We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hampton Inn, ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicest Hampton Inn, ever”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Wife and I booked a stay for our anniversary / NYE. Staff was, with one exception at checkout, outstanding.

Location can simply not be beat. We were within walking distance of everything.

Rooms we're really nice and spacious. Bed was OK, but all in all we loved our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. We appreciate your writing this wonderful review, and stating how much the staff impacted your stay. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    701
    181
    58
    18
See reviews for
657
1,115
55
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel is nice. Not great - nice. We had a group of 8 staying there. Our room was on the river side - well appointed. The safety lock was broken on the door. But there was not a security issue as the dead bolt was working. There was a sticky note on the head board telling us we had clean sheets. I would hope so. I never saw this in a hotel before.

The free hot breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare. It is probably worth going out and finding a breakfast place unless you are saving a few bucks.

I thought the valet parking is a bit expensive for Savannah - more in line with big city parking.

All in all a pretty good place to stay for the money and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side. The back over looks an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stick_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for writing this review. All feedback is good feedback, because it gives us the opportunity to grow. I am happy to hear that you think our Hampton Inn was nice, and we hope to improve until everyone considers us great! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I'm from Savannah and had to stay in a hotel this time during our visit. I chose Hampton due to past experience and that reputation held true. The staff was fantastic, very helpful, and always upbeat. We had a King room on the corner facing the Holiday Inn/Bryan Street garage. Parking there was overall cheaper than the $20/day valet provided by the hotel. This hotel is in a great spot for touristy things (River Street/Bay Street/City Market) and most are within a short walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

It is great to hear that our local guest appreciates the experience of our property. Thank you so much for taking the time post this review, and we hope to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband was down in Savannah for work. Since it was a last minutes deal I didn't do much planning. The hotel Manager... CAROL was amazing!!!! Not only was she super friendly but she was awesome as to telling us the best places go for what we were looking for! We also went to the restaurants and bars she recommended and she never failed us!

The hotel itself was very clean and very nice.

Thank Mrs. Carol for making our stay here great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

I am so happy that Carol was able to make your stay enjoyable by giving you recommendations of where to dine while in our beautiful city. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and have wonderful new year!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A beautiful hotel in the heart of historic Savannah. We parked our car at the hotel and forgot about it. Most of the places we wanted to see were within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was the best. Very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else while in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your feedback and support. I was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. I hope I have the opportunity to meet you during your next visit to the area.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We loved the hotel, perfect location, great staff, highly recommended. This a great town. We liked walking around and exploring, drove out to Tybee, had dinner across the street at Leo's. You can't find a better place to start your Savannah sojourn

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel have a nice view of the park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thanks you! It is great to hear that your trip to Savannah was delightful. Thank you for this valuable feedback and we hope to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The property is in great condition and located in an area that makes having a car unnecessary. I used the hotel as home base and walked throughout the historic district. The staff are exceptional and friendly. My room had a beautiful view of one of the squares. I recommend this Hampton highly to anyone who wants a great place to stay while in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your great recommendation! It is greta to hear how much you enjoyed our property. We cannot say enough our wonderful and outstanding hotel staff. It really is a great combination for an outstanding Savannah experience. Thank you so much, and we hope to another opportunity to serve you!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,745 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing