We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMELLY CARPETS!!! NEEDS A GOOD SCRUBBING!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“SMELLY CARPETS!!! NEEDS A GOOD SCRUBBING!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this motel for 3 days and there was an upended sleeper sofa in the stairwell the whole time. The hallway carpets smelled bad and the cover up spray did nothing to help the smell. There are carpets in the entrance ways and they were wet with muddy footprints and dirt tracked in from outside. Tile would be a better choice because it can be cleaned at least once a day!! The room was ok at first glance but could have used a disinfectant wipe on the counters dressers ( they were sticky and full of fingerprints) . The vaneer was peeling off the bottom of the doors and the grout needed changing around the tub (moldy) The airconditioner had to be shut off by crawling on my hands and knees underneath to unplug it ( knob did not work)
Motel has seen better days!

Room Tip: Bring disinfectant wipes with you and go around the room before you move in......Lysol spray to rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    32
    20
    58
See reviews for
37
31
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times over the past several years. Sometimes it was good, sometimes not so good. Recently, I made no advanced reservations and picked the weekend of the Boilermaker to visit Rome. Called early to inquire about early check in. Staff wanted to accomodate, but unable to promise anything. Eventually, we were checked in to a clean, very acceptable room. Very comfortable bed. In the past, I've been there when repairs were taking place and new carpeting was being installed. So, it's clear to me somebody is trying to make it acceptable.

People.... this is Rome, NY If you don't know the history of this city I guess you won't understand. Rome is the home of some of the toughest, most proud Americans in this country. They have survived decades of blizzards, economic decline, un-employment and lousy politics. Few good things have happened to these folks in the last 50 years. But Romans don't give up. Hell, I'm happy they even have a Quality Inn to stay in when I'm there. Anybody remember the Family Inn? Give these people a break. They're trying!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flhcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed out in Rome at the Quality Inn because we couldn't get a room in Syracuse that was reasonably priced on Mother's day weekend. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfy, and the room was big enough for 2 people. The lobby wasn't great, but there is a Denny's restaurant attached to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed in town on business on May 31, the room had spiders webs in each corner also ac did not work properly.The bathroom had mold and mildew around tub and sink,at checkout told the front desk clerk she said she would relay to manager.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I travel every weekend on business and this is my first complaint as i am not a chronic complainer. THIS HOTEL IS DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY patched and unpainted walls in the room moldy falling down ceilings in the bathroom jagged untrimmed edges where the carpet meets the bath tile no customer service as they are too busy argueing with other customers requesting their money back I promise never to stay in another "CHOICE" hotel again they obviously do not have people inspecting otherwise this place would have been condemned The owners are obviously filling their bank accounts and spending nothing on this property not even soap ! stay anywhere else even the vacation wigwam in a tent would be better Ed Lyon Pittsfield Ma

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edmonds l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness and having the room properly ready for occupancy required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was notified of your report of falling ceilings and jagged edges where the carpet meets the bath tile and instructed to look into the matter and see to proper repair.

• Staff members received additional instruction in the courteous, helpful manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel manager was so rude. Right from check in he was a big problem. His attitude was bad and he was not friendly or welcoming. My stay was two nights and the second night he accused me of having a dog! He patrolled by our rooms watching us our entire stay. The hotel is dirty and it stinks. Do not stay here. The rooms were reasonably priced, but in need of repair and an air freshener.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kemack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry you did not find it the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The manager received additional training in the courteous, friendly manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of the room which was assigned to you needing repairs and an air conditioner.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We needed to cancel on fairly short notice (less than 24 hours) and were unable to do so given the "24 hour policy." Despite the situation being explained to the person who answered the telephone nothing could be done. He was rude and patronizing. The need for a general policy is understandable, but in the interest of accommodating a customer (no pun intended) there needs to be room for exceptions. The customer service aspect of public contacts needs to be reinforced as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your intention of staying at Quality Inn during your intended visit to our city.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The person to whom you spoke when canceling your reservation, received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

• Management was approached about the possibility of your cancellation being honored, given extenuating circumstances.

I hope that if at sometime in the future, you are in our area, you will once again attempt to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rome
Hampton Inn Rome
#1 of 7 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
13.9 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 200 S James St, at Erie Blvd., Rome, NY 13440-6731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing