We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a convenient and quiet area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with the family on our way back home from the Oregon Coast. We decided to stay in Vancouver, Washington instead of downtown Portland because it was cheaper but it's still quite close to Portland and tax free shopping.

The hotel is conveniently located right off the I5 and it is so easy to get going north or south on the I5 from the hotel.

Pulled up to a business type area because it's quite quiet after work hours. But, the area does have quite a few restaurants within walking distance including a Black Angus across the parking lot.

Check in was fast and friendly. We had two rooms because we were 2 adults and 3 bigger kids. Both rooms had two doubles. The washroom had quite a bit of room but the rest of the room was a bit tight with two doubles in it. The rooms are a bit dated and the style and colour choices were a bit dark for me. It was a hot time of year and the room needed to be cold in order to remove the humidity so the AC was on quite a bit. It's not a quiet unit so I hope you have ear plugs like we did.

The room did have a microwave and a small fridge which was useful to us. Bedding was good with a soft and firm pillow choice on the bed. I thought it was a bit odd that the comforter was bare without a cover on it.

WiFi was free and good in our room but the room across the hall had issues with speed. Not sure where the access points were that would cause that. The hotel has a small outdoor unheated pool which is good when it was hot during the day. A bit harder to take when the sun starts to set. There was also a sauna but there was a problem with it when we were there. A friend who was traveling with us hit the button the outside to start up the steam and was shocked. He was quite startled and felt it for the rest of the night but he recovered from it. We told the front staff and they closed it down and I assume they called maintenance. Thank goodness he was not someone who was older with a pacemaker.

The area is quiet as I mentioned above. There was a good sports bar a couple blocks away they we went to called Main Event Sports Grill. Good place to eat something casual and kids are okay until 9pm. We also went to the Black Angus across the parking lot as it could accommodate our bigger group. I know people will have varying opinions on the Black Angus but it was good for our needs. It is by no means a top end steak house like Morton's so don't expect it to be.

The free breakfast in the morning is not bad but the room it's in is quite small. The first day it wasn't bad but the second day there was a youth baseball team in the hotel and it was quite hard to find a seat.

Overall it was a good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank warmhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Hello Warmhappyfeet,

I appreciate the detailed review here very much. I'm a bit late in responding and these items have all been updated, i.e. sauna room & pool heater. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention though, and thank you for the great description of our hotel and area!

We look forward to serving you again in the future!


Sincerely

MKM General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place to stay if you're planning on playing in nearby Portland. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, free coffee and breakfast. Not much within walking distance and not the quietest hotel but not bad for the money when Portland hotels were going for 3 times the price

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slat235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Hello Slat 235,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy we could accommodate you and save you some money from the Downtown Properties! If you are ever in the area again, please look us up again! We hope to see you next time!



Sincerely,

MKM General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

You can't ask for a better location, walking distance to downtown and uptown. The room was wonderful, the bed was fanastic, can't say enough about it, the service was consistently thorough and friendly, the front desk people were always so helpful. The breakfasts well managed, good for varied tastes... Eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurts, cereals, waffles, breads and muffins. We stayed a week and loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kennethbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Well hello there Kenneth!

Thank you for the great review! I am always pleased to hear how great of a stay my guests have! we look forward to serving you if you are ever in the area again.


Sincerely,

MKM General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We needed a place to land while we attended all day meetings. Was there a comfortable bed? Was there a clean bathroom? Did the door lock and the drapes keep the light out? Was there wifi so I could check my email? Was it close to I-5 so that I could come and go easily? Yes on all those counts.

Would I want to hang out at this hotel all day and relax? Not so much. If the hotel were a relative, she'd be like a aging matron. Kindly, but outdated and a bit shabby. Not able to stay out past 8PM because she needs to feed her cat and watch the evening news before turning in for the night.

Room Tip: give the room the sniff test... my travel partners were put in a room that smelled of damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdenAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Eden AM,

Thank you for the very detailed review. This is a very late reply, but we wanted to reach out regardless and apologize for portraying the image of an Old Matron Relative with a ton of cats. I wanted to let you know that, even though this is a belated response, that we have updated a few items to hopefully shake that feeling. All bedding and carpet have been redone and upgraded our breakfast as well. We hope you see this response and come back for a second look if you are ever in the area. We'll be sure to hide the cats this time! :)


Sincerely,

MKM General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for a week in July and found this hotel to be excellent value for my money. It's clean and the breakfast is superior to a lot of other continental breakfasts. I also love that parking is free!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Kelly B,

I appreciate the great review here. I do hope we can see you again soon!

Sincerely,

MKM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This place is a shambles.WiFi not working properly although the room was average for a bed only .Amenities were not too good for the price.You pay for what you get I know.But really !!!Breakfast was not desirable at all and lokked as though it was left overs from the morning before and been re heated.Shabbily dressed staff and no personalities .I would have had a better chance being a Horse in a stable.Dont waste your money by staying here.

Room Tip: Pass on this Hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Nick J,

I want to thank you for your review and for letting us know about these issues. As you have given nothing but great reviews everywhere else and since every comment on this page is a great and positive one, there is obviously something that we missed here with you and your stay. I sincerely apologize for any issues you have faced. I can assure you, however, we are not serving reheated left overs. And as for the staff comment, this comes to a huge surprise to me as well as we have nothing but great comments about each of my Agents.

With this being said I would very much like to hear about what exactly happened to make you feel this way and what I can do to make things better for you. If you wish to discuss, please contact me directly at the hotel or by email, vancouverhotel@mkmhotels.com.

I do hope to hear from you soon and thank you again for bringing this matter to my attention.


Sincerely,

MKM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Comfort Inn&Suites in Vancouver,WA is a very clean,and friendly hotel. They have a continental breakfast in the mornings where the food is really good. I have stayed there 3 times and have had no problems. I am very pleased with them. So if your in town I recomend you stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hello Jeanette B,

Thank you so much for the review. I am very pleased to see that you enjoy your visits with us. I do hope we can serve you again in the near future!


Sincerely,

MKM Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 29 in Vancouver
83 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Vancouver
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 401 E 13th Street, Vancouver, WA 98660-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Just three miles away from the Portland Expo Center is our Comfort Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver, Washington. Whether you’re attending a business function at the Oregon Convention Center, taking in an event at the Expo Center, exploring the many beautiful outdoor recreation areas nearby, or visiting an exciting local point of interest, Comfort Inn and Suites in Vancouver will put you in the center of it all. Our pet-friendly all-suites hotel in Vancouver is conveniently located near a variety of popular attractions, making it easy for you to discover this Washington city. Nearby points of interest include:Portland International Airport,Oregon Convention Center,Rose Garden Arena,OHSU Hospital,Portland Rose Garden We make it easy to get around town with a free weekday shuttle, and the complimentary hot breakfast buffet will get your day off to a great start. You can work out in the fitness center, relax by the pool, or use our business center and free Wi-Fi to finish up your project or presentation. We also have a meeting room, as well as laundry services for your convenience. Whether you’re traveling for leisure or business, alone or with your kids, our Comfort Inn & Suites hotel offers accommodations for every type of travel. Vancouver, WA hotels like ours are proud to offer hotel rooms to relax and unwind no matter what reason you travel. Book Now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Vancouver
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Shilo Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing