We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Service”
Review of El Rancho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rancho Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Williston
Calgary
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Clean and Great Service”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here on business and find the El Rancho as a good deal with clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
3
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,922 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here for work, rooms are basic but clean. Hotel staff is less than decent, asking for anything you just get stares.
Overall its a place to sleep and nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband & I travel alot to Williston, to see our daughter. We ALWAYS stay at El Rancho. We love being there. Everyone treats us like family. Of all the places we stay on our trip there, this hotel is No. 1 for us. The hotel staff always goes beyond to make sure everything is okay. Our room is quiet and clean. We have stayed other places in Williston & nothing compares to staying at El Rancho. If you are lucky enogh to get a room, I suggest El Rancho to be top on your list. Can't wait to go back. Vi from Wis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have stayed in many places and I was very pleased with my stay at El Rancho. The front desk staff was very helpful in pointing out a place where I could wash the bugs off my car. I ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. My room was quiet and clean and I enjoyed the free wifi! Thanks to great staff and service at El Rancho I will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kell657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifalls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our family of 6 (4 kids) pulled into this hotel later in the evening after a long drive from Yellowstone vacation. It appeared decent on the outside, yet old. We were happy to get a room, as others were booked in town. Not a good price, but at least a room. Upon entering our room, I noticed the bathroom floor looked dirty so took a chunk of kleenix and ran it across the floor, only to come up with a huge PILE of pubic hair and other hair. Furious and disgusted, I went down to the front desk to show them the pile of dirt I had in ONE SWIPE of the BR floor. The lady at the desk did not care one bit. She offerred another room, and being late at night with 4 kids, we accepted.

The 2nd room was even worse: It smelled of URINE immediately upon entering. Then to make it worse, the TOILET WAS FULL OF SPATTERED FECAL MATERIAL, not cleaned and also, the floor again full of hair. The room stank and the fans were going as if to "cover something up". YUK YUK YUK!!!

Do not stay here. The hotel clerk at the desk would not even look at me or respond to my concerns; she showed no care in the world, and just assured me I would not be charged but provided no receipt for this. There was NO MANAGEMENT on duty at all. This date was 6/16/2012.

Unbelievably, the most disgusting hotel experience we've ever had, and we travel a lot for sports and work, etc. Worst place in my history of 25 years of traveling.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williston hotels

Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I feel fortunate to get a room at the El Rancho. Clean, roomy and safe.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nddoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
197 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

But when traveling on a holiday weekend, you take what you can get.
Room was clean, comfortable, dated, but quiet..
Parked my motorcycle outside my room window,
Front desk clerk lacked a sense of humor, but it's what I needed..
a quiet, clean room with good FREE WiFi!,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williston hotels
0.7 mi away
MainStay Suites Williston
MainStay Suites Williston
#7 of 24 in Williston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Williston Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Home Place Lodge & Suites
Home Place Lodge & Suites
#15 of 24 in Williston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Winterton Suites
Winterton Suites
#11 of 24 in Williston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Williston Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel

Property: El Rancho Hotel
Address: 1623 Second Ave. W, Williston, ND 58801-4110
Region: United States > North Dakota > Williston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Williston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rancho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Rancho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing