We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad Decline”
Review of Relax Inn

Relax Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for perhaps 5 years, attending an annual event. The location is excellent for attending that event.

Over that time, they have added hair dryers, refrigerators and microwave ovens. A year ago, I might have rated it as average.

This year was notably different. The first day, we did not request a wake-up call -- but we got one at 8:30. The next two days, we requested 7:00 wakeup calls; instead, we got 8:30 wakeup calls.

The first morning, when I went to use the coffee maker, it had obviously not been cleaned--there was dried on coffee in the bottom. In the past, we have always had decaf coffee left regularly; this time we had to ask for it.

The first day, our room was not serviced. We were given clean towels at the office. The next morning, we had an overflowed toilet, which was attended to promptly. The person cleaning up also gave us clean towels and said the area would be more thoroughly scrubbed during the regular servicing. I asked that the window-sills be dusted, as there was a forest of cobwebs between the window and the sill.

When we returned at noon, the sills had been dusted. The room was serviced later in the day, and it was also serviced the last day. However, no one dusted anything else, including the headboard of the bed and the top of the black refrigerator.

The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were very poor, having little stuffing in them. The linens were clean, but some of them were badly stained, and one hand towel had a worn spot that was about to become a hole.

I cannot speak about the breakfast, as our diet dictates that we buy and eat our own stuff in our room. In the past it has consisted of coffee and packaged pastries offered in the small lobby.

The staff we encountered were always very pleasant ("I can't imagine why the wakeup call didn't go through..."), but there is clearly little effective supervision.

Our experience this year was so disappointing that we wonder whether the hotel has changed
owners or managers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

There was a time when a hotel like this one would have been inviting, even charming.
Unfortunately, all the reviews are correct. This place is a dump.
There are some serious issues with housekeeping and cleanliness.
Why should we have to ask for clean sheets at check-in or clean towels for the bathroom?
Would gladly have stayed if management was attentive, but they seem to only respond to big problems and requests.
With the air base gone, there are fewer and fewer places to stay in the Rome-Utica area, but you need to go somewhere else if possible.

Room Tip: Not possible. We tried.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The location of this place is terrible, cross the intersection at your own risk. The main lobby is smaller than my linen closet at home and the staff are very rude. The room had stains on the rugs and sheets, someone else's toe nail clippings on the floor, and BED BUGS. We only stayed for 3 hours before discovering them. And when we approached the front desk about it, they said that since no one else complained that night- they wouldn't believe us. Even after seeing them! Their maintenance guy (who stunk of beer!!! And was FILTHY) said to us that they had the bed bugs in the past and renovated. So it had to be a beetle on the bed. When I informed him he was wrong, he told us that WE were the ones who brought them into the room. I will NEVER use this hotel again. If the ratings had a scale of 0-5 I would rate this place a huge 0!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmakiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This place is horrible and that doesn't even describe it! If just the site of the dented steel entry doors to each exterior facing room to the check-in desk with piles of assumingly dirty comforters heaped up in the visible back room won't turn you away, the rooms them self will give you the chills like something out of a horror movie or a crime scene. From the smell of must to the dead bugs on the window sill to the lovely view of what looked to be an abandonded overgrown train track out the rear windows. My family was only planning on staying one night and we figured for the price how bad could it be? We only lasted about 1 minute as I watched a bum ride by the rear window on a beat up bike and we demanded a refund, left and drove 20 miles away to stay at the Hampton Inn/Suites in New Hartford for about $20 more and had a great, clean, stay there.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dginter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This has to be one of the worst nights I've had! We were in town to visit the family in Oriskany, had booked for two nights. First...it had a no smoking sign on the door...previous visitors obviously smoked. The heater worked but was so noisy I couldn't stay asleep, it rattled badly! The room was ok as far as cleanliness and the bed was comfortable that's about the best I can say about the accomodations! We cancelled our second night and left, never to go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As some of the other reviews have alluded, I should have known better as soon as I pulled into the parking lot. However, I went against my better judgment and stayed...only to be woken up at midnight by the night manager, asking me how I got into the room. Long story short, the manager didn't understand that I said I was leaving early in the morning on the 14th, which is a simple misunderstanding. But, it is thoroughly unacceptable to be woken up in the middle of the night and ACCUSED of attempting to cheat them out of another night. On top of that, what is someone who is travelling by herself supposed to think when someone starts pounding on her door? I was on the phone, preparing to call the cops, when this idiot starting shouting that I shouldn't be in the room. What a terrible place, ran by equally terrible and inept people. I highly recommend to anyone who is looking to visit Rome that you find another establishment to stay at...one where they don't attempt to break into your room in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milk1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

After leaving another horrible hotel (read my review of the super 8 in Utica) I booked this hotel for a similar value. I was a bit nervous driving in but the staff was friendly and let me check the room before booking it. I will say that the room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was OK. The stairs up to the 2nd floor were a bit scary (crooked) and the hallway was dirty. Breakfast was a joke. We definitely did dot waste any time checking out as early as possible the next day.

I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefermom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rome
Hampton Inn Rome
#1 of 7 in Rome
298 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Rome Motel
#4 of 7 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Inn at the Beeches
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Address: 145 East Whitesboro Street, Rome, NY 13440-6821 (Formerly Econo Lodge Rome)
Region: United States > New York > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rome
Rome Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing