We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal!”

Fort Stanwix National Monument
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1758 to guard a strategic port along a major transportation route, today this national site maintains an extensive archaeological collection and a nearly complete reconstructed Revolutionary War fort with interpreters.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fort Stanwix has been on my must-see list for decades, and I finally got to visit!
I can tell you that I was definitely not disappointed- the site is a National Park Service tour de force! Rome is an easy trip on a highway loop off Interstate 90. The fort dominates the downtown area.

Stanwix is a huge reconstructed wooden fort, complete with moat and drawbridge. Reenactors welcome you to the fort and provide periodic demonstrations. There are guided tours, but you can do a self-guided tour at your own pace, visiting all of the workrooms and living rooms. Each room has plenty of period artefacts to bring the milieu to life, and helpful descriptive material.

There's an extensive Visitor's Center with several movie shows (and one inside the fort) to help visitors with the historical significance, and plenty of descriptive material, presented in an engaging way.

Stanwix is a highly important site in our nation's history, and the story of why this geographical location was of vital importance is fully explained in the exhibits. The NPS has done a stellar job in reclaiming this site and making it universally available (no fee; open every day except national holidays).

You can enjoy this fort on several levels: kids will enjoy being inside a 'castle', it's a great place to enjoy a walk; and history buffs will find much to enjoy and to learn.

Whether you've one hour or several hours to spare, mark this down as an unforgettable must-see!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    56
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Defeating St. Leger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The recreation of the revolutionary war fort is the best of its type with no detail spared. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and access is easy. The battle that took place there is of under rated importance in terms of winning the war and the site gives the battle the significance it deserves. Well worth a class trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stopover...and free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A few people in period costumes, a musket demonstration and a short film about the history of Fort Stanwix are the highlights here. You can go into the fort's buildings to examine more things. Difficult place to find using the directions in the AAA TourBook...but actually right in the center of town. They take donations and there is a gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I only got to spend a very short time here because we were starting on a bicycle tip down the Canal trail, but we stopped here before we began. I wish I had spent the day. The visitor center has really well done videos done from the point of view of different characters, which really are effective at telling the complex history of the Fort. The physical surroundings and re enactors are top notch. Definitely a must see if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ft. Stanwix what a really cool Revolutionary Fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is an excellent day trip. We traveled from Albany to check this out. Well worth the trip. Convenient parking across the street. Informative Visitors Center. This fort was reconstructed around the mid 1900s on the original site. There were two city blocks built over the original site. The replica is amazing. The exhibits were really good too. This is truly a must see for all. Plenty of cannons. Plenty to see in the barracks too. Cool mote.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank burtatmikes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Stanwix National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stanwix National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing