We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Heathman Lodge is an excellent choice for a Portland OR stay. The hotel was north of the airport just across the river. We found it very convenient to touring Columbia River Gorge and for traveling 209 north and south. It may not be so good for downtown locations, however we did not have to pay parking and it was cheaper than downtown. The hotel is near a small mall and casual eating restaurants but we ate in the hotel at Hudsons and found it to be very good. The hotel is designed for interior quiet with room doors recessed to suppress the quiet. The rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed on the third floor and looked out onto a tree. If we opened the window we could hear the traffic from the highway but we turned the air conditioning on continuous fan and we could no longer hear any noise let alone road noise. We spent three nights here and would definitely come back. We highly recommend this place. Be sure and make reservations. All nights that we were there the hotel was full.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at the Heathman Lodge for a getaway to Portland, OR. The location is ok for downtown Portland but I recommend staying closer such as near the Portland airport. It was a hassle to drive back and forth. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the hotel was located in a good location, near the highway and close to convenient stores. However, the beds they have in their rooms are outdated and very uncomfortable. They are memory foam, but not good quality. My husband and I actually slept on the floor the second night because they were so uncomfortable. I have never been to a hotel that has memory foam mattresses. They are generally cheaper than regular spring mattresses so I think that's why Heathman Lodge uses them and has not updated them. There is also a restaurant attached to the Lodge which makes for loud noise at all hours. We stayed in room 252 which was luckily not over the balcony. Also, upon check-in we asked for an upgrade, but the clerk informed us that upgrades were not allowed for priceline guests. It kind of irks me that hotel staff "talk down" to priceline/hotwire guests. Aren't they the ones who posted their property on 3rd party websites due to low usage? I would not recommend this to anyone due to 2 consecutive nights of poor sleep among other things.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rchin341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificMgnt, Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello rchin341 -

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay with us, I am sorry to hear about your concerns. We take pride in providing a great nights sleep for our guests, which is why we have different style mattresses available. The memory foam mattress you write about is in fact a Tempur-Pedic mattress that retails for over $2,000, and not a low grade memory foam. We get rave reviews from our guests regarding these mattresses, but we know that they are not for everyone, which is why we also offer "Pillow Top" spring mattresses. I wish you had told us about your first night so we could have moved you into a guest room with our "Pillow Top" mattress.

While we do enjoy partnering with our 3rd party websites, one of the benefits of booking directly through our hotel is the ability to offer upgrades if they are available. I apologize for how it was presented to you and will talk with the staff to make sure we explain this more clearly in the future.

I would be happy to discuss your stay in detail please contact me directly at 360-254-3100 x6510.

Yours Truly,

Brian McClary
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel décor was unique and very lovely. Very nice pool area, sauna, and workout area. Our room was comfortable and spacious. All the staff was very helpful. For the price, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terri1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed last night on our way to Southern California. This place came recommended by a friend. The building itself is impressive. Beautiful architecture. Staff at front desk was friendly. We has a room on the fourth floor. Beds were a little uncomfortable but ok. Shower was painful. The shower head was not good and the water seemed to be stinging you. We got complimentary continental breakfast which was waffles, cereal, toast, bagels etc. Check out was a breeze. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was here for a four day school and we were booked into fourth floor business class rooms. Far more floor space than I needed and I enjoyed it immensely when not in school. Bed was very comfortable. Room had coffee maker, fridge and microwave at no additional cost or request. Bathroom had its own sink in addition to the one outside of the bathroom...when traveling with a companion that makes a difference. Free washer and dryer; just have to pay for the soap. Restuarant (Hudson's) was very good, a little pricey but worth it. Shopping was within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thegreatdentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel visit was unsatisfactory on several accounts. There was a deficiency in room lighting, an unpleasant experience in the dinning room resulting from a flying insect served in a wine glass and substandard service in the dining room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I attended a four day seminar then stayed on for three more days. The staff is excellent because they are relaxed, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and genuine. It sounds like an exaggeration but it is not. The rooms are rustic quaint and tidy. If you want a relaxing home base for exploring the area (which is awesome for hiking sightseeing, mountain adventures etc) this is the place to be. If you are after a big party nightlife vacation Portland may be a better option. If you want a bit of both, Portland is not very far away from this lovely and chilled spot too. This is the third year we have been coming here and counting....great every time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TLH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £92 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing