We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross, unsanitary and creepy”
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gross, unsanitary and creepy”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

DO NOT go there. Room were dirty, no house keeping and i couldn't wait to get out of there. No WiFi either. Bathroom ceiling tiles were brown and moldy. Molding was pulled away from the walls and you could see black stuff. Outlets don't work. Lamps didn't work. Even if you have to drive 100 extra miles avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    6
    1
    22
See reviews for
6
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I admit, walking into the lobby in the evening was like none other--the ceiling was crisscrossed every which way with string for the wandering philodendrum plant (?sp). The room we were given (2 dbl, non-smoking) was very basic. There was AC/phone/TV. It probably had not been updated since 1975, but was incredibly clean. The sheets were nice and crisply clean. The bathroom was also very clean. We went with the least expensive hotel in the area, which is only about 10 miles east of Turningstone Casino, and we were only going to sleep there, then head back. You could hear a little bit of the traffic on the main road, but this hotel is in a very remote (seemed scary driving in at night) location. It is very well lit, and there were only 3 other cars there on a Saturday night. Would we stay again, sure. It was nice and clean and very safe. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The bed comforters were even very clean appearing.

Room Tip: Our room was on the north end of the building. The main road was about 1/8 mile to the south. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I booked this online at priceline.com. We just needed a room for 1 night. Well, first of all the location is horrible. We pulled in and I almost starting crying and told my husband I would not stay there... Actually scary looking.. We did not even check in..We lost our $60...but it was worth it.
REALLY!! STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Looks like a stopping ground for hookers and drug dealers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I made the mistake of traveling on the weekend that students and their parents travel for the first week of college. No hotels available for miles from where we needed to be. If we did not have pressing business we would have cancelled our trip, but here we are. Stay away. Checking in at 9:30 PM, no cars at this hotel. restaurant, bar and sub next door (closed). Room, very sub-standard. Walk around facility in the morning revealed only four cars. Peolple who checked in with us had left (last night, this morning?) All previous comments are true. Nothing more to add. Should have stayed with relatives or friends. Planning next trip better,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theutican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I agree with the comment below - when we pulled in, the hotel (which sits next to a bar that's been shut down for over 10 years, I know for a fact) was completely void of any cars at 1:30 PM. I walked inside and had to speak with a 70 year old man who didn't speak English very well through a plated glass (robbed much??), to then be told that there were no rooms available except for one room upstairs. Since there were no cars in the parking lot, I thought it was strange, but I took the available room. When my husband and I walked in, we found a cigarette celephane wrapper with white powder inside just laying on the ground (I'll let you guess what the substance was). We decided to just stick it out and stay because the price was so cheap, but I wish we hadn't. We needed some kind of air flow, but the AC was way too loud and giving us a headache so we put it on just the fan and went to sleep. We woke up barely able to breathe - we had a headache for the entire day afterwards, and we were coughing all day too. In the morning, we were sitting in the chairs looking at the bed (which had no fitted sheet, just a flat sheet tucked under the mattress), and we saw blood. Yes, BLOOD. Room 125, upstairs. There is NOTHING else in the world that dries that same color. And there was a lot more than you would expect - envision a crime scene. We decided we were going to pack up everything first, then take a shower and leave. While we were in the shower, we found a very crusty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain rod, and the water was leaking out of the tub onto the floor and into the room below us. I'm sorry for anyone who got rained on because of us. The whole experience was awful, and my husband is on the hunt for a T-shirt company that can make him a T-shirt that says, "I survived the Red Carpet Inn, Rome NY" Please - this is NOT an exaggeration - for your safety, and the safety of those who are staying with you, DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My fiancé and I needed a place to crash after playing games at the casino and thought it would be a bargain at 60.00 a night. Upon arrival we checked in at the front desk that consisted of a bank teller style window with two sketchy older gentlemen who barely spoke English. After going up the steel rusted out stairs to the second floor we opened up the door to our room and beheld the cinder brick walls as well as the divider that led to the bathroom and shower with Sheetrock so thin that it looked like cardboard. There was still a silhouette of chalk line on the floor from the last hooker that was murdered there. The room did have a microwave as well as a mini fridge that had 5 bud lights stuffed in it from the last drunken sex filled evening. The bed did not even have fitted sheets! We both woke up with a headache the next morning and a feeling that we had been raped during our slumber, I was almost surprised that I did not have flamingo feathers sticking out of my butt. If you see this place while traveling near turning stone, stay at a crack house!!! I promise it's safer.

Room Tip: Don't go into room 117, we heard voices!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17MikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were on a mini get a way and decided to go to the Casino. This motel is 8miles from there so we book a room via the internet. We stopped by to leave our things in our room and we were totally shocked. Check our reciept from the internet and it was to late to get our money back. As you probably can guess we did not stay. We didn't even go back to the front desk because we were so horrified. There were cobb webs all over and the room smelled horrible. I would not even sit down in the place. As with KaEn 1228 we were told the same thing that check in wasn't till 3 but NO ONE WAS THERE. So much for a mini vaca.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
2.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rome
Hampton Inn Rome
#1 of 7 in Rome
264 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
519 reviews
9.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
13.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 799 Lawrence St, Rome, NY 13440-8101
Region: United States > New York > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Rome
Red Carpet Inn Rome
Rome Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing