We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discourteous front desk staff, understaffed on Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had several issues starting with check in, continuing with someone smoking in a smoke free zone which aggravated our asthma, and continuing by being unable to contact a manager. One front desk clerk in particular was rude and downright disrespectful. Clearly not the attitude that Hampton wishes to project. On the positive side, the hotel is beautiful, is located in a perfect place, and has valet and breakfast staff second to none. I have since spoken with the general manager of the hotel who assures me that my concerns will be addressed. He asked me to return. We are undecided if we will return or not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for expressing your concerns to me. It was a pleasure speaking with you last week. As promised, I have addressed your concerns with the particular staff member who was rude to you. I would also to apologize to you again for the inconvenience you experienced over your Thanksgiving weekend. I can assure you that this behavior is not tolerated and that it will not happen again.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

I expected to pay more for the nice room. Breakfast was great, and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is within an easy walk to the river shops and restaurants. There is a nice pool on the roof with a great view at night. There is an extra charge for parking, however there are a few free spots on the street in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest:

It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. We are always happy to accommodate and upgrade anyone whenever it is possible. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were only staying for night, but the hotel was great! We stopped there for the night and picked this hotel on the road. It is in a great location downtown, near to so many places to eat! We could even walk to Starbucks (it was a little farther). The room was very nice, as was the roof pool and lobby. They had a huge book of restaurants that you could look through for all different occasions. Very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your recent post. We all appreciate that fact that you have taken the time to express your views concerning our hotel. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful roof top pool, and the added convenience of our location. We hope to serve you in the future and we hope all is well.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent Thanksgiving weekend here and it was a great experience. Cleanliness was a 10! Image both inside and out was a 10. Great staff. Wireless worked well all over the hotel. Location is fantastic to all attractions and restaurants. Walked most everywhere. View are great, especially from the roof top pool area. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you!

We are so happy and humbled that you decided to spend your Thanksgiving day weekend with us this year. The staff and I do our best to make everyone feel as though they are welcome. Our hotel is a second home to many guest and would like all guest to feel that same way. Thank you so much for you recent review and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Hampton Inn was located in the middle of the historic district. Once we parked our car we never needed to move it again we left. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and fairly quiet. We could hear people in the hall but it is was not the kind of noise that disrupted our sleep or anything. Complimentaty breakfast is what I would expect in this price range, both hot and cold options were available. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you so much for your recent review. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and we all are happy to hear that you would stay with us again should you return. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The folks at Hampton Inn Savannah are outstanding. As always, (our third stay) they went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. They made sure our every want was taken care of, our every need met. We don't shop for lodging in Savannah anymore, we stay at Hampton Inn, Bay St.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Ricky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Hampton Guest:

It is always a pleasure having you stay with us. Your loyally to our property is greatly appreciated, I we do our best to show our appreciation to you when you stay with us. Thank you so much!

Sincerely,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great location for walking.....Not the hotel's responsibility but Savannah needs to put more street lights up and have areas more well lit. Some street lights were not working at all. More dark areas than well lit for that many tourist to be walking the streets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you expressing your views! Our Tourism leadership community takes the safety and concerns of residents and visitors very seriously. I will forward your concerns to the city council and hopefully we can make some immediate changes. Thank you, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,054 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £110 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing