We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed one night for a girlfriends birthday. Hung out by the pool all day which was fantastic, just the right temp! Got a room on the river side so you can go out your back door and have access to a HUGE deck right on the river. Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank welikecabobest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    84
    51
    36
See reviews for
63
74
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I wish we could do negative stars for this hotel. The rooms were nasty. I found hair on the sheets (not mine). They screwed up our reservations and the first night we were there we had no hot water. The staff was terrible, they don't know how to fix problems only offer excuses on why things aren't getting done. The manager Evan just looked at me with a blank stare every time I asked a question because he was afraid to answer. The front desk girl would give details only vague responses. The walls are supper thin too. This hotel is a small step above a motel 6 or supper 8.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneths1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLH Vancouver Y, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Keeping our facility clean and functioning correctly is a top priority for us and we regret hearing your stay was not pleasant. The hot water issues without a doubt caused great inconvenience until they were resolved. In the future we hope you come back to stay with us again and are able to meet your needs and expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed "at the Quay" at least 5 times in the last several years. Our stay is always comfortable; the staff helpful and professional. There is a very nice, large outdoor swimming pool, with a lot of seating - towels are provided. The meals we had in the attached restaurant were very good, at an affordable price. There are wonderful views of the Columbia River, with walking along the river to various restaurants, or for just a stroll. The hotel is conveniently located for those taking I-5 and SR 14. The jet plane noise from take-offs and landings at the nearby Vancouver airport is a little disconcerting at first, but once you are used to it, it's fun to watch them flying over the river. There is shopping, of all kinds, within 5 miles of the hotel for your convenience. We will be in the area several times a year and will book our stay at the "Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Laurel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madras, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had an issue with another hotel in Portland so I called the Red Lion at the Quay hoping they had space and they did. I remember 40 years ago when the Quay was, by far, the classiest restaurant in Vancouver. But, anyway, a few days ago, we were given a lovely room with a great view of the water. The room was quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We ordered fish and chips for room service and it was the best ever. The staff were extremely friendly and I admit that I was travel weary. The young woman at the front desk, the guy in facilities, and the waitress who delivered room service were all really helpful.

I agree with a previous review that the hotel shows its age a little. It seems to definitely be a Mid Century Modern style. However, that era is getting more and more attention and I am guessing it will be an asset for this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights. The room came with a coffee maker, but after the second night, I was not provided coffee for the coffee maker, my room was not cleaned and the trash was not removed.

In addition, the room was in poor repair. The cushion on the easy chair was ripped and stained. The carpet was stained. A light bulb was burnt out. On my check in, there was a bottle of Spic and Span on the bathroom counter. I guess I was supposed to clean my own room.

When I reported the cleaning and trash problem to the man on duty, he said he was surprised but made no effort to have the problem resolved. This was unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the condition of your room. I would like to apologize that your room was not serviced by housekeeping during your stay as well. Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

While the hotel is a little older and shows its age, the location and service were exceptional. Front desk was especially helpful in securing a good room rate and helping arrange taxi service when their shuttle wasn't running. (But don't use Radio Cab - even with multiple calls to them, they lied about their pricing.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Please don't be scared off by all the bad reviews! They have updated the rooms and ours was very clean! I'm very picky about cleanliness and was pleasantly surprised! Super comfy beds/pillows. Yes, it's an older hotel, but the view/location are great! The unique ship (with masts/sails - very cool!)restaurant and bar are right on the Columbia River - beautiful! Long paved riverside trail starts right at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Giving it a 4 because, being older, some of the outside areas are a little rundown (i.e. the pool deck) and there was noise from outside when the tour bus loaded up in the morning, but our room was very good and I'd stay there again when in Vancouver. Oh - and free parking and great planet friendly toiletries!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing