We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is only 5-8 minutes away from Portland, OR, and conveniently located off the freeway exit. A group of families stayed here while visiting Portland. We used the breakfast/great room as a hangout place to eat dinner we brought in, watch TV and play board games. We helped ourselves to the complimentary coffee, tea and apple cider throughout the day. The great room is converted to a breakfast area in the morning for complimentary hot breakfast. We love the pancake machine which by the press of a button, it pops out a small pancake in several minutes. It makes perfect size pancakes. Hot breakfast also includes but not limited to: biscuit & gravy, muffins, toast, boiled eggs, egg with melted cheese, yogurt, milk & cereal, bacon, sausages, juices, fruit. The female staff tending this busy area was very fast and tidy. She was always on the go to ensure food was replenished, counter and food trays were clean, and trash was removed before it overfilled. Only drawback is that they use styrofoam plates and disposable utensils which are not environmentally friendly.

Please consider tipping dedicated hotel staff for they only make minimum wage or less, and we wouldn't have a relaxing stay if it weren't for their hard work.

Rooms and hallways are very new and clean. Standard 2 queen bed rooms are roomy, and the beds were comfortable. I wish the vanity sink was located outside the bathroom for convenience though. The pool and jacuzzi were a big hit with the kids.

Only complaint is the elevator. Small, narrow hallway to the elevator doesn't allow guests or staff to squeeze through.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Good day Ana L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very good fair and balanced review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you really enjoyed both the menu items offered for our breakfast but also the excellent service received by our breakfast attendant.
We are very pleased that you loved our beds and found the hallways very clean and guest rooms "roomy".

I did want to take a moment to address that our hotel is proud of our staff and its compensation policy. It is against labor laws in Washington State to pay regular employees less than minimum wage and it is one of the highest in the United States.
We do offer a living wage.

Although the hallway elevator area meets both UBC new construction and ADA requirements, we also wish it had a foot or so more space in width.
Please except my sincere apology for this.

We are reviewing for the possibility of expanding this area during a future remodel.

Again thank you for your great review of our hotel.
I will pass along your comments of praise to our Breakfast Attendant and Guest Service agents.

Please return to visit us soon and thank you for staying yourself; staying Holiday inn Express.

Sincerely yours,

Paul Weston
AGM - Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is already my third time staying here this year...the first time I was actually in Vancouver, WA for a friend's wedding so this was the ideal spot to stay in terms of location BUT we liked it so much, it has become our go-to place for trips to Portland, and this time Cannon Beach. We went over the long weekend and even though it was busy, everything went smoothly. Every single time, they have offered excellent service; the staff is extremely helpful (and actually cheerful - some places, they only do what they need to do because it's a job - but these guys are seriously great).

The hotel property itself is extremely well maintained and clean. They have a full range of amenities, from a swimming pool, a lounge area, and a gym - which I have walked by multiple times thinking I should actually go in...but hey, you're on vacation. Best part, they actually have a whole cabinet full of DVD's you can borrow for free. Free. Wireless, movies galore, and a pretty well prepared breakfast = all free.

The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. They have great bath and body products and are on top of things when it comes to cleaning the rooms. All in all, a great stay and affordable for the amount of services provided.

I would have kept this info for myself but when you get great service and find a really amazing spot, you can't help but share it because they deserve it. Honestly, if you're visiting Portland or the Oregon Coast or even just driving through, I highly recommend staying here.

Well-maintained, clean, spacious rooms, a load of free amenities, friendly staff, and convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank YJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hi YJ H,

Thank you for your positive in-depth guest review of our hotel.
We truly love what we do here and are happy to offer you the best possible service we can.

We know that you have many choices when you come to the Vancouver/Portland area; we thank you so much for choosing to stay with us!

I will pass along your words of praise to our Housekeeping and Guest Service agents.

Please enjoy the rest of your trip and again thank you for both the great review and lodging with us for the wedding. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Paul Weston
AGM - Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We got in late in the rain. The hotel was easy to find from the freeway, lots of parking and they were expecting us. The hotel was much nicer (a new highrise) than we expected. Convenient. Clean, big really nice room and a very comfortable room. We will definitely stay here again when we're passing through Vancouver. Nice to be a little bit away from the bustle of Portland Airport but just minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyr460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hi Judyr460,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a great review.

It is so important that guests such as yourself explain to fellow travelers what to expect when making hotel reservations. I must confess I have had trouble explaining to others that the hotel location is "Just right" when visiting the Vancouver/Portland area.

You have said it best when you said "Nice to be a little bit away from the bustle of Portland Airport but just minutes away".

We thank you also for the compliments regarding both parking, visibility of the hotel and most importantly the quality of the rooms at our hotel.

Please hurry back to us when visiting the area.

Happy travels to you and your family,

Paul Weston
AGM - Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I arrived in the middle of the night and the front desk graciously checked me in and gave me a room close to the parking lot and made sure that I made it safely to my room. The room was spacious but the bathroom was a little small. I ended up extending my stay twice and they quickly accommodated me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hi Mary B,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased that you found our hotel very safe and our guest service agents exceeded your expectations. Thank you for extending your stay with us not once but twice. It is very satisfying to us to please all our guests.

Please return to visit us soon for all your lodging needs.

Wishing you a safe journey,

Paul Weston
AGM - Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Likes:
+ Newish building, well-maintained and clean, as is typical of Holiday Inn Express hotels
+ Very spacious room, lots of space to stretch/move between beds and window
+ Standard room had a comfortable couch and TV area
+ Good location: convenient to PDX, as this is only a couple minutes off of I-5, but also near a mall and downtown Vancouver for lots of dining and shopping options

Dislikes:
- Painfully slow elevator
- Room design was very long, with only a small window. This prevented much natural light from entering the room further than the ~5 feet radius around the window. So it was nearly impossible to do/see anything in 85% of the room during the daytime without turning on a lamp. I am a fan of natural light, when available, so this really bothered me.
- Too few power outlets, and in inconvenient spots
- Orange cones were blocking off a number of parking spots, which made parking pretty limited, as the hotel was full. Every time I'd leave and return to the hotel, the spots they had blocked off would be different.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear stargirlssc,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your review.
It looks like we got most everything right based upon your comments.

Please except our apology for the delay in the elevator. Although it takes 17 seconds to travel from 1st to 4th floor, sometimes folks create delays holding the elevator door open on a different floor while working the luggage cart. I know when you are tired and waiting to get to your room this can seem like an eternity.

The hotel is laid out facing north-south not east-west as the sun travels. We find the rooms facing south are much brighter in the summer and when you stay with us in the future, we would be happy to find you a room in that section of our hotel.

The 14 coned parking stalls at the far side of the parking lot away from the hotel were reserved for a group of guest staying with us and working a late night shift project.
As we have 110 spaces for 91 rooms and we seldom have an issue with availability.
We apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way.

We do take seriously all guests comments and use them to train and educate our management and staff with the goal of providing a great hotel that guests love.

Thank you again for your kind words and balanced review.
We look forward to serving your lodging needs on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely yours,

Paul Weston
AGM – Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vancouver, WA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Holiday Inn stay was poor. The room was clean, the breakfast ok, and easy access to tourism. The problem was first, our room.

We had a lot of noise throughout the complete night. We thought it was the room above us but then we concluded it was the pair of hotel sliding doors in the lobby front entrance which happened to be immediately under our suite's bedroom. We heard knocking noises (like someone walking on our ceiling every time the doors opened and closed. Avoid having suite 213 assigned to you!!!

The second problem was the staffs reaction to our complaint. The hotel front desk employee offered no response to our comments other than a quiet nil response/stare. We are sure that this is not the first time someone must have complained as the noise was significant to disturb our sleep. Some reaction would have eased our displeasure of a unpleasant sleep.

Third, while the room was clean, fairly large and comfortable, the elevator access was extremely tight. The cleaning ladies had a hard time to even get their carts on and off the elevator. Imagine a client with one of the two luggage carts (only two available) trying to get on and off the elevator with many other clients during the morning rush. Not good.

Excellent location for easy access, food and shopping.

Room Tip: Avoid room 213 Be prepared to carry your baggage up to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Sylvie W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms large and clean.
That the breakfast meets your standard.

I’m concerned that you had noise issues with your room.
We strive to do our best to make sure that every stay is enjoyable.

I am sorry about the noise from the entrance door that was below your room interfered with your comfort.
.
Please except my sincere apology.

I have already contacted maintenance to look into the matter.
I am happy to report that repairs are complete.

When in the Vancouver/Portland area please hurry back to give us another chance.

Sincerely yours,


Paul Weston
AGM - Director of Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

No complaints good place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The elevator was broke most of the weekend and the halls are too small for housekeeping carts and guests to comfortably use at the same time. No deal breakers though and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagollehon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Hi Cagollehon78,

I want you to know we appreciate your taking the time to write us a review. It is important to all of us to hear of your experience while visiting our hotel.

Sometimes even the very best hotels have problems and as fate would have it; it was our turn.
The elevator was broken that weekend. The second floor switch button to call the elevator broke and even though the service repair team was on site within hours, the part was not available and was delivered 3 days later.

Please except our sincere apology for the enconvience. It truly was a challenge for both our guests and housekeeping staff as well.

I am please that you chose to overlook this unfortunate event and you do recommend us and will stay with us again.

We truly hope you return soon.

Warmest regards,


Paul Weston
AGM - Director of Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Vancouver, WA USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver North Salmon Creek
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#3 of 29 in Vancouver
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North

Address: 7205 NE 41st St, Vancouver, WA 98662-6719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £65 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at our Hotel in Vancouver, Washington. Situated in the heart of Vancouver, our hotel's located near Portland, making it a premier place to stay for business and leisure travelers to the Portland-Vancouver metropolitan area. Guests can appreciate our convenient location within minutes of restaurants, shopping, movie theaters and corporate offices. If you're staying with us on business, then the Holiday Inn Express® Vancouver Portland North hotel's accommodations near Portland are sure to please. Feel free to take advantage of our 24-hour Business Center, which offers fax, copy, e-mail and print services. In addition, free high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, so you can catch up on work from the comfort of your room. Every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, flat screen TV and DVD player. From the Clark County Amphitheater to the Columbia River Gorge, our hotel's convenient location in Vancouver, Washington has it all. Spend the day shopping at the Westfield Shopping Center or have fun learning at the Fort Vancouver National Historic Site. And, since our hotel's near Portland, you're just minutes away from all this metropolitan area has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express® hotel offers a number of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Stop in each morning and enjoy our Express Start Breakfast Bar. We offer items like eggs, bacon or sausage or sausage gravy & biscuits, our signature cinnamon rolls and many more items, to start your day off right. Monday-Thursday evenings, we have a Manager's Reception, with complimentary beer, wine and soup bar and we have set up many discounts & complimentary food items with several area restaurants. Remember, we have the name you trust at a price you can afford so come be our guest tonight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing