We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Historic Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring Historic Savannah”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a comfortable hotel in a great location. The Old Trolley stop is just outside the door. River Walk is across the street with tasty restaurants (try Bucaneer Bob's!!) and typical tourist shopping. Easy walking to all the squares, churches, etc. The bed was quite comfy, clean room, lovely variety at breakfast, cookies served daily at 5, coffee and tea available at all hours, fruit basket in lobby, complimentary bottled water, all amenities you need. Beautiful view from the rooftop pool. The staff at front desk wasn't always knowledgeable. The elevator could be very slow, but the stairs were convenient. Overall, I was quite happy with my 5 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryntessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your 5 day stay at our hotel. I apologize for our front desk not being able to assist you with all your questions and we will address this accordingly. I am also happy to read that our location was ideal for exploring the area, and that you were also able to enjoy our beautiful rooftop pool. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    672
    172
    57
    15
See reviews for
607
1,061
54
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

this is a very clean hotel, excellent location in downtown Savannah. Trolley runs right outside front door. Close to River front and many good restaurants. Staff very courteous and helpful. Breakfast very good. I would, however, advise getting a room away from Bay street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest;

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review.It was definitely to have you as our guest, and we appreciate your support.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you are ever in Savannah Georgia make sure you stay at the Hampton Inn Savannah historic district. I have stayed at various hotels in the area and this is by far the best hotel of all. All of the staff from here is great, they always greet you every time you walk thru the door. The facility is always clean, the rooms are very comfortable, and they always make sure you feel comfortable. Its a great location to the historic river street, there is so much to do around here and the staff is always willing to help you in anyway possible

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclark417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you so much for posting this review. It is great to read just how well we stack up against the hotels in the area. We pride ourselves on providing great guest service, wonderful amenities, and the best value in the area. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Leaking water from buzzing non working ceiling light, turns out light fixture filled with mucky water from room above, dripped the whole time. Hair dryer had tons of lint plugging the vent it struggled for air the whole time and no room safe, had to lug valuables all around with us either in car trunk or in purse. Expected better level of service for the price...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had at our property. There was an unexpected leak during your stay, which was resolved within an hour. As it pertains to no safe being in the rooms, we have safely deposit boxes at the front desk for guest to use for the storage of their valuables, and many guest take advantage of this amenity. We provide the absolute best service and value in the historic district, and I am so sorry that you were not able to experience this during your stay. Please contact me at the email address below so that we can properly address your concerns.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Inn is located conveniently to the historic district in Savannah. The staff from the moment of arrival was attentive and helpful. The room was what we expected, comfortable, nice and clean. The elevators are very slow and crowded but, the building is old. They offered a nice selection for breakfast. We could not use the internet due to slowness and unavailable but, when we informed the staff they credited us back for the valet parking which was not expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and a view toward the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. I would also like to take a moment and thank you for recognizing our team members. They are what truly makes our hotel special. I am also happy to read that you were able to easily explore the historic district, and that our location is ideal for doing so. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location to walk to everything in the historic district. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the chocolate chip cookies when we checked in were a nice touch. The room was very clean and quiet, and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KC262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn on Bay Street. Thank you for recognizing our staff and the hard work our team puts in. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for the last two night of our holiday. The hotel was friendly, value for money, staff lovely and our room was good, clean and comfortable. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the centre and an interesting walk into town. The two nights we stayed our bill was $426.31, excluding breakfast and we thought this was a fare price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn on Bay Street. We absolutely provide the best value for your dollar when you consider all the wonderful amenities we offer. The free breakfast and free wireless internet are a great value, and our location cannot be beat. We look forward to serving you in the future should you return to the area.

Best regards,

leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#15 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing