We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was amazing, especially the concierge-turned crummy weather into an amazing visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
“Staff was amazing, especially the concierge-turned crummy weather into an amazing visit!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I arrived in cold rainy weather thinking I would not get to see the city and would spend all my time in the hotel. Carroll Inglis, concierge, recommended the trolley tour which kept me dry and I saw so many sites. The next day, the rain was gone, but the cold remained-she helped me find more tours and shopping that made my visit a very pleasant one. The housekeeping and front desk staff were also very friendly. We will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmerbound2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

It was definitely a pleasure having you stay with us. I am so happy the Carrol was able to give you that personalized service that you expect from Hampton! This mission of our team is to provide a care free stay, and it seems that we have delivered on that goal. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and I look forward to your return!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    673
    172
    57
    15
See reviews for
607
1,064
54
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hampton Inn! The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and professional, and the amenities plenty. Kudos to the concierge, Carroll Inglis, for her above and beyond help!!! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

It was certainly a pleasure to have served you as our guest. We really appreciate you for the time it took to post this wonderful review. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and I am happy to hear that Carroll made your stay wonderful. We all look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you are planning a trip to Savannah the Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District is absolutely perfect for all your travel needs! PERFECT LOCATION - short 2 minute walk to the beautiful River Walk with excellent shopping, restaurants, relaxation, entertainment and river cruises. Amazing daytime and evening views of the city from the lovely roof top pool deck. CONVENIENCE - Although parking is scarce in this city, never fear...Hampton Inn provides friendly and efficient valet indoor parking for a mere $20 per day that takes all the stress out of finding a place for your car...worth every penny. Our valet, John, was great and even transported our bags to our room for us. ACCOMODATIONS - The lobby is impressive...Old brick, wood floors, fireplace...every detail exudes southern charm. Beautiful, clean, comfortable rooms...I recommend a 5th floor historic view room, you won't be sorry. Free coffee and fresh fruit are generously provided throughout the day. Freshly baked oatmeal cookies in the evening. The FREE Saturday morning breakfast was DELICIOUS!!! Eggs, sausage, waffles, toast, home fries, fresh berry bowl, cinnamon rolls and more!!! YUM!!! THE STAFF - Wow!!! Best hotel staff ever encountered anywhere! Gregory, Nika and Monica (I think) were sooo gracious and accommodating to all our requests. And what can I say about Concierge Carroll Inglis? Her expertise was invaluable! High on my "Bucket List" was to enjoy a PRIVATE horse drawn carriage tour throughout the city of Savannah. Carroll booked the perfect tour that completely fulfilled my fantasy...her knowledge of the city is exceptional and her advice invaluable in making our trip a success. Lastly, when it came time to check out, we were quickly able to print our return airline tickets at the lovely computer station easily accessible to all guests. Although our stay was sadly too short, our praise for the Hampton Inn is not. WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen Moody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

WOW!

Thank you so much for the awesome review. This provides us with so much motivation to keep delivering on the things you have outlined in your review. Delivering the best customer service in the hospitality industry is our goal, and our purpose is to make our guest happy. Thank you for the support, and will be sure to acknowledge everyone listed in this review. I look forward to your return, and another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the people that work there. They were ALL friendly, helpful, and if there was a problem, it was solved with no waiting.

The room was very nice, bed was comfortable and the room was clean. They even left a note to let you know the comforter had been washed, which I know is not always the case. There was a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

The bathroom had lots of counter space, the towels were good ones (not the rough kind) and the shower pressure was great. They provided Neutrogena products that were kept well stocked during our stay.

They also provide a breakfast that was really very good. Each day they had cereal, fruit, oatmeal, eggs of some sort, sausage, two waffle makers that could be used, toast and an assortment of bakery items. There was coffee, hot chocolate,and several different juices for beverages.

There were three parking lots for the hotel, one right beside and behind it and the other two right across the street. We lucked out and got a space right behind our room and we walked everywhere, so we did not move the car at all. The location is great, you can walk to places to eat and all the sights. There is also free city transportation that you can catch right above the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired1m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you this detailed review of our property. The complimentary breakfast is awesome and the breakfast team does an excellent job delivering outstanding service. See you soon!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What a great hotel with one of the most friendliest staff. Rooms were very clean and the location of the hotel is perfect for getting around in the old historic district. The only complaint is. If you check in the late evening or return late to the hotel, the parking garage is a long walk in the dark. I did feel safe, but it is a long walk.

Room Tip: Check in early or return early to hotel. Parking garage is a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deweymikels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Than you posting this review. We have valet services that you can take advantage of, so this relieve an long walks to the parking garage. I was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and hopefully we will have another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Terrific hotel in a very convenient location. You can walk to a lot of things and the trolley stop was right outside the hotel -- I recommend the on/off trolley ticket. Concierge was awesome -- recommended and made reservations at a couple of awesome restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hags_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you!

I see that our concierge service was able to provide you with excellent suggestions and valuable information. We really appreciate you for taking to post this review, and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was excellent and the staff was better then Excellent Have the staff park your car in there garage they stored it in the under ground parking which is very easy to get to.All entertainment and restaurants are within waking distance

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for taking the post this review! I would also like to thank you for taking the time to fill out your survey concerning your stay with us. I am so that we delivered on your expectations, and that your trip to Savannah was a great experience. I look forward to serving you in the near future.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#15 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HRS, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing