We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty. All-around dirty.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Dirty. All-around dirty.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Regardless of what amenities a hotel can provide, all is moot if the room is not clean. The carpet doesn't have to be spotless, but it shouldn't look like you should be afraid to walk around even in socks. There were not a few, but several stains throughout the room. It was in desperate need of a cleaning. Aside from the aged leather-ish couch which looked straight out of a dorm room, the furniture was serviceable. The bathroom had an acrid odor and all the plumbing was extremely slow draining, even the toilet. I felt dirtier coming out of the bathroom than going in.

The staff was friendly and pleasant though slightly lacking in customer service. When asked for a plunger (because of the slow-moving toilet), the staff provided a wet and DIRTY plunger. Within the hour, they requested the plunger from me (probably because some other unit needed it quickly).

Only redeeming qualities: 10 minute drive to the airport and free breakfast (although, I was already leery about the cleanliness so I didn't eat anything unsealed).

If I was on a college road trip with my drinking buddies on a budget, this would be okay. For business travelers and family with kids, it's probably not a good choice. Pay a few more bucks and go to a named hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billybamf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    136
    69
    29
    22
See reviews for
132
92
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

After booking this hotel through Hotwire, I was concerned as I read some of the recent reviews of this hotel (referring to the hotel as out of date, dirty, broken elevator, etc.). Well, I didn't see any of these problems during my stay (3 nights). Yes, the hotel is older and will need a remodel soon but I have to say that the staff keep the hotel very clean. My room was clean and everything functioned just fine. The Internet was lightning FAST (coming in at 13 Mbps for downloads). This is unheard of with most hotels. The pool/spa were clean and functioning just fine. Breakfast was decent (typical business hotel buffet breakfast). I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the property is located near restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is also situated in a very quiet suburb. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and I definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms were large it feels like a five star hotel for under 70 dollars. They have an indoor heated pool and hot tub. A nice continental breakfast. Comfortable beds. What more could you want. the rooms were clean the bathrooms were well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdcbufdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I agree with previous reviews, the hotel is in need of updating especially the carpet. Our stay was nice, staff was friendly, hotel offered free breakfast (waffles, eggs, donuts, muffins, fruit, cereal, eggs, biscuits and gravy, coffee, juice).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whymax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Frustrating with elevator, went down on Sat until Sun, internet for one day was not working. Other than this, clean room, parking in the evening is an issue to find a free parking spot. B-fast room was little bit dirty Overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

First they tried to put our 4 person family in a room with only one bed - despite our having a fully prepaid non-refundable reservation. Then the room we got (at 9pm) hadn't had housekeeping through. They didn't vacuum our room that night, or the subsequent day despite repeated requests. Carpets and walls throughout the hotel had serious stains on them - not a place to consider removing your shoes anywhere in the hotel. The elevator broke down and wasn't fixed before we left. The staff gossiped about other hotel guests in front of the breakfast room full of guests. Those are just some of the major issues - the regular problems of a bad hotel were also in abundance, such as a noisy air conditioner, grimy shower, and less than friendly staff.
When I checked out, they didn't bother to ask how my stay had been -- which was probably a good thing, or I'd still be there explaining just how bad their hotel really was.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is serviceable if a bit drab--stained carpets, scuff marks on the walls, worn fabric on the couches. We had quite a bad experience here due to a mixup with the Travelocity booking service, which the staff handled cheerfully and professionally (if rather ineffectively).

The staff was quite friendly and helpful and by far the best feature of the hotel. The biggest reason for the poor rating is the lack of wifi service: of the 36 hours we were at the hotel, the wifi was functional for roughly 5 on a spotty and slow basis. If you're traveling for business and need reliable internet service, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
3.3 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Vancouver
6.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington
Address: 12712 SE 2nd Cir, Vancouver, WA 98684-6018 (Formerly Phoenix Inn - Vancouver)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated - Each spacious guest room at our DoubleTree hotel features complimentary WiFi, refrigerator and microwave. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center, outdoor patio and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn - Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Phoenix Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing