We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel....very disappointed in it. I booked this through one of the discount sites, and even at a discount it was not worth the price. It is currently being converted to a Doubletree, and I hope that with the changeover and renovation it will be better. Of course, it would have been nice to know about this renovation previous to booking. Very lax desk coverage-desk clerk was away at 5 pm on a weeknight getting cookies out of the oven....seriously?? The customer before me got a 3rd floor room, but I was told that they were overbooked on the 3rd floor when I tried to get one. Hmm. The couch in the room looked like something out of a frat house, with cracked and faded vinyl covering it. The water pressure was the lowest I have had in a room in some time. The layout of the room is puzzling as well. It really looks like a poorly designed, slapped together hotel. Needless to say, this will be my one and only time staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room on 3, away from the renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spokanedavid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    136
    69
    29
    22
See reviews for
132
92
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This property is under renovation and they should not be open for business! Make sure you check to see if they are complete before booking a room here.

It was filthy and in complete disarray. The stairwells were filled with construction things, the smell in the room was so strong with some sort of glue that I think it was toxic.

Go elsewhere for now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lattenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Staff is very nice and helpful. Business is currently in transition to be come a Doubletree and there is a lot o remodeling going on. I did not see one of the updated rooms. The older rooms are seriously in need of the remodel. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, and the housekeeping team was excellent. It will be interesting to see what the property looks like on my next trip.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor rooms until remodel is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gslowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed here before, but this time I had one of their newly renovated rooms (3rd floor - they're working on the 2nd floor rooms now). It was a nicely appointed large room done in neutral tones. I believe this hotel will become a Doubletree when the remodel is finished. The things the hotel did right before are still there: very friendly, helpful staff; free wifi that works, a pool and exercise room. The location is excellent - close to 205 with lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

They are upgrading to become a Double Tree in June 2014. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a room that had already been remodeled and it was great!
Comfortable bed, pull out sofa bed 2 TV's fridge and microwave. The bedding and towels were all very good and the room was extra large and comfortable. I kept telling the people that worked there (extremely nice people) that they should be charging double the $70 per night we paid. Im sure the prices will go up once they become a double tree but it will still be worth it. Great location, great staff and the rooms were awesome. By the way they didn't get a 5 rating because the breakfast was kinda weak. But I'd stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: Just ask the very helpful girls that work there. They will do the right thing and take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is DISGUSTING. Carpet was covered in stains and worn out, there was a hair on the shower wall, the room was huge but strangely laid out, and the sofa was gross leather and at least 20 years old. The bedspread had been kept up to date, but surprise!--it was only on the bed to cover a stained comforter. I booked through a sight-unseen site that categorized the Phoenix Inn 3 stars and compared it to a Hilton Garden Inn. Having just stayed at a HGI in February, that's laughable. I was so glad we were only staying for 1 night before moving on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm so sorry you had a bad stay. I can assure you cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us and we do everything we can to provide clean rooms and warm, friendly service. We're currently undergoing a major renovation which will replace all the carpet, furniture etc. in the rooms. I hope you'll come back when that has been completed so you can see the difference. But I will certainly pass along your comments about the rest. Hair anywhere is terrible!!

Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was nice until we woke up to power tools! They should of mentioned they would be doing construction at 9am!and when I called she just said yep we are under construction. Like I was aware. Considering I got in at 3 a.m I would of just went to another place had a been informed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesslynn28312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry you weren't informed of the construction at check in. We're going through a full renovation to include changes in the guest rooms and public spaces. The updates will provide our guests with a new, fresh product. The construction crew does their best to avoid any disturbances which is why they wait until 9am but I can certainly see how that would be a pain if you got in so late. I will certainly pass this along to my front desk team to reiterate how crucial it is to mention the renovation at check in.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
3.3 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
6.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington
Address: 12712 SE 2nd Cir, Vancouver, WA 98684-6018 (Formerly Phoenix Inn - Vancouver)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated - Each spacious guest room at our DoubleTree hotel features complimentary WiFi, refrigerator and microwave. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center, outdoor patio and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Vancouver, Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn - Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Phoenix Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing