We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Red Lion Hotel at the Quay was as nice as it was the last time we stayed there (in 2012). It is very convenient to both downtown Vancouver and the Portland Expo Center, our actual destination. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and the meals were delicious and reasonably priced. And Saturday night in the bar was such fun! The band was good (and not too loud), and the wine was excellent. A great stay all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pondkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to having you back.







Laurene Patrick
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

I produce an annual event for 200-300 people, and we chose the Red Lion at the Quay for its location, history, size and unique mid-century architecture. Our experience with the hotel has been superb from day one, and we're thrilled that the hotel won't be demolished for the new bridge project after all. The Quay Bar and Restaurant is possibly the best nautical-themed bar on the West Coast. It was built in 1955 and still has all the original masts, sails and rigging soaring overhead inside--it's a gem and mostly overlooked by Portlanders.

I can't rave enough about the location. The hotel is partially built on a quay (that's a dock to you landlubbers), and many of the rooms sit directly over the Columbia River. The view is gorgeous, and the hotel's River Deck is an amazing place to host an outdoor show. It feels like the deck of a vintage cruise ship. While the transportation options from Vancouver into Portland are sorely limited, the location is convenient if you have a car--just 8 miles or so from downtown PDX, and the same distance from the airport, with direct shots on the freeway. I never once felt that being on the airport flight path or near the freeway was a nuisance.

Best of all, the hotel management and staff provided excellent service. They were friendly and professional and went above and beyond the call of duty to fix any issues that arose--little glitches are bound to crop up for any event this size, but with the hotel's help, our guests received a flawless weekend. It's inevitable there will be complaints, but our group was treated far better here, and our guests were more delighted with the venue, than at the sister Red Lion hotel right across the river in Jantzen Beach, where we hosted the event last year.

And I have to say, the restaurant's Sunday brunch is fantastic! So good, it's advisable to make reservations.

Thank you, Red Lion at the Quay!

Room Tip: The premium riverside rooms offer a superb view of the Columbia River and the beautiful I-5 bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfessorVonClapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to having you stay with us again.







Laurene Patrick
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Been here before---right on the river---with Restaurant (Pacific Grill and Chowder House),
full menu--Sunday Buffet/Brunch---"Roaring Start Breakfast small Buffet available"---Bar is adjoining restaurant---absolutely great views of Columbia River and Steel Bridge---Room 260
KB w/AC, large updated bathroom and peek-a-boo view of river---very quiet---Note!!- only elevator for three floors is in North Wing next to Centennial Center Bldg....large seasonal pool with rooms opening onto pool area---Parking all around motel---best rooms w/views are #107-122, 125,127,1/29---207-222,225,227,229, same for third floor---second and third floor access to River Deck area. Walking Trails from Hotel and three blocks from Downtown----TV Channels do not support Seattle News or Sounders Sports events (Go to Bar and ask) CRT TV in rooms.

Room Tip: Rms 225,227,325,327, 221-207 and 321-307 best river view rooms as well as corresponding first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsunamisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our facility. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Laurene Patrick
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Red Lion Hotel at the Quay. The rooms were clean, spacious and highly comfortable-and it was very convenient to have a refrigerator/freezer and microwave for our use. The breakfast was delicious and the views of the Columbia River were excellent. While the hotel's exterior is not especially attractive, the inside more than makes up for this shortcoming. The lobby is especially nice. Most of the staff were cheerful and helpful. The pool, though rather small, was the perfect temperature. Perhaps the most striking aspect of this hotel is its economic rates. This hotel ranks as one of the best value hotels we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good view of the Columbia, make sure you to request a room on the river sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We sincerely thank you for the review of our hotel! It is wonderful when our guests are as passionate about our unique location as we are. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you as our guest agian soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a decent stay here at the Red Lion. The front desk girl was helpful and nice to get us into a room with a partial view since we did not want to spend an extra $40 for a full view. We still had a nice view of the river and enjoyed it from bed the next morning. We did not spend much time in the hotel and did not visit the restaurant or bar so we cannot comment on the common areas or the food/drinks here. The outside of the hotel on the river side is a bit run down and not a very inviting place to relax.

The best thing about the hotel was probably the location as it was just a short drive to Portland and all that a city of that size has to offer. All in all I don't think we'll be coming back as there are other comparable hotels we could have stayed at with more amenities for just a little more money. I'm not complaining though as we did sleep well and while our room was small, it was clean and had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with tea for us to enjoy in the morning along with the river view.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a bidding/discount website ask for a room with river view. If they won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We visited the restaurant this AM for breakfast.. We were disappointed with the service and I with my food. Garlic butter on my breakfast toast :-) and it wasn't even toasted...just kind of dried out some. Egg's over cooked and the bacon was not very good. Had a heck of a time getting my decaf coffee refilled. Then our bill came and my wife's order showed up on our friends bill and her food on our bill. Not a big deal but went along with the whole experience....:-).

One thing that was good was the location right on the Columbia river...Great View.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsaltqsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel and Restaurant. I apologize that the quality of the meal and the service you received in the Restauant were disappointing. We really appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to address the issues and improve our services. We are going to be updating soon and we welcome the opportunity to win you back as our guest. I hope that you will consider visiting us again when you are in the area. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. I hope that we can make a better impression the next time you're here!

Laurene Patrick
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived late and had no choice but to stay. I will be paying for this for years listening to my wife say- remember that time you took me to the Red Lion in Vancouver. Stayed one night only and fled with the dawn. It's in the flight path of the airport, practically under the I-5 Bridge, just upstream of a noisy train corridor/bridge and the rooms are replete with eau de fabreeze, popcorn ceilings, small TVs out of the 1980s and a double bed. Yes a double bed. I had no idea there were hotels with double beds anymore. Some of the reviews note that the hotel is dated, but the apparent truth is this hotel hasn't been on a date since Don Johnson was setting the fashion pace in pastels. We immediately went to the bar in order to inebriate ourselves senseless so we could fall asleep and put this extreme lack of judgment event behind us, but oh... the bar isn't open on weeknights past 10. Last call is 9:30. The fireworks in the parking lot out our window were relentless (the security told us there was nothing they could do about it) continuing past midnight. It wasn't July 4th either quite yet and the noisy celebration continued such that not even the lunesta and earplugs could send us into oblivion's embrace smooshed up against each other in a double bed. Oh and BTW they don't do the 4th of July thing out of the barge on the river anymore. The great recession put an end to that. Too bad it didn't put an end to this hotel too like the abandoned one across the river.

Room Tip: Go to downtown Portland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm sorry that your 4th of July holiday stay was not what you expected. We will use the feedback you provided as a tool to identify problem areas and improve the quality of the service we offer. The good news is that we have recently learned that our hotel is no longer pending closure and we will be updating our facility. Please consider coming by to see us again when you're in the area. We welcome the opportunity to win you back! Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.



Laurene Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 29 in Vancouver
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £75 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing