh updated look including the Serta "Suite Dreams" mattresses.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Super friendly staff clean rooms. Amazing. Oh yea free beer

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willis222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear willis222,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team really appreciates your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us! Our guests love the complimentary beer, wine, iced tea and lemonade while they relax over our free dinner Monday through Thursday. We're happy to hear that you did too!

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites - Savannah as your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Peters, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I recommend Homewood as a place to stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice. Good location in Savannah. Easy access to highways and only 5 miles from the historic district.

The helicopters from the nearby Army airfiled can give you a startle at first but I quickly learned to ignore them. Never were a real bother.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Rob C,

Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel and for staying with us! We appreciate that you liked our suites and want to let you know that they are going to get even nicer! We will be renovating the entire hotel and are sure you will like it even more.

Thanks for the kudos to our team and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ok, in defense of the hotel, the manager has gone out of her way on several of these to assure people are aware a remodel is coming. In light of that I respect her taking the trouble to provide feedback for this. It does reflect the customer service there. I do see where everyone is noticing that yes it is getting old and ready for a face lift so I wont repeat that over again. I do agree they also need to come up with a better entrance or signage so you can find front door. I mean we will always find it with a little looking, but just a suggestion. I did also notice the dogs running around which is fine and I have nothing against people bringing dogs along; it is just not my kind of thing knowing a dog may have sleep in the bed the night before on your bed. I dont mean that in a mean way as I have family that take there pets everywhere as well. I did end up with a flea bite. Of course it may have come from outside as well. The breakafast and evening social thing is nice, although there are some great places to go for dinner in Savannah; but a nice option if tired. I did use the gym, although on tread mill was broken. The other work fine and no one else was using room. Did not use the pool, but the spa was down and was going to be for several days. the room was nice and seemed cleaned and the bed was comfortable. There were a few items that could and I am sure will be upgraded. In addition the walls seemed fairly thin along with the celing. I could hear peoples conversations next door word for word and anytime a persn above would walk across the floor upstairs you could hear every foot step. In summary, Homewood suites is always a reliable place as I have stayed at several before; this one is just ready for a new face. An as I dont want to discourage anyone, but I would wait myself until remodel is complete before visting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear fromsocal,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We are looking a little tired as we last remodeled in 2008, and we too are very excited for our new renovation and can't wait to show it off this fall! Our excellent service will continue regardless of our renovation with the same high gold standard, as it is what our guests deserve.

I also wanted to assure you that you will never have to worry about sleeping in a clean comfortable bed at the Homewood Suites - Savannah. We change all bedding including the duvets and comforters after every guest checks out. We also have our pet friendly suites thoroughly and specially cleaned.

I'm happy to report that our hot tub has been repaired and apologize for the several days it wasn't working. The circuit board that controls the circulator pump had gone bad, and the distributors said that it would be a minimum of 10 days before they could send us a replacement. This board also controlled the suction that prevents a person or child from becoming trapped in the drain which while unlikely, can happen. For the safety of our guests, we decided to close the hot tub until a new circuit board could be installed. The treadmill has also been repaired so thank you for your feedback.

Again, we appreciate your loyalty and thank you for staying with us. We can't wait for you to see our future improvements!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Homewood Suites in Savannah is a fairly pricey place, but when you look at Savannah prices, it begins to seem reasonable. Facilities are nice and conveniently located, rooms are well appointed, and I loved the complimentary Neutrogena products in the bathroom. We had a few glitches with our room air conditioning but they were attended to immediately and with apologies. The dining area is spacious and hospitable, and breakfast is an excellent value. The gregarious morning manager moved through the room visiting with guests, and gave us good advice on where to eat lunch. He also fixed me grits "the right way" for breakfast, and his grits were mighty tasty! Monday nights feature a complimentary dinner with wine and beer served from 5 to 7, and while it wasn't a five-star meal, it was filling and nutritious and provided us with an opportunity to relax and "stay in." We also enjoyed having a kitchen stocked with utensils as we like to snack and have a drink before going out. Recommended. Kathy M.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Kathy M,

Thanks for staying with us on your trip to Savannah! We are indeed a great value for travelers when you add in the savings of not only the breakfast every day and dinner (Mon-Thur), but the free parking too. Parking in downtown Savannah hotels can cost an extra $20 per day!

We're glad you enjoyed your suite and appreciate you recognizing Jay - the morning Manager. He loves to see our guests having a good time, and definitely knows his "grits"!

Come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah
Address: 5820 White Bluff Rd, Savannah, GA 31405-5523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites - Savannah is an all suite property with a choice of 1 or 2 bedroom suites. All of our suites include a separate living room with a sofa sleeper and kitchen with a full size refrigerator, 2 burner cook top, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, cookware and dishes. There are 32" LCD televisions in the living room and each bedroom, iron and ironing board, USA Today newspaper and free wireless internet. Indulge in our complimentary Suite Start Breakfast which is a hot breakfast buffet with make your own waffles, and on Mondays through Thursdays we serve a complimentary Welcome Home Reception which provides a salad bar, entree and side dish, bread, beer, wine, lemonade and iced tea. We offer same day dry cleaning service or you can do your own in our guest laundry located just off our lodge. We offer a complimentary 24 hour fitness center with Precor equipment, and a free business center which has two computers with printers and a copier. We have a hot tub and our outdoor pool is heated so you can swim year round. We also have a gazebo area with two gas grills where you can cook and relax with a book. You can earn points and miles for your stay with our free Hilton Honors program, and we proudly deliver good old fashioned customer service and southern hospitality with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Savannah Hotel Savannah
Hilton Savannah
Homewood Suites Savannah
Homewood Savannah
Savannah Hilton
Savannah Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing