We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I can't say enough good things about this hotel, which is located in a beautiful, quiet area close to the Columbia River. The main lodge is beautifully appointed, very cozy, with two large TV's, games, etc., plus a Business Center and other facilities.

The suites are very spacious and well-arranged, the bed is marvelous, and we even had a balcony (my husband was able to come with me on this business trip.) The free wireless connection worked like a charm, much different than most hit-and-miss connections I've found in other hotels.

The breakfasts were complete hot meals. Four nights a week they offer a Welcome Home reception, which they call a light meal, but we were there for it one night, and it's more than enough, again, hot food instead of cold appetizers, plus wine and beer are served.

The staff does everything in their power to make you feel welcome and taken care of. If you need a map to somewhere, they'll print one for you if they don't have one available. One night I was feeling really ill and needed to have some orange juice. My husband went to the office to see if he could find some left over from the earlier meal, and one of the staff actually went into the kitchen and came out with a half-full pitcher and gave it to him.

I'd recommend the Homewood Suites to anyone, and we'd love to come back again, even without business obligations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

As I have noted in previous reviews, I am quickly developing a love affair with this hotel chain. This one had everything I have grown to like about the Homewood chain, but also had a couple of quirks which kept it in the four-star range, rather than the five-star designation:
1. NOISE--You are right under the takeoff path for Portland Airport, and it was more noticeable than I would have thought. There is also a train track about two blocks away. The walls absorbed some of the noise, but not all of it.
2. LAYOUT--Unlike the other Homewoods I have stayed in, this one was a complex with multiple buildings. The only drawback to that was lugging a whole lot of luggage up a flight of stairs, as we were in one of the auxilliary buildings on the southern end of the complex.

Now, there is a positive to the layout--it gave the rooms a really unique and interesting floorplan. Our room had a larger bathroom that extended off of the bedroom, which was set up at an angle off of the primary room. A refreshing distinction.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is a great place to stay. Nice clean rooms, good pool for the kids, reasonable price, good restaurants nearby, quiet hotel, GREAT full breakfast in the morning, what more can I say. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank who_we_talkin_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The hotel is one of he nicest I have been in. Staff was very helpful. Loved the morning breakfast, and dinners during the week. Hotel is right along the Columbia River, several very nice restaurants in a block radius. I love staying here when in Portland!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank jfimbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

From the moment my husband and I checked in to the day we checked out, everything was absolutely perfect and wonderful about this hotel. Need I say more? I don't need to, but I gladly will. The front desk, hospitality, and housekeeping staff were all very courteous, helpful, and friendly. Because my husband has trouble walking, they assigned us a room that was on the first floor and near the door to the parking area. The suite was expansive, very clean, and very comfortable. Very comfortable bed, too! We were there to attend major dog shows at the Portland Expo Center, which is only about a 10-minute drive away. This hotel welcomed our dog. There is a fair and nominal fee to have a pet at the hotel. But there was a lot of grassy area surrounding the hotel to walk our dog. (Our dog must have been comfortable at the hotel because he was relaxed and won at the shows!). As a bonus, the hotel offers complimentary daily hot breakfasts as well as evening hospitality M-Th. The menu was varied and changed daily. The food was plentiful and delicious. And......free beer and wine in the evening! I utilized their free high speed wireless internet in the room and in their basic business center. On another, and important, note, the staff went out of their way to assist me in purchasing a purse at a local dept. store since I did not purchase it when I stayed at the hotel. When I called the hotel after returning home to ask if someone could go to the store for me to purchase and ship the purse to me, they happily helped me out with it. Very special thanks to Leilani at the front desk, and Kari, the hotel manager for going out of their way to help me purchase this "gotta-have" purse. Also, thank you to Lorisa who provided great service at the evening hospitality and to Razija in housekeeping for doing an impeccable job servicing our room. We stayed one week at this hotel and everyday was just great. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. I know we'll be staying at this hotel again whenever our travels take us to this area. 5 out of 5 stars in every way. Kudos to the hotel and staff. Keep up the excellent service!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongBeachGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Great location, friendly and accommodating staff! This is one of our favorite HWS locations. We travel a lot for business and bring our two dogs along. This location is terrific to walk and exercise our boys along the water. It is very well managed and they have great attention to detail. Highly recommend them to anyone staying in the Portland/Vancouver area!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBINewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We had a king-bed suite on the third floor of one of this property's 4 buildings. The stairs are exterior to the building and covered. There is also an interior elevator. The rooms are all entered from interior corridors. It's necessary to walk outside for the free breakfast (daily), free supper (M-F), guest laundry, and business center.

The units are a stone's throw from one end of Vancouver's Waterfront Trail, a paved path that follows the Columbia River right into Vancouver's City Center, about 4 miles away. The airport is across the river, but the flight path is not directly over the hotel. Free Wi-fi is accessible from the rooms, which is a good thing, since the Business Center has only one computer and printer.

Our suite was incredibly spacious, with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, sink, dishwasher, and two-burner (I think) stove. The living room had two windows that open. The heating and cooling are controlled by a thermostat, so no room air conditioners to cycle on and off. The two TVs were HD compatible. Our only quibble with the furniture was the dining table that had to serve as a desk and was not compatible with the desk chair for height and comfort. The room also had a sleeper sofa and very comfortable upholstered chair with ottoman.

The bedroom had a dresser with six drawers, a comfortable chair, and two windows. The closet was double size, fully mirrored. The sink and vanity were separate from the toilet and bathtub area.

I guess the hotel expects most of its guests to eat in their rooms or dine out, because there weren't enough tables for seating at supper. A free meal really brings people in -- even if it's meatloaf, canned corn, and instant mashed potatoes. Breakfast was much, much better -- hot cranberry scones the morning we ate there. A small cafe is a block away if you'd rather have breakfast out. For lunch or dinner, two area favorites, Beaches Restaurant and McMenamins, are just across the parking lot. And Joe's Crab Shack is a fun, fun, fun place to go for a noisy, good time and great crabs. It's 1 or 2 miles down the road.

Our drive to the airport took only 10 minutes -- very convenient. This hotel is a great option if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet be less than 30 minutes away from any part of it (as long as you avoid rush hour).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 29 in Vancouver
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
3.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland

Address: 701 SE Columbia Shores Blvd, Sarasota, Vancouver, WA 98661-8050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £113 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our spacious guestrooms feature our plush Hyatt Grand Bed® and state-of-the-art media and work centers. You’ll love the 42" HDTV, Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, and bathroom vanities with granite countertops and complimentary amenities. Get connected with free Wi-Fi and remote printing. Forget something? Odds & Ends has you covered with must-have items you can buy, borrow or enjoy for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hotel Vancouver
Hilton Vancouver
Homewood Vancouver
Homewood Suites Vancouver Portland
Vancouver Homewood Suites
Vancouver Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing