We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average tour stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Vancouver National Historic Site

Fort Vancouver National Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the lands and structures at the center of fur trade and military history in the Pacific Northwest. Learn about the diverse cultures who lived and worked here. Enjoy relaxing trails along the Columbia River and Village. Experience costumed programs, hands-on education activities, engaging living history events, creative media and a world-class archaeology collection. Connect to the past.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average tour stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A good stop for historical information. Not a spectacular area but we enjoyed it. The blacksmith shop was informational with two themed "blacksmiths" giving demonstrations on the day we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    211
    43
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have always driven passed but stopped this time to enjoy the wonderful architecture of the officer's residences and the barracks. Too bad things must be boarded up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ktz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to wander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Love Fort Vancouver - we were here on July 4th for the celebrations, and it was such a great place to be. The park is very well maintained, with beautiful trees, restored historic homes, old barracks with lots of character, and history everywhere you look. Definitely a highlight of our time in Vancouver, WA.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I love learning and exploring history. Fort Vancouver was definitely on the mark for what we were looking for. Our two kids loved being able to actually see people working with iron, touching furs and exploring all the beautiful buildings. In addition to exploring the fort you must see the rest of the historical site where there is even more information about the area. There is also a great little air museum right next door. This stop was a hit with my two kids.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice area for walking. Visit the officers quarters and the air museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Clean lovely park. Lots of history. Liked the officer quarters and the visitors center, the fort and the air museum

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rayvan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Vancouver National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Vancouver National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing