We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Williston
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Outstanding Hotel in Williston, Reasonable rates for the boom going on there, but well worth it. They have everything you need to do an extended stay or just a quick stop. The daily breakfast buffet is great with everything from bagels or cereal to hot egggs, biscuits & gravy to fresh fruit. The staff is one of the friendliest and treats you like your at home. My room was clean, large and comfortable, complete with a desk with a free internet conection and WIFI. Nice set up wih a comfy couch and large flat screen. I've stayed at many of the hotels in the area and won't go back to any of them. Best place I've stayed in the Oil Field.

Room Tip: 1st floor gets a little load until the lounge shuts down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for telling us about your experience at our hotel. As a valued member of Choice Hotels, we appreciate your feedback. We always find it useful when a guest tells us about their personal experience at our hotel. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer. We value your patronage and hope that we are able to accommodate you on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Too often a situation happens and we don't take the time to write a comment after the resolution. I want to follow up a complaint I had previously reported with, Joe met me in the lobby this morning and apologized for the misunderstanding of my vehicle being towed. He refunded my stay and the tow charge. As much as I appreciate the refund, I personally don't expect or want the money. The most valuable commodity for me, is how he took accountability and did everything he could to make it right. I am confident his young staff (not age of employees, but time the hotel has been open) have learned on how to handle this situation for future patrons.
I appreciate the resolution and I too must be accountable by amending my earlier comment.
I feel confident that I could refer this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFDSWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Please accept our apologies for the unfortunate experience that you encountered at our hotel. Incidents like this are rare and we are always concerned when they occur. We have since coached our staff how to properly handle a situation like the one that you had encountered and our staff is committed to ensuring that these problems do not happen again. Thank you for your patience and understanding on this matter and we hope that you will continue to stay at Choice Hotels for quality services and accommodations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a newer property that opened in November of 2012 and it's very nice with reasonable (for oil field) prices. Nice hot breakfast every morning and a hot free evening meal on Tuesday nights. Cash bar is reasonably priced. Rooms have all you need for an extended stay with micro, cooktop, refrigerator, dish washer, sink etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. It's located a block off the main drag, so is easy to miss, but less traffic noise. It's easily the nicest place at the best price in all of Williston. I just made a reservation to return next month and was once again quoted a very competitive price. I will keep coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engineerdon33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our hotel. It is always beneficial to us to hear the valuable feedback from our guests. We are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed our wonderful amenities. We are so glad that you are choosing Mainstay Suites for your next trip to Williston. We truly appreciate your continuing patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the Mainstay Suites in Williston.
It is fairly new, has a excellent hot breakfast with cereal, toast, fruit, rolls, eggs, sausage, hash browns and hot waffles if you want, inside corridor entries, an elevator (lift, to the Brits), and a friendly staff that seems to care. The king that we had was equipped with a kitchen, full-size refrig, large microwave, dishes, flatware, and cooking pots and pans. There was a sofa that looked like it could make into a bed but we did not check. The bath was spacious with a walk-in shower (but no tub). Clearly set up for extended stays as they say and cater to the oil field crowd. We stayed with the 30% off special so the rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumMember98042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are so glad that you had a very pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel. We strive to give each guest the best possible stay experience so we are very happy that we were able to have the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you again for your patronage and hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Williston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

i would like to say that this Hotel wasnt what I expected I have stayed at many hotels before but never a main stay Suites they were so very cozy I wish through all the softball trips and the time we had to stay in a small hotel should have made an attempt to stay at a Mainstay I was only in Williston north Dakota for two days I stayed at this hotel for one and it was so very comfy and nice I would def recommend this hotel to all my family and friends .... very close to the College where my daughter is attending if I visit her again this is where I would stay. very very nice hotel and friendly staff breakfast was huge Dident have much time to eat but its not a littel breakfasts its a big breakfast very very nice place for long stays with a home feeling
thanks Jennifer White

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. from busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirtpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Place is fairly new so all is in great shape. Room has all you need except oven. Great shower in shower only room. Bed was very comfy, slept well. Only ice is in your refrigerator, no machine. Breakfast has all you need, waffles were made ahead of time so they were cold. Morning we ate someone forgot to start juice machine, no juice available. Would stay here anytime.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SBrown1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that your room was to your expectations. We would also like to apologize that your breakfast experience was not as good. We have since addressed to our staff the issues that you had mentioned and feel confident that it has been resolved. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here, although the property obviously is designed for longer stays. The room - an efficiency one-room "suite" - was well designed to feel bigger than it was. The full size refrigerator is particularly nice. The room furnishings were in generally good condition. There is a supermarket across the parking lot if you feel like cooking in, which you might given the paucity of restaurants. Breakfast is pretty good: decent choices are served in a breakfast room kept clean and restocked. Please note that the happy hour is not free unlike some other extended stay hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjdora, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that your room was satisfactory. We are designed for longer term stays so that you may "live like home". If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please let us know! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williston hotels
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Williston
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Williston Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williston
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Williston
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Williston
Candlewood Suites Williston
#9 of 25 in Williston
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 200 26th St E, Williston, ND 58801-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Williston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Williston
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Highway 2/85, The MainStay Suites® in Williston, ND offers easy access to Williston State College, Grand Theater and Mercy Medical Center. This residential-style, extended stay Williston, North Dakota hotel is also convenient to popular regional attractions like Lake Sakakawea and Fort Buford.Guests of the MainStay Suites hotel will appreciate comfortable interior corridors that provide easy and safe room access. The Business Center offers access copy and fax services, while the on-site 26th Street Lounge is a great place to relax and unwind. Other amenities include:•Free full breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free daily newspaper•Free guest laundryAll suites offer kitchen facilities including a refrigerator, convection microwave, 2 burner cooktop, dishwasher and all cooking and dining utensils, a flat-screen television with cable, desk, coffee maker, hair dryer, DVD player, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some suites feature a sofa sleeper.This is a pet-friendly hotel, with four-legged friends allowed to stay for a fee.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the MainStay Suites a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Williston, ND area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing