We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise!”
Review of woody's tacos

woody's tacos
Ranked #34 of 711 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Most of the time when a Mexican themed restaurant attempts to present something that can be seen as "up-scale" or "gourmet" they can easily get away from any real feeling of authenticity.

Woody's Taco's, by contrast, achieves what so many other eateries have failed miserably at; We tried 4 different dishes ranging from Empanadas to Taquitos and each had traditional rustic flavors but with very creative and above average ingredients;
Everything we had tasted fresh and home-made and of the highest quality fresh ingredients.

The Margaritas were the best we have had in any restaurant in the Northwest.

The atmosphere is extremely casual and the folks who work behind the counter were friendly and informative.

While the prices may seem a bit higher than what we would normally expect to see in a Mexican restaurant the quality of the dishes we tried more than justified them.

We will MOST definitely be going back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinhead411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty Taco's W/ a Great Value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The giant homemade corn tortilla crispy taco's are delicious and for 3.99 a taco you can't go wrong. The fish taco w/ added mushroom and asparagus was one of the best fish tacos I have had in a long time. No wonder they're a 3 time best of Clark County winner for Best Mexican Food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinWoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best tacos”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

for $3.99 you get a huge taco with a homemade corn tortilla crispy. Maybe other options on flour, but you can get crispy or soft. Choice of fillings and salsa. My friend and tried pdg..can't spell...and wishes we had a bit more sauce. Small facility with a few small tables, but...there is an indoor atrium right outside their door and the server will bring your food there. They suggested 2 for lunch, but one would have been plenty for me. Free water and you pick up napkins and utensils. A very long line around lunch time on a Thursday which made us want to try!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brush prairie WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Am I really in Vancouver?”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stumbled across woody's one day while cruising around downtown Vancouver. What a fun discovery! The restaurant has outdoor, indoor, and indoor courtyard seating. The courtyard opens onto some nifty shops and galleries. A breath of fresh air in the downtown district, makes me hopeful that the sometimes musty feel to the area may one day be replaced with a hipper type of vibe.

Great homemade chips and an assortment of salsas. The fish tacos are a specialty and I thought they were delicious. My 93 year old mother put aside her long ingrained mexican food prejudices and also endorsed them heartily. The place feels and tastes more like Santa Fe, if you know what I mean. One is able to choose from a variety of sides. Pinto, black beans or for the traditionalists, refried. Prices seemed reasonable to me.

Service is friendly, but one has to be a little assertive getting napkins, water, etc. No one is going to wait on you, other than to deliver the goods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and authentic”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

They serve fairly authentic Mexican street food at a very reasonable price. The corn cob covered with cheese was unexpected and reminded me of trips down to the little fishing villages south of Tijuana when I was younger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed woody's tacos also viewed

 

Been to woody's tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing