We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay at this Red Lion again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel has been our place to stay for years, the hotel provides a comfortable stay and the view of the waterfront makes it all the more pleasant
The buffet breakfast was excellent and beats those hotels that offer a continental style breakfast , this was real food done well. Next time we are in the Vancouver area we will book our stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have stayed at the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver many times and the staff always make us feel welcome and do everything they can to accommodate us. It is very picturesque overlooking the Columbia river.

It is only two blocks from a beautiful park in downtown Vancouver. The downtown area has many things to enjoy and it is all within a short walk from the hotel.

The restaurant food and service is great! The "mast and sails" of a ship in the restaurant and lounge area give it a unique atmosphere.

Phyllis

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank phyllisinjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Director of Housekeeping at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for the stellar review! We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our first stay at a Red Lion and we were pleased with the room, the front desk and the location. The room was pleasantly roomy with to decent chairs with foot rests. The room was clean. Our room was located on the Columbia River side. The room have large windows that gave a nice view of the river plus we could walk out of our room and in just a few steps be walking out and overlook the River. There are 2 restaurants at the location. The Pacific Grill and Chowder House had some really good food.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Director of Housekeeping at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to their odd hours. The room was clean, however, the bathroom was hardly navigable and it did NOT have an exhaust fan! The sink top practically invaded half the shower, so the curtain didn't close easily. When opening the door to exit the bathroom, you had to push your backside into the sink to get out of the door. (I am of average size and weight, by the way) Very, very poor designing! If we didn't leave the A/C or fan on all day, the room got a musty odor. The hallway to our room smelled of cigarette smoke, although the rooms were non-smoking. The card readers for entering were sluggish at best......we had to swipe the card at least 5 times at every door before we could enter. Hotel is in need of a remodel for sure. Very nice staff though, and GREAT views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySchoRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Director of Housekeeping at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you at the hotel. As you know, we have an older building but we strive to keep it clean, fresh and welcoming. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The red lion website lists an outdoor pool and hot tub, but it isn't open until June! We would not have chosen this hotel if we'd known. Many Seattle hotels have pools open year round. Also, potential guests may want to see what events are happening during their stay -- we arrived to find a transvestite event -- mildly uncomfortable with a family! The fitness room is like a large closet with 2 aerobic machines. Have seen much better facilities elsewhere. My opinion - investigate fully before reserving a room here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you very kindly for your review. It really helps us to know what our guests impression of our facility is so that we have a chance to address issues and ideally, prevent problems. I apologize that our events schedule was not available for you to use to help with planning your trip. I did not realize that we were advertising a pool and hot tub. We only have a pool! It is typically open from Memorial Day to Labor Day because those are the months when it is warm enough to swim here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We hope to have you back again when the pool is open!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a nice Red Lion although it is a bit outdated looking. The price was a little spendy but went to Booking.com was able to get an ok deal at $98 a night. It is right next to the river with beautiful views of the Columbia which is defintiely a plus. Close to some very good restaurants and beautiful downtown Vancouver. I wish the price was better so next time we might look for something cheaper in the area. Overall it is a very good hotel because of the service and the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaisem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are in the process of making some much needed updates, but I'm glad you were able to get a price that allowed you to stay with us. Please check back soon to see how we are changing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very poor rooms and service. We booked late Friday night and needed a king bed with a bathtub, of course ended up with a handicap room with a queen bed with a shower. The shower flooded the entire bathroom so I called for more towels to sop it up which of course never got delivered. I told the receptionist at check out how disappointing it was and she asked why I didn't come back to complain! Well it was the middle of the night and I had a toddler to get to bed...shouldn't really be my job to make sure I have the right room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am really disappointed to hear that we did not adequately accommodate your needs on your special day (Mother's Day). We strive to provide friendly service and make our guests feel welcome. We should have presented all of the room options available to make sure you and your child were comfortable. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have an opportunity to demonstrate how important you are as our guest. I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will address some of the service issues you described. We appreciate you sharing your experience so that we may use this as a tool to provide better training and improve the standard of our guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Vancouver
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £73 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing