We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Salmon Creek
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Don't believe the photos! The photos show a beautiful room, kitchen, nice comforter on the bed... The "kitchen" was a microwave sitting on top of a small refrigerator and a small table with two chairs. There was a bucket for ice, but absolutely no clue where the ice machine was. The "comforter" was a foot wide strip of material that was stretched across the bed as decoration. The pillows were thin and uncomfortable and not enough of them (teaches me to leave home without my own!). I believe that we paid way too much money for what what we got. If we paid a 49.99 rate - no complaints. But over $100? NOPE! Don't stay here!

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ptprincess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Salmon Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing these issues to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and experience the improvements we have made with our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

There were bodily fluids on the carpet from previous use. The stench was unbearable. We paid for a second room in a different hotel because they would not refund our money. Possibly the most disgusting place I have ever seen. I've stayed in much nicer rooms for the price.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank vmcqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Salmon Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am so sorry that your room was not as expected. We apologize for the inconvenience to you.
Your comments are very important as we strive to offer good accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stumbled into The Inn at Salmon Creek pretty late at night.

The owner was very accommodating while she checked me in through the acrylic safety window. After I handed her my credit card, a room door threw open and a bevy of loud drunk men started tumbling into the courtyard style parking lot. One of them started up a diesel trunk and a loud country sound blared out into the night.
He was yelling, "This was the song that got me through when that b***h Renee broke up with me, man!"
Then another fella yelled some indecipherable comments from the room, and one fella politely, drunkenly, loudly said in my direction, "Well, gooooooood evening."

I immediately turned to the owner and said, "Oh no. This is not happening. Please cancel that and give me my card." She said it was ok and that she would put me in a room far away from them. I was dubious, but it was 2 am and I was wicked tired.

As I walked away the petite owner opened the office door and told the men to go back in their rooms and to be quiet or she would call the cops. They all stumbled off to their room as meek as lambs and apologizing. I didn't hear them at all after that.

My room was huge: two beds with lovely linens and silk type bed panes for decoration, a full kitchen, a huge bathroom and two seating areas- one with a chair and table and the other with a couch. the layout was odd, but comfortable and very clean.

It was a cheap (65 dollars) room that suited me just great. I would stay again, but I doubt I could find it since I literally just stumbled into the parking lot while looking to get gas off the freeway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Salmon Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are so sorry for the disturbance during check in, but it is so good to know that you did have a good stay and was pleased with the accommodations. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My suggestion is that if you are already in town is to come by and ask to see the room before booking so you are able to decide if it is acceptable to you. I did this due to the mixed reviews. The gentleman that helped me was very friendly and accommodating.He gave me a key to look at the room that he was going to offer me with no problems. The toilets are small as previously stated, but not a big deal to me. I did not experience the cleanliness issues discussed in previous reviews
The carpet seems newly replaced. the curtains could use updating, some areas are worn and thinning, and they don't fully close together but a hair clip easily fixed that. I checked the bedding and head boards for signs of bed bugs and the room is free of them. the linens are very clean and smell of fresh laundered bedding, and seem fairly new to me. Overall I would compare it to an older extended stay inn as the room has the 2 queen beds, kitchen area and dinning area.Good satellite T.V. via Direct TV, older tube style TV set. Internet is extremely reliable and free. The beds are not bad at all and comfortable enough for my needs. If you are used to Holiday inn express type accommodations and expect that then this place is not for you. However, if you can accept an older style motel then this is a really good value. We paid $70 per night, a good value in my opinion. Overall my experience was really good.

Room Tip: It was not busy during our stay but suite 26 is not bad at all, 2 queen beds, closet, kitchen and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank givvens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Salmon Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for this review, we appreciate you letting us know of your experience. Please plan to visit us again soon.
We appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights just before labor day weekend, what a pleasant surprise! I didn't want to spend a lot and assumed it would be passable, just a room to sleep in. That's what we paid for and that's what I expected. This place was incredible! Spotless! Clean bathroom, tub, sinks, toilets! No stains on the carpet, fresh new bedding! Curtains that worked, no problems with doors, etc.... WIFI worked great, using it right now to write this review! Room 37 is awesome! Staff was courteous, no problems there either. I don't know what those other reviews are talking about. I have spent twice as much money on other motels and had them look a lot worse! Would stay here again anytime!

Room Tip: Room 37 in the back is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Salmon Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review, your comments are important to us. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed there last night. . . Didn't search for a different motel because we were out of time to get to our venue. Expected it to be long in the tooth because of the price (although $90 isn't THAT cheap), but jeez.

Peeling paint inside, holey, grimy bedspread. Whiskers in the sink. Another "guest's" belongings in the dresser (naughty shorts, panties, boxer shorts, and smelly hair extensions).

Advertised a 3 mile walk to the Sleep Country Amphitheater--not. More like 10 if you walk it. No WIFI (advertised).

Check in staff was efficient and cordial. Parking was ok.

Won't do THAT again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wickedsister99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We live out of town and my parents decided to go through Expedia to book a nice hotel for us while in town for the holidays. The Inn at Salmon Creek is a very scary and low class establishment. The only information my parents had to go from was the pictures that are posted online, which do not truly show this establishment. It was myself, my husband and my two children. We were put in a room with two beds but this was a room down the back alley which was more like low-cost housing than a hotel. We were put right next to two occupancies that were more along the lines of "living out of the hotel" rather than staying for a weekend. The room was filthy. I did take pictures so that I could show the "real" room to my parents. Light sockets that looked unsafe to plug into, large gaping cracks around the doors to where you could see the outside, a door leading outside also from my childrens room, a filthy kitchen with rust and grime and a very dirty coffee pot that we had to clean in the shower. We did decide to "suck it up" and stay one night. We were up all night long. The "neighbors" were up ALL night long. In and out the front door, Slamming things in their room, Slamming doors, Slamming the trunk of their car. They had anti-freeze outside their front door. If I didn't know any better I would think they were running a meth lab or something in there. As soon as we got up in the morning we packed our things and left right away and never looked back. We stayed one night out of three nights that had been paid for. Do not go through Expedia either!! You cannot get a hold of a live person to save your life. We did not get reimbursed because it was too much of a hassle. It cost MORE to book through Expedia than it would of to book straight to the hotel and it would have been easier to just get the reimbursement through the hotel. I could go on and on but I'm hoping this gets the point across. I would not recommend EVER staying at this place, EVER! I wish that I would have also thought about taking pictures of the view out the front door, which was a wood fence and the alley. But I have posted some of the pics I took from the inside. I do have more pics but I think you will get the gest of the place from these.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Vancouver North
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Vancouver
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#3 of 29 in Vancouver
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
5.8 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Salmon Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Salmon Creek

Address: 11901 NE Highway 99, Vancouver, WA 98686-4001
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Salmon Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Inn at Salmon Creek in Vancouver, Washington, a perfect vacation getaway. Our family-friendly lodging features guest rooms with two queen beds and a Deluxe Suite with two queen beds and a kitchenette. We also offer a Standard Room with one queen bed. Whichever room you choose, you’ll enjoy modern conveniences and incomparable services. Enjoy a great location close to a multitude of marvelous attractions such as Fort Vancouver Historic Site, Columbia River Gorge, Washington State University, Clark County Ampitheater and Fairground, and Downtown Portland. Chow down at several excellent nearby restaurants, including Billygan’s Roadhouse and Applebees. Satisfy your shopping needs at Vancouver Mall or downtown Portland just a short drive from our idyllic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Salmon Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Salmon Creek Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing