We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Red Lion at the Quay was rich in friendly and professional staff. I was greatly pleased by the handicapped accessible room and pool, which came equipped with a lift. The pool temperature was absolutely perfect and the water was clean and not too chlorinated.

The hotel is in need of some updating outside and inside. The grouting in my shower was almost all gone and there were gaps where the wall tile met the floor tile. The paint needed some updated touches as well. However, our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable and accessible for my disability needs.

Overall, I am very pleased and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get one close to the pool entrance or overlooking the river. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so kindly for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We really appreciate you sharing your exoperience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!








Laurene Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    96
    84
    51
    36
See reviews for
64
74
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have stayed here a few times. Very simple room & quite pool. But we always an awesome time! Just hanging out with each other by the pool. Wish rooms would get upgrade!! Close walk to Joes Crab Shack and Who Song & Larry's (Mexican) And Starbucks!! Staff is not very helpful or friendly but that's not why we stay here. This place really has lots of potential. Just in need of the right people in charge?

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topanga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the candid feedback that our guests provide. Yes, our hotel is ready for an update! We recently learned that our location is no longer pending closure due the I-5 bridge project being suspended. We are so excited that we can finally start updating to keep our hotel attractive and competitive. Thank you for your loyalty. Please check us out the next time you are in the area as we will be showing off a new look soon!



Laurene Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

There are some nice attributes to the Vancouver Quay Red Lion:
- Phone & Desk staff were friendly and courteous.
- Convenient access to river walk - very wide sidewalk GREAT for dog-walking (or running or family strolls) along the Columbia and into Fort Vancouver park.
- Easy 3 - 5 minute walk to Esther Short Park & Vancouver's Farmers Market on Saturday & Sundays (vancouverfarmersmarket.com). Nice for inexpensive, tasty meals.
- Quick access to I-5 (drive to Portland, OR is 10-30min - depending on traffic; closest Portland food carts are 10-15min drive South on I-5 at Mississippi & Skidmore)

Challenges about the location (not the hotel's fault; hotel has zero control over the following):
- Train tracks are just north of the hotel. Some noise for North and West side rooms.
- At the train track area in the evening (and in Fort Vancouver along the River during the day), we saw many transient people.
- Airplane noise from PDX flight path (this is a challenge for all hotels in area near & along the Columbia River)

As far as rooms go, we generally prefer to stay near a building exit because of travelling with 2 big dogs. We reserved a room noting travel with dogs and requesting first floor room near exit, we called to follow up with these requests before we arrived. When we arrived, however, the staff said they didn't have any knowledge of the requests. That said - they were nice and friendly and tried to accommodate us with the rooms available. We were successfully placed in a first floor King Room near an exit.

The furnishings were tired and scratched, desk chair seat wobbled, curtain & comforter show their age (but the sheets were crisp & clean - excellent), the bed & side chair both seem well used, the tv was CRT. The bathroom had an ADA roll-in shower no biggie, right? Wrong: just as an April 2013 guest indicated, there isn't a lip to contain the water, and shower water pours out onto the bathroom floor - and even soaked the entry carpet. We notified staff - they were willing to move us (which would have been fine, but we only planned to stay the one night).

Room was clean. It has small microwave & fridge. Our West/NorthWest facing room was smaller than Jantzen Beach Red Lion rooms; the bathroom was half the size of the Jantzen beach RL bathroom. The room rates at the Quay are less than at Jantzen Beach (which is on OR side of Columbia, 2 miles away by car). We didn't eat here (Farmer Market and Portland food cart pods so close).

We like Red Lions and their pet friendly policy. The free parking and good wifi help. The RL Quay is not our fav, but the stay was ok - I would only recommend it to short term, budget travelers. We would try it again, but probably only due to location.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms on upper floors along the Southwest. Southeast rooms have I-5 noise Rooms near eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2LeoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a thorough assessment of our property! Our guests rely on the feedback of travellers to share the honest, revealing details about our location. The good news is that we recently learned that our hotel is no longer pending closure so we will be updating our furnishings and our product! We value you as our guest and we look forward to having you and your dogs back when you are in the area again. Thank you again for your review!

Laurene Patrick
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I enjoy this stay and I was not phase by the older building, this property has extremely quiet rooms. I also enjoy the friendly welcome from the front desk and the upgraded room upon arrival. This hotel is quite possibly the best place to stay in this area if you desire to be downtown and to sleep well. Sleep is of the most importance to weary business traveler.

I also enjoy the biodegrade guest amenities as well as free fast wifi. The breakfast was satisfying to us as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or a room with a view as some of your fellow enlightened guests may have chosen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhavel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased that our R & R members are getiing their rewards and recognition! Thank you again for your feedback.

Laurene Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

from the front looked fine. from the back rough and in need of a lot of maintenance. second one I stayed at. wife had free room. I agree with disappointed. the ugly 80's. staff was fine. some parts looked nice up front but things went down hill as you went back in the complex. trash cans full of beer cans. really warn out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Service at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have also been wondering what is up the lion! We did find out that the I-5 bridge project that was potentially going to close our hotel has been suspended. That is great news for us as we are no longer pending closure. Now we can begin the much needed process of updating our facility. Please visit us again when you are in the area to see what changes we have made. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room was just what I expected - clean and comfortable. I asked for a pool side room, and I got it. The staff was friendly. The food at the restaurant was really good, and the waitstaff was fun and efficient. The view from the restaurant is amazing. We had no issues checking in or out. Everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We look forward to having you visit again!









Laurene Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This property appears well worn and used-up - I would guess it to be a 1978 constructed building. Staff at front desk: at registration time only one person and three of us in line; later went back to the desk to ask directions to my room (poor map) and the two people behind the desk saw me but never acknowledged me and just kept on talking about a computer issue on their screen... and I walked away. The next morning at breakfast I had to ask for coffee, ask for coffee refills, and ask for my check with dishes still remaining on the table. Very poor service with only two servers for the entire floor! Positive point was the room cleaning staff - very friendly and helpful ! Would not recommend to family or friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm sorry that the accommodations were not what you had expected. We strive to provide efficient and friendly service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided as it helps us to address the areas that need improvement most. We are soon to be updating our facility and making changes our guests have suggested. We thank you for taking your time to share your experience and I hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
867 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing