We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An wooded lodge just off the I5”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An wooded lodge just off the I5”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I'm a travel writer, so I try to stay in unique places that will give you an 'experience' when you travel. We're currently on a road trip down the I5 to Los Angeles with the family, and we decided to spend a night at the Heathman Lodge.

First off, there's a wonderful atmosphere when you walk in the lobby. It feels like the inside of a rustic cabin, if that cabin could had a totem pole in the middle of it.

Check in was seamless, and after being given a quick run down on the hotel, I was on my way in under 5 minutes (which is great when you have impatient kids waiting).

Our room was the family suite. It consists of a king size bed, a queen sized bed in a separate bedroom, and a very comfortable leather couch. The small kitchen area has a fridge and a microwave, with cupboard space in case you need to put groceries away. Plus, the bathroom is huge, with a glass shower and a jacuzzi tub complete with jets and a bottle of bubble bath.

Overall the room felt spacious, clean, and very comfortable.

We took the time to go to appy hour. Draft beer was only $3.50, and appys ranged from $2 to $6. I recommend the grilled asparagus and the lettuce wedge. Both were amazing.

Even though the highway was just outside the window, we didn't hear it while sleeping. The halls were very quiet. And the beds were very comfy. I like a soft bed, and this one felt just like home.

Sitting on the deck of the room was nice, and it smells like cedar while you enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite. It's spacious, comfortable, and you can't beat that tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsShellyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    208
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
206
260
49
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

On a recent trip to the area with family that live overseas, The Heathman Lodge provided an authentic log cabin feel with all of the amenities of a great hotel. Check-in was a breeze and the front desk offers free coffee and hot chocolate to all overnight guests. Our large room was spacious for 3 adults and 1 child and I appreciated the fact that there was one sink in the bathroom and one just outside so that multiple people could get ready at the same time. Large porch attached to our room was a nice surprise. There's a Safeway about 5 minutes away and food and shopping just around the corner. If I'm ever in the area again, I will definitely stay at the Heathman.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TcuIrish_8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Once again we returned to the Heathman Lodge and were very happy with our stay. Because it was available, we were able to have a room with a balcony at no extra charge. The room was also well appointed and comfortable. The continental breakfast was wonderful in that there were "healthy" foods available as opposed to stale cereals and such I have seen at other places. Wonderful coffees, warm breakfast bars, fruit, yogurt, cheese, hard boiled cage free eggs, were available to name a few treats in the morning. We always feel like we are at a very nice ski lodge and we are, in reality, right in the middle of Vancouver, WA. The front desk staff were super friendly and always greeted us upon entering and leaving. There is also a 24 hr. gift shop where one can get water, soda, candies and other goodies. The Heathman Lodge is one of my favorite hotels and I have traveled all over the world! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: If they have a balcony, they will give it to you at no extra cost. However, it is not guaranteed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie123896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stopped here overnight on a road trip. The hotel is easy to find and located in a quiet area. There is plenty of parking and the grounds are very attractive. The reception staff are very welcoming and efficient and we were checked in quickly. Our room was very comfortable and elegantly decorated. The only drawback was a persistent roaring noise which seemed to be outside and may have been air conditioning. Fortunately we had ear plugs with us. Room was equipped with a fridge and a microwave.
As it was late, we ate lightly. I had clams which frankly were very bland but the crime brûlée was excellent. Service was good. There is coffee on offer at reception when you check out. Overall the effect comes over as slightly pretentious but the staff mean well and this is a nice hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

What a WONDERFUL surprise! A rustic lodge in the middle of an office park area!!! This was our last stop on an 8-day motorcycle ride. We wanted something close to the Portland airport and this location was perfect! I loved the clean and comfortable rooms. The front desk staff was great, very convenient business center where I could easily print boarding passes and the restaurant looked great too! We didn't end up eating there but maybe next time. We definitely recommend the Heathman Lodge to anyone staying in the Vancouver, WA area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I travel here for business and I always stay at the Heathman. It is always a highlight and Hudson's their restaurant is excellent. Who knew you could stay in a mountain lodge with no mountain in sight.
One of the best parts of the hotel is their staff. To a person they are friendly and they go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank iacxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First off, the location is perfect. Near lots of shopping and restaurants. Large indoor pool. Loved that there's even music playing while you swim or soak in the hottub.
Rooms are comfortable and very clean. We traveled with a big group of friends and upon check-in, one family out of our group was upgraded to an incredible suite. It had been a long day with the little ones, so it was just what they needed to perk their spirits.
This property truly has a lodge feel and we were very happy with the friendliness of the staff.
They have a nice restaurant downstairs but as previously mentioned, there are lots of nearby restaurants to choose from. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#12 of 29 in Vancouver
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Property: Heathman Lodge
Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing