We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient to all the historic areas and river walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very convenient to all the historic areas and river walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Had never been to Savannah before and found it very fun and very historic. The hotel is right in the middle of it. Rooms great as usual. Staff helpful in pointing out things to do. Good breakfast. Parking is 20.00 per night but well worth it. Take the green and orange trolly where you can get on and off at different sites. We took the whole tour around and then did it again knowing where we were going to get off. It was great!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Hampton Guest,

Thank you for writing your recent review. I am so happy to hear that the accommodations were great and the service was excellent during your last visit. The convenience of booking trolley tours directly at the front is great, and our hotel is located on the trolley pick up and drop off. It was really great to hear form you and I look forward to your return.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    656
    170
    56
    15
See reviews for
575
1,024
51
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The conference I was attending was in the sister hotel across the road, The Holiday Inn Express, but the rooms were all booked out so I managed to get into The Hampton. It's perfectly located for quick access to River St, for the beautiful squares that populate Savannah and the sightseeing trolley stop is right outside the main door. The room was large compared to UK hotels, the bed very comfortable and a choice of two pillows types. I did have to switch the a/c and fridge off because I am a light sleeper, but that aside I was never woken once by corridor noise, etc during my week's stay. Massive number of power/charging points (combined power and USB blocks - UK Hotels take note). Remember to take two UK-charger/adapters for electric razor!
Breakfasts were simple but plenty of choice - the make-your-own-waffles were fun. Plenty fruit, juice, coffee and savoury food, plus the usual cereals and pastries. Everything was served on recyclable plates, cups etc, even at some of the bars and restaurants in the town. In fact, Savannah has a licensing law which allows you to walk around with a beer, so all the bars do (thin) plastic glasses too - I landed here in the middle of a wine and food festival and there were no signs of anyone / group getting out of hand. Unfortunately you just wouldn't see that kind of control back home.
High point was the service from the front desk and sales team here at The Hampton Inn. The sister hotel across the way were of little help or imagination when my Canadian colleagues were trying to arrange FedEx of some display materials back to their country. They had to come across to The Hampton to get the paperwork. My experience of the team here was excellent - as soon as they realised that I did not have a FedEx account they took care of everything, for all they really needed was my name, the shipping address and the method payment. Why the HIE team couldn't do that I don't know - same group? It made it much less stressful for me and I was grateful for that.
All in all, I would highly recommend the hotel for location, comfort and service. If you are driving there is limited space outside at the drop-off and it can get backed-up, but if you are only here for a weekend I would suggest getting a cab in from the airport and then just walking. It's a great place to visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MBothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Hampton Guest:

This review is truly awesome. Thank you for mentioning the little details that makes all the difference in making a vacation worth it! It is service that sets us apart from our surrounding hotels, and when you couple that with a great location, and nice hotel, the outcome is truly amazing. It was really a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to serving you again if you should ever come back to our beautiful city.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mifflin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife & I booked three nites at this hotel....we were never in Savannah before...what a great location...so close to almost everything...staff at this hotel were very helpful & courteous...they made our stay pleasant...breakfast was on the house...we had a river view...nice...this hotel is within walking distance to river street & lots of other sights...the interior halls could use an upgrade (doors)...overall we would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: spring for the view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write this review. We are all very proud of the fact you would definitely recommend our hotel and that the staff was great during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to the Hampton and look forward to your return. I would also like to add that we are indeed replacing all guest room doors within a few weeks, so the next time you return your experience will be even better!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently spent one night at this hotel. It being my first trip to Savannah, I wanted somewhere centrally located (and that's what I got).

Check in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly. I was welcomed as a Hilton's Gold member, which is always nice. My room was a king room with sleeper sofa on the 6th floor. The room itself was showing a little wear and tear but all in all, was a very nice room. Very clean, HUGE, quiet, with well stocked bathroom. The rooftop pool looked nice, although it was too cold to use it. The riverfront was right across the street.

I checked out earlier than I had planned but if I were to ever return to Savannah, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngwife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you!

Thank you for your loyal support as a Hilton Honors Gold Member. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we took care of you. The roof top pool is beautiful and views are amazing. I look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake oswego oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent location. Fantastic beds and room was clean. I have never been to a hotel where everyone, and I mean EVERYONE who works there was so friendly and helpful. Everyone we came in contact with wished us good day or evening not just to say those words but took a genuine interest in our day and our stay - not just the usual chit chat. All were helpful in providing information about their wonderful city. Each would provide their name and told us if there was anything we needed to just ask for him/her. I've never encounted that before in a 5 star $400/night hotel. great stay and I recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xplrdawrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks!

I would like to personally thank you for this outstanding review. The staff at the Hampton is great and they really do the best to go above and beyond their job description to satisfy our guests. Each person takes responsibility for the next, and we all have each other back. Thank you so much for your loyalty.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 10/31/13-11/3/13. Great central location to everything. River street right across street and down a few steps! Just a few blocks from City Market. Hotel staff are awesome! Very helpful and very friendly. Only negative : breakfast area is not organized properly. The seating and breakfast stations and eating area large but you cannot get around breakfast bar and chairs easily! Breakfast staff are very helpful! Large lobby and beautifully decorated!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDGTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback!

We are proud to see that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the seating in the breakfast area. I will rearrange a few things and make sure that the spacing is optimal for everyone. Thank for this wonderful review.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hampton Inn on Bay Street is a wonderful location for walking to many restaurants, shopping on Broughton Street, River Street, and most attractions in the historic district. The accommodations were first class, the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast is better than the average "breakfast included" hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rebwmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Great!

I am so happy that we lived up to and exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing