We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Ranked #58 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Saved by the staff”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The staff is great, the hotel room, not so much. Check in was easy as usual. Jennifer on the desk was very nice and helpful. Up to room 334. Nicely decorated. Like the graphic shade in orange. Attractive. Big beds, brand new or nearly so TV. Clean bathroom, fast wi-fi. But oh, the noise. La Quinta's older properties like this one use the worst windows ever made by man. And I mean ever. Every truck, every car with a loud exhaust or stereo, every scooter and probably every bicycle and even loud butterflies made noise that not only penetrated into the room, but was amplified by the Bose(tm) inspired windows. They really did seem to amplify every little noise. Finally went to see Jennifer at the front desk to get my room changed. It took Jennifer less than two minutes to move me across the hall to the back of the hotel. No hassles no arguing. Wonderful job Jennifer.

The new room was really quiet. And cold. At three AM I woke up very cold. Turns out the thermostat on the wall was not working. Jen had left, so Crystal came up and manged to somehow reset the window unit so it gave off some heat. It had to be at least 50 degrees in the room. After Crystal's fix, things warmed up nicely.

The next morning time for a shower. Let the water run for over 5 minutes, no hot water. At first I thought it was because I was on the 3rd floor and it would take time for the hot water to arrive from down below. Called the front desk and a young lady said the maintenance guy was here and she would send him up. In just a few minutes Steve was at the door. He turned the tap and still no hot water. He tried different positions and found the tap had been installed backwards. You had to turn the tap towards cold to get hot. He also said he would fix the thermostat.

Room 333 turned out to be sleepable but not wonderful.

I give this hotel 3 button rating ONLY because the staff did everything they could to make me comfortable. If you read my reviews here on TripAdvisor you'll see I'm generally a fan of La Quinta. But I think this place finally broke me. La Quinta has to take better charge of their physical properties. Great staff can only do so much.

And one more silly but still annoying thing. The TV guide was off by an hour because the internet co La Quinta uses is very poor. The schedule was an hour ahead because no one adjusted for the fall back at the beginning of the month for Eastern Standard time. La Quinta, in what I assume is move to save money went with the cheapest tech company they could. Probably the one who built the government healthcare web site. Nonetheless, the the whole La Quinta internet system is pretty far below average throughout the whole chain. They need to get better service. Even the front desk was having problems with the reservation service while I was checking out.

I'm moving on. My next stay will probably not be with La Quinta. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, but I'm tired o the rest of the surprises I get every time I check in.

The staff gets 5 stars, the hotel property gets one. What a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside, away from the main road. Or book at the La Quinta down the road the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    232
    130
    72
    48
See reviews for
267
237
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

For a one-night stop on our way to Williamsburg, this La Quinta was perfect. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, away from traffic. Room 7616 had a very comfortable King-sized bed and was very roomy and clean. We were able to walk across the street to Red Lobster for dinner, which was most convenient after a long drive. Their free light breakfast gave us a good start for the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the backside away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzluvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I normally avoid pet-friendly hotels because they more than often are a bit run down. This La Quinta was an exception. The hotel was clean; the rooms very comfortable and clean. The breakfast area offered a continental breakfast along with waffles; very nice.

Room Tip: Request a king size bed. We had room 103 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-from-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff were very pleasant but not as knowledgeable as you'd like for recommendations. The rooms were clean and there's an free breakfast buffet, that I didn't try (I need eggs!)--waffles, coffee, cereal, muffins, coffee and juice. Free parking is always great. I was there with family, we had two rooms next to each other which was great because they were pretty busy. Location is excellent, you can take the street they're located on all the way into the historic district and the river front. For the price, which was extremely inexpensive, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekimberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is my very first time every writing a hotel review. This place is just awful. Linen was not cleaned, floor spotty with stains that would stick to the bottom of your feet if you dared to walk barefoot! Rating in food area was 84.6, bananas at 630 were black and Waffle mix just awful. I went to check out and the receptionist asked me how was my stay and I replied interesting. She said nothing else! Just awful. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good location if you are by car, confortable room, cleanliness, front desk very receptive, I have nothing to complain about. Simple hotel, worth the price. Standart breakfast, like all those inns. Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
0.9 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#38 of 113 in Savannah
828 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown
#41 of 113 in Savannah
979 reviews
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#57 of 113 in Savannah
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Address: 8484 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31406-3425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodations and convenient access to area attractions, come to the La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located just six miles south of the historic district/River Street and only half a mile from Hunter Army Base. We are pet friendly, and the front desk is open 24-hours, with fax/copy services available. A Free Bright Side BreakfastTM awaits you mornings in the lobby along with a copy of USA Today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Hotel Savannah
La Quinta Inn And Suites Savannah Southside
La Quinta Savannah
Savannah La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing