We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the Ordinary”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I have stayed here twice in the past 2 months, along with family on a myriad of trips to and through PDX. Each time the rooms and amenities have been excellent, and as a sleeper on Tempurpedic beds, I find Heathman to understand the vale of a good night sleep. The free wifi that actually works ( as opposed to others), and the fact that this is a privately owned lodge is a definitive plus in our book.

The restaurant is one of the better "rack" eateries I've eaten at, and their bar and wine list is impressive. I note that the lodge attracts local clientele for dining and beveraging... always a good sign.

They care for their guests - my sister missed her flight home to London on New Years Eve and their response was to show her every kindness in staying over and getting to the airport. In the end, we'll always stay here when in PDX or thereabouts... be sure and check their website for their own web specials that don't appear on the usual travel sites. The reviews are right on... you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    205
    57
    17
    7
See reviews for
203
257
49
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I needed to be in Vancouver Washington state recently and logged onto trip advisor to select a hotel since I'd never been to Vancouver before.
I chose Heathman Lodge by reading other visitors reviews.
It cost more than I wanted to spend yet I chose it because I didn't want any unpleasant surprises and needed a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. No disappointments here; great service; terrific mattress on bed,felt like a Tempur-pedic mattress!.
Heavenly heated indoor pool and jacuzzi on the side plus an exercise room.
It has an onsite restaurant with excellent service.
Heathman is within walking distance of a covered shopping mall that has Nordstom, Macy's, JC Penny, Big 5 and a few other smaller stores.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelfish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Earlier this month I attended a small conference held at Heathman Lodge. My wife and I went up early so we could enjoy the area the weekend before. Simply said, "Heathman was great!" We enjoyed the restaurant there too. We had only general plans and the staff was incredibly helpful in identifying where to go at the coast and in the Mt. Hood area. They also directed us to a great restaurant (Beaches) for a quick lunch one of the days during the conference. We completely enjoyed the area and the hotel was a great place for launching out for scenery and also for the business conference.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

For $99 a night, great hotel. Excellent lodge style design. Very nice four star experience - temper pedic mattress, fantastic breakfast, quiet, free Wi-Fi, etc. Only drawback is location is kinda odd - is located in an office park, but whatever. Still a great experience here - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The Heathman is definitely unique lodging with charm and warmth. We had the business room on 4th floor, which is a limited access only to those business travelers. Upon checking in, the staff definitely was very friendly and raised our expectations for our stay. However, upon arriving at our room, I was somewhat disappointed with the room. It is spacious with 2 queen size. However, the disappointment was that it didn't exactly smelled fresh and the room felt old and outdated. Worse, they forgot the Ozone machine running in our room to "de-odorize" the room. When the hotel learned this, the staff was quite responsive and was very willing to relocate us to a different room. However, it was late and we were tired, so we stayed put. On the business floor, the continental breakfast is free along with 2 happy hour beers. The continental breakfast was disappointingly simple considering the atmosphere the ledge is trying to create. We were busy during our entire stay in Vancouver/Portland, so I did not get to enjoy the happy hour complementaries. Did not get to eat at the Hudson downstair as we spent most of our meals in the Pearl in Portland. However, the restaurant does look moderately upscale.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thmdmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I have stayed at The Heathman Lodge every time we have been in the Vancouver/Portland area for recreation or visiting family for the last eight years. We are always greeted with a warm welcome and it truly is a home away from home. The inside is like a lodge with large log beams and nice glowing light and if you show up at night there is a pianist in the lobby by the restaurant. The rooms are cozy, nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. It really just feels good to be there and we know we will have a relaxing night of good sleep. It is also conveniently located next to a mall, food, freeways, and it's pretty close to the airport. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthtellerMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Very good location just outside Portland with easy access everywhere. Unique building with lots of natural wood. Outstanding beds, your choice of mattress. Good but pricey restaurant. The staff are outstanding and the cleanliness is terrific. Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Property: Heathman Lodge
Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing