We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel was very nice, pool was closed but appeared to be closed because spring had just started. Staff was very professional and courteous, I asked for a good seafood restaurant in the area and she directed me to one that I must agree was fantastic. My room faced the river and the view was very nice. Next time I am in Portland, I will be returning to this hotel, it's worth the 5 minute drive across the bridge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    84
    51
    36
See reviews for
63
74
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here with 2 of my employees and we were all impressed. We asked for a river view room. We were charged a little more, but it was worth it. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. And we really liked the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Upon check-in my co-worker and I were given our room keys and directions for our rooms which was located on the other side of the round-about in front of the hotel. The outside door needed a key to enter, but neither of our keys worked. Co-worker went back to front desk to get both keys "fixed." Tried hers and was successful. But of course, when I got to my room the key didn't work again. Maybe it was my fault for not double-checking it worked, but after already having it fixed you would think it was FIXED. Luckily there was a House Phone in the hallway instead of having to traipse back down to the lobby thru their odd layout of a hotel. This was how the rest of my stay would go; leave room and not be able to enter again unless they had someone open the door for me and then go and get me new keys. We were not the only guests this happened to either; A LOT of people had the same problem, just not sure if it continued to happen to them as it did to me. Each time I needed help though, I cannot fault the staff because they were incredibly helpful and would be apologetic and do the best they could to remedy the issue fast and with much courtesy. I have to say Evan was more than accommodating by giving me food vouchers which I appreciated. As for the rooms themselves, they were very small, but clean. The bathroom was especially tight quarters with having to close door to use toilet behind it. Which was fine for modesty anyway, but in order to reach towels, you would almost have to close the door. Old TV with lots of lines running through it; not many channels; scary 1st floor sliding door that led out to a walkway that was covered with overgrowth and didn't look very secure or safe. My last issue was with the conference rooms. While we had a great view of the river and all the boats, I would hope that if they ever remodel they will consider a better soundproofing. You could hear every horn, whistle, hammer, etc in that room. Made it very distracting to hear presenters. Front staff was great, but restaurant staff and wait staff at banquet seemed a bit haggard and not too accommodating. These were my main issues; I could probably complain about some other issues. Was glad to go home.

Room Tip: I said it was a "poor" location based on the type of travel I was there for, which was for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your helpful review. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not make you and your associate feel more welcome upon arrival. It is really discouraging to have issues with keys when you are tired and ready to get into your room. I apologize that we weren't able to assist you. We really enjoyed having your group here and we're anxious to have you back again. The information you provided is very helpful to identify the areas we need to improve in order to provide the quality of service you deserve. Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our way to the coast. It was a steal of a deal and in a great location. The room was nice and very clean, didn't have any weird smells that most hotels tend to have. The staff were super friendly as well. It was also just a short walk from Joe's Crabshack and Who-Song and Larry's. We will stay here again next time we're in the Vancouver/Portland area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spirit_warrior1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Super review! We're so glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

30 years ago, Red Lion Hotels were beautiful. This hotel is dingy, way outdated, so in need of a re-model. No servers in the lounge and lounge was very unprepared for that night 2 hours prior to band starting. Menu of appetizers was horrible....UPDATE....change the menu. Ate nothing at the hotel. Doors leading into rooms look like some lock hardware was changed out on most doors so to me, looked like someone had tried to break in which made me feel unsecure. Weather Stripping around door leading out to the deck area by the water was missing so cold area coming in all night. Walls so thin, we were unable to sleep due to the construction workers staying in the room next to us. They were partying until 3:00 a.m. Either update or tear down. Had a Gift Certificate for $220....that room was no different than Motel 6. The entire property is so run down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in terms of service and current condition of the building. We are in the process of making some of the much needed updates you refer to. Until very recently our hotel was pending closure due to a bridge construction project. Now that we have learned that the project has been permanently suspended we have a lot of work to do! We are looking forward to presenting an improved facility to our loyal guests. We appreciate you staying with us and we will address the service issues you pointed out as well. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is critical to our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Since the remodel this hotel is every nice and provides an awesome value in the Portland, OR / Vancouver, WA metro area. The beds are very, very comfortable and staff is great. The restaurant has amazing fish and chips as well as clam chowder.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The lobby had the cheap smell of overlay fragrant cleaning products designed to cover up as well as clean. The room smelled slightly better, but was still gross so I lit a candle take my mind off of it...the bathroom clean...the bed was so-so. The pickings were slim in Vancouver, but I'd roll the dice on another hotel before going back here again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am disppointed to hear that we did not meet your expectaions on your most recent visit to our facility. We are in the process of making some much needed updates. It is our hope that you will give us another chance and stop in to see how we are changing and improving the hotel. We do appreciate your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to identify areas that impact our guests so that we can make your next stay with us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Red Lion Hotel on the River
#56 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Address: 100 Columbia Street, Vancouver, WA 98660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing