We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Very pleased to see the change in six months. As a Diamond member, I was given a refurbished room. It was very well done and clean. The owner is making the necessary changes! There is still much to do... Lobby, public areas, walkways and PLEASE, the fitness equipment and room! But, a noticeable improvement. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmcolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

I called and stopped without a reservation. The front desk clerk, Beckie, was wonderful and processed me to a room quickly. The room with 2 dbl beds was roomy, clean and comfortable. A new flat-screen TV adorned the wall. The bathroom was small but plenty big enough for me with the new styled bowed shower curtain - sink seperate from bathroom and conveniently handled my 'stuff'". The outdoor pool was filled and inviting but a 'closed' sign at the entrance. A Denny's Restaurant was attached to the hotel and lots of downtown attractions were within walking distance.

Room Tip: It appears the hotel management is in the process of updating the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill70-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you like how we’re revitalizing an older hotel into a great place to stay for many years to come. I’m glad you had a nice experience at our clean, comfortable and well-located hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you many times in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Quality Inn in Rome NY last night. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling, the pool handrail was not securely fastened and loose, and the internet connection in our room did not work. The hotel was much further from Cooperstown than advertised which was the biggest disappointment as we were taking our grandson there for his first visit.

Room Tip: Do not use Booking.com to book a hotel. Their information is not accurate. Don't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and apologize that we let you down. We’ve made significant improvements to the hotel recently, and you’ll find a better experience when you return. You’ll enjoying staying with us in the future, I’m sure.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

For the past 20 years we have stayed here once or twice a year. We will not be back, WE were in town for a wedding along with other family members.
problem with the air conditioner. The day we checked in it was 96 degrees. Room was very hot. Manager came up and fiddled with the AC unit and said to give it a few minutes. After about 45 minutes we called down to the front desk. the manager came up and again fiddled with the AC unit. We requested another room. After some discussion we got another room where the AC was a little better.
The toilet need to be flushed twice with every use. We were told that the plumbing was old and there was nothing that could be done.
One of the rooms that other family members were given the beds had been made up with the soiled sheets from the previous occupant. Took about an hour before housekeeping could come up and change the sheets.
The other room the carpet was so filthy that no one could take off their shoes.
Two of the three ice makers where not working. When we visited in June one the ice makers was out of commission at that time.
We will no longer be staying at this location when we visit Rome.
JG, Maryland

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We appreciate you being a repeat guest and can assure you that changes have been made since the time of your stay to improve the property. I hope you will soon give us another chance to satisfy you soon. We sincerely value your business.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This property is extremely run down and dirty! It is in need of too many updates and repairs to list. We were extremely uncomfortable here and slept on top of the blankets. The front desk staff were friendly and recommended places for us to eat. We got a discount at Denny's (next door) but even that was dirty and service was extremely slow. We got in very late or we would not have stayed here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your pleasant comments about our friendly and helpful staff. I’m sorry that we failed to make a good impression on you. Since your stay, we’ve made many changes to make the hotel and the overall guest experience better than ever. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. You’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a very old motel style property. It has two floors surrounding a decent outdoor pool. The rooms and property in general needed renovations. The room seemed clean enough, the beds decent but the pillows were lumpy and the towels thin. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, which was a plus. The wifi worked well. I was happy to use their coin operated laundry machines as we were 5 days into a road trip, but the laundry room was dirty. I had some concerns about security as the room door opened directly into the courtyard by the pool which was accessed by an open door (not locked or carded) right into the parking lot. For the price, I was expecting better.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or one facing the pool for better security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. You’ll be pleased to learn that we’ve updated and improved the properties in many ways since your stay, and we’re now providing a much better guest experience. I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you soon. You’ll be glad you did, and I apologize that we let you down on this visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked this room with many others for our basketball travel team with CHoice HOtels~We found the grates on the ice machines were rusty, broken couch in the hallway,ripped rugs,and worst of all~BEDBUGS~WE immediately left the hotel with NO refund and NO satisfaction. IM sorry to say that this will be the last time we ever stay in this Chain again~Many of our members left also & were treated extremely poorly & disgusted!!The manager lied to us and treated us as poorly as you can treat a human being~I will be reporting this next to the Better Business Bureau and NYS Dept of HEalth~

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnrome, Webmaster at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. Thanks to recent efforts, the hotel is now better than ever and we welcome a return visit from you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
2.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rome
Hampton Inn Rome
#1 of 7 in Rome
298 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#5 of 13 in Utica
538 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 200 S James St, at Erie Blvd., Rome, NY 13440-6731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing