We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like "old" this is a wonderful place....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyons Twin Mansions
Ranked #1 of 1 Fort Scott B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
OSKALOOSA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“If you like "old" this is a wonderful place....”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Not good for handicapped and breakfast is next door. But that's "the good old days" and if you want modern don't stay here... However, meshed with the old are big-screen TVs, clean modern bathrooms, etc... Several bedrooms have just been re-done. We stayed in the Adventure Room...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The glamorous Miss Pat is your generous hostess.

She gave me the Royal Safari room and while it's a bit disconcerting to walk straight into the bathroom, the super high-tech walk in steam shower you see first is a thing of beauty and a joy when in it!

The pressure sensitive foam mattress on the bed was incredible, so very comfortable.

There is a fridge, TV, dressing table and sofa in the bedroom. I enjoyed a good breakfast in the twin mansion next door.

Fort Scott is a little, out of the way town, but this is a destination B&B.

I highly recommend a stay here even if you have to drive a distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Scott, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Lyons Mansions! My husband surprised me for our 1 year Anniversary with red roses, a private steak dinner and an overnight stay in the Mandalay Room. When we first arrived in our room, I was delighted with a layout of cake, strawberries and sparkling grape juice. The thoughtful man must have arranged for a romance package. With a fluffy snuggle-chair for two, a chromatic hot tub for two, and a comfy king bed, it was HIGHLY ROMANTIC! Back to our food. Our private 3 course dinner began with mixed greens with signature granola, followed by bacon-wrapped filet mignon, augratin potatoes, and grilled vegetables, and ended with warm caramel-apple crisp a la mode. Breakfast boasted fruit-topped waffles, breakfast burrito, eggs, and sweet potato hash. Simply delicious! Miss Pat reflected her beautiful home's warm elegance. She was so sweet and accommodating with our questions and needs. What a special and memorable first anniversary!

Room Tip: The Mandalay Room boasts a color-changing hot tub for two. It's on the 3rd floor of the mansion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Kellenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the moment you meet Miss Pat to the moment you leave you will be feeling pretty special if you stay here. This 7 bedroom mansion has been tastefully furnished with period antiques but bought up to date with very comfortable mattresses, air conditioning and free wifi. Marlene (special thanks to her) guides you around the premises adding detail to the rooms and the pictures. You are then left to explore the mansion and find all sorts of original features that will make you realise you simply don't have enough time to see it all. The original servants staircase and bells are there to view and run parallel to the master staircase which has a fantastic curved wooden balustrade. Miss Pat even organised a private trolley bus tour for us which is worth the effort. Awesome is the only word to use.
Nate's place, across the way is where you have breakfast and is also fantastic The burrito keeps you going all day, if you manage to eat it all.

Well worth a visit. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This time I stayed in the von Blücher Mansion and it is incredible, stuffed with history and atmosphere is just inspriing. What an opportunity to beocme part of living history in comfortable surroundings. The rooms are in keeping with the mansion, comfortable and with mod cons yet in keeping with the Mansions period. The care and hospitality shown by Miss Pat and a special mention to Marlene (the von Blucher housekeeper) was a real pleasure. Breakfast at Nats was as always fresh, belly busting and flavoursome.

Fort Scotts hospitality was also just spot on - what a welcome from a small town.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We chose a stay over point between Dodge City , KS & Branson, MO for the night.
Miss Pat of Twin Mansions is ever so sweet. She took us "room shopping." We chose a bedroom in the White House, a guest cottage. Super hi tech shower with all bells & whistles. We saw a similar one on a home show. Super comfy accommodations. A great town to visit. I was pleasantly surprised. I discovered that AAA book doesn't give a realistic idea of some places. Would definitely stay again! Had breakfast in the other mansion owned by her son Nate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollislinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I am starting a new business in the Fort Scott area and have stayed at Lyon's B&B for 3 weeks in the past 2 months. It is a great place. The food and accommodations are excellent. There are three mansions and a great selection of rooms to fit your needs. As a business person, I greatly appreciate the high tech/high speed internet and access to private conference areas to meet with colleagues. The food for breakfast and lunch are wonderful. The hosts, Pat and Larry Lyons are fantastic and go out of their way to make it a great stay. I like Fort Scott, an historic town that is being revitalized. It has great restaurants, Crooners and a nice bar, Sharkies, that I also recommend. In summary, I travel extensively and have to rate Lyon's as on of my all time favorites. It is perfect for a weekend getaway, a business trip, family reunion, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Scott
0.5 mi away
Courtland Hotel
Courtland Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fort Scott
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Fort Scott
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Fort Scott
Oak Tree Inn Fort Scott
#3 of 7 in Fort Scott
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Nevada
23.6 mi away
Cedar Crest Lodge
Cedar Crest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pleasanton
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
King's Way Inn
King's Way Inn
#5 of 7 in Fort Scott
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Twin Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Twin Mansions

Property: Lyons Twin Mansions
Address: 742 & 750 S National, Fort Scott, KS 66701
Region: United States > Kansas > Fort Scott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Scott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyons Twin Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyons Twin Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing