We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A musty, stuffy atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A musty, stuffy atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to their odd hours. The room was clean, however, the bathroom was hardly navigable and it did NOT have an exhaust fan! The sink top practically invaded half the shower, so the curtain didn't close easily. When opening the door to exit the bathroom, you had to push your backside into the sink to get out of the door. (I am of average size and weight, by the way) Very, very poor designing! If we didn't leave the A/C or fan on all day, the room got a musty odor. The hallway to our room smelled of cigarette smoke, although the rooms were non-smoking. The card readers for entering were sluggish at best......we had to swipe the card at least 5 times at every door before we could enter. Hotel is in need of a remodel for sure. Very nice staff though, and GREAT views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySchoRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Director of Housekeeping at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you at the hotel. As you know, we have an older building but we strive to keep it clean, fresh and welcoming. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    96
    84
    51
    36
See reviews for
64
74
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The red lion website lists an outdoor pool and hot tub, but it isn't open until June! We would not have chosen this hotel if we'd known. Many Seattle hotels have pools open year round. Also, potential guests may want to see what events are happening during their stay -- we arrived to find a transvestite event -- mildly uncomfortable with a family! The fitness room is like a large closet with 2 aerobic machines. Have seen much better facilities elsewhere. My opinion - investigate fully before reserving a room here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very kindly for your review. It really helps us to know what our guests impression of our facility is so that we have a chance to address issues and ideally, prevent problems. I apologize that our events schedule was not available for you to use to help with planning your trip. I did not realize that we were advertising a pool and hot tub. We only have a pool! It is typically open from Memorial Day to Labor Day because those are the months when it is warm enough to swim here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We hope to have you back again when the pool is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Boise
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a nice Red Lion although it is a bit outdated looking. The price was a little spendy but went to Booking.com was able to get an ok deal at $98 a night. It is right next to the river with beautiful views of the Columbia which is defintiely a plus. Close to some very good restaurants and beautiful downtown Vancouver. I wish the price was better so next time we might look for something cheaper in the area. Overall it is a very good hotel because of the service and the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We are in the process of making some much needed updates, but I'm glad you were able to get a price that allowed you to stay with us. Please check back soon to see how we are changing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very poor rooms and service. We booked late Friday night and needed a king bed with a bathtub, of course ended up with a handicap room with a queen bed with a shower. The shower flooded the entire bathroom so I called for more towels to sop it up which of course never got delivered. I told the receptionist at check out how disappointing it was and she asked why I didn't come back to complain! Well it was the middle of the night and I had a toddler to get to bed...shouldn't really be my job to make sure I have the right room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am really disappointed to hear that we did not adequately accommodate your needs on your special day (Mother's Day). We strive to provide friendly service and make our guests feel welcome. We should have presented all of the room options available to make sure you and your child were comfortable. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have an opportunity to demonstrate how important you are as our guest. I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will address some of the service issues you described. We appreciate you sharing your experience so that we may use this as a tool to provide better training and improve the standard of our guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is an older facility but still very nice. The only complaint I have is that the Food and the acoholic beverages are WAY OVERPRICED. The rooms, beds, pillows, ect are way comfortable however, and the staff very good. If you choose to stay here look up Heather in the cafe, EXCELLENT SERVICE!!!!!!!!! Even though it was hard to tip her due to the extream prices of the food. I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The rooms are a little aged, but very clean. The beds a little lumpy and the television set has seen a few years, but ALL of this is more than made up for by the FANTASTIC restaurant and food quality. I've worked at three restaurants as a cook, and so i very much appreciate the quality and freshness of the food at this hotel. Also, a RIVER VIEW room is the best thing you could get here, as the views of the Columbia River from your Balcony are wicked good. I saw a SEA LION swimming up the river, chasing salmon, from my balcony!

I recommend this hotel based entirely upon the food quality and the service. It has GREAT value for its services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the super review. Good news! We are in the process of updating the televisions (great observation, though). We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia US
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel is accommodating, near downtown, but what makes it is the position on the Quay. I usually don't eat hotel food, but when i discovered the view from the hotel restaurant, I sat right down next to the window and had some nice crab cakes with the sun setting in the west.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank jiminvirginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for a great review from an expert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing