We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Rooms are of a reasonable size, and the hotel is quite new and modern. Higher floors (including the room I stayed in) have partial views of the river (although the windows aren't huge). The hotel has the features you'd expect from a modern Hampton Inn, with the regular breakfast buffet and pleasant staff.

Location wise, the hotel is right by the Town Hall - just across from the river walk, and just in front of one of the many historic squares in the town. I found it central to everything, and was able to walk to many of the sites. The tourist shuttle trolleys also stop just outside.

While the hotel offers valet only parking, there is a large, cheap city lot that offers 24hr self parking right across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for posting this awesome review! We always strive to deliver the experience our guests are proud of, and our entire focus is pleasing the customer. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us and I look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,738 - 1,744 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights on a last minute reservation after staying on Tybee island for 4 nights. The Hampton was ideally located in the heart of the Historic districts with easy walking access to the riverfront as well. The staff was friendly, efficient and made me feel like they really cared. Convienient valet parking, great breakfast offering and coffee available all day. Clean roms and lobby area. Great place to choose for a quick trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you!

I am happy that you were able to interact with our awesome staff, and enjoy our wonderful location. It was definitely a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I'm a Hampton regular. I rate most of their properties 4 stars. That's your standard, clean, comfortable, cozy pleasant property. Occasionally, there is one that goes beyond that, and I give 5 stars. One that falls below average would get 3.

This property is all about being centrally located in the historic district. There is a trolley stop just outside (great way to get around) and probably the best restaurant in the city, one block away (Olde Pink House). You can read my review for both.

The hotel staff is welcoming and friendly. We arrived on a really cold afternoon, and really appreciated the firepkace in the lobby. And of course, the cookies are the best welcome of all : )

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aworkingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

It is always a pleasure to serve our most loyal guests. I'm sorry that we didn't wow you this time, but if you give another opportunity we won't just meet your expectations, because our aim is to exceed them. Thank you for your valuable feedback and loyalty to the brand.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The staff was very friendly & the location is perfect if you are interested in taking tours or strolling along River Street. Our room was very clean & the valet parking was very convenient. The concierge, Carol, is awesome! She was able to book our tours & dining during our stay. I would highly recommend staying at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your support! Our location is Ideal for getting out and enjoying the historic district. Our staff is amazing, and outstanding customer service is what we specialize in!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Fast, friendly, efficient customer service with excellence. A great location, across from River front. Full hot breakfast served. Clean lobby, hall restrooms and rooms. Great price on rooms. Good food in walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bonita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for leaving this awesome review! I am happy that you were able to experience some of the best 'Southern Hospitality' at our property during your stay with us. It is a pleasure to serve and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hampton Inns are my go-to hotels. Never disappoints. However this HI in the historic district really needs some TLC. Our stay started with no hot water or water pressure so a day was spent without but during the evening hours a pump was replaced. The front desk was swamped with complaints. Many guests left and were sent to other hotels. Manager Leonard was polite. The blond thin man manager was not. Rude rude rude. Apathy seemed to reign here at this hotel from housekeeping to front desk. The concierges were very gracious as was Leonard the manager but there is only so much one man can do. Good help is hard to find. The rooms were dated and worn. Bedding was lumpy and worn. Carpets dingy and worn and forget the pool area which was neglected and unkept. Perhaps they were short staffed when I was there but the hotel was full. Breakfast on styrofoam plates and plastic cups with artificial eggs adds insult to injury for 200 plus a night . I know that is standard blast fare at HI but in the historic district where the rates are higher than the other side of town perhaps a real plate and glass would add to the ambiance. I was compensated for our first night without the water by a reduction in the rate after I asked. I was also overcharged on my final bill since they added a 20.00 valet parking charge for each night. That was removed without question. A few other customers had the same complaint. The staff was outwardly friendly at times and at many other times just plain annoyed when asked for simple things that the housekeeping had not completed..like not freshening the room with new towels and toiletries,laundry bags etc. It was a sloppy week for this Hampton Inn in Savannah's historic district. I will try to post a picture of the worn and lumpy comforters that are usually plump and fresh. This place needs a renovation. And an attitude adjustment.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors..it's a noisy street. It is very convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dane1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. As previously stated, the Hampton Inn experienced some unexpected issues with the water pressure, and internet for dates of 02.17.14-02.21.14(internet only). We apologize the inconveniences that this has caused our guests. We have corrected this issues, however this does not atone for the situation our guests were placed in. I would like to thank the guests for their overwhelming support through this circumstance. As 98% of our guests have attest, our staff was very professional and customer service oriented through this entire situation. We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had an enjoyable stay here and plan to return. The weather was beautiful, and made it easy to walk from this historical area. The hotel was within walking distance to a lot of places. There is a problem parking in Savannah so it is likely you will valet park at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Pat1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for the support! Parking in downtown Savannah can sometimes be frustrating, so our valet parking option is a great perk, and guarantees that you will always have a parking space. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,054 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £110 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing