We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some improvements needed”

Cinetopia Vancouver Mall 23
Ranked #1 of 19 Fun & Games in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some improvements needed”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had purchased a Groupon for this theater and while they were honored, there was no indication that you don't have to wait in the same line as other ticket buyers. It was pure chaos standing in the hallway of the mall where the ticket line is located. Noisy, crowded and with no signage that might've shown how to redeem previously purchased tickets. We waited our turn and then were told to go inside and show the Groupon to a different box office area and staff. A total waste of time. Then there's the ride in a very small elevator to the second floor where the theaters are, but you had to go back outside to the narrow hall area of the mall interior to board. It's ridiculous the way they designed this Cinetopia. It was our first time there and we found it to not be very user friendly. The other local Cinetopia location, in Cascade Park, is superior. As for the movie accommodations, the seats were okay (a little short) and the sound was just fine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank septembermorn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    75
    27
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ultimate Movie Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have viewed several movies at this facility. Every time they lived up to "sitting in first class." My favorite venue is the parlors on the upper floor. You get food service at your seat. The wait staff is very friendly and quick. The prices are comparable to any restaurant. On the other hand, if you want to see an action film on the BIG screen you can't do better than the GXL theaters. The resolution crystal clear and the ATMOS sound is amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Inspector81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“First class movie viewing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I wondered, when Cinetopia first opened up,whether it would last or not. Yes, the seats were comfy and getting food at your seat was fabulous, but the prices were a little steep for the average movie goer.

Years later, there are four ? Cinetopias open in Vancouver and Portland and they are packed every time I go to see a movie.

We most often visit the Vancouver Mall 23 location. It is very convenient, being at the mall, and if you don't want to eat in the movie,the food court is steps away from the front doors. the food has gotten much better and it gets to you fairly quickly. Prices are still relatively high but they always offer Groupons at a great discount. Costco also offers discounts throughout the year.

After seeing movies like, XMen and Batman on the GXL screen, it is really hard to go back to the regular screens. We choose the big screen for all action packed movies. I love going to the Living Room, with their snuggle seats and intimate settings. The kids also like going there because it is so comfortable.

I would say that my only complaint is that the theaters are generally chilly so bring a sweater or blanket for snuggling. Servers are terrific and very friendly. If something is not right, they do their best to remedy the problem.

I would say it is worth the extra cost for a night of luxurious screen time. Without coupons, it can run $100 for food and movie for a couple. With coupons, you are looking at $10.50 each for tickets and free drink/or around $50 for food and tickets.

Bottom line......I like it!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rrosepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Movie Experience”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Read all of the review for the good and bad!

The Cinetopia Theatre in the Vancouver Mall has Dolby ATMOS sound. It was one of the first theaters in the US to get it. I was there for the first movie showing and it was outstanding. They are always cutting edge in comfort and in presentation. If you want the best sound and picture there is no better place to go!

In terms of food, very hit or miss. Some of the items are fantastic and very much worth the price. Others are not. If you do get food, the nice thing is that it is served in such a way that you can eat it at your seat with nifty cup holders that the trays can lock into.

Speaking of food, if you go to a movie in a Movie Parlor or Living Room setup then definitely plan on eating there. You can arrive early, relax in the extra comfortable seating and just make a night of it. I would, however, not recommend the Living Room setup at the Vancouver Mall location. They are above the regular seating and in my opinion, not worth it.

Make sure you look for a Groupon before going. If you are going to a high end theater, like an IMAX, and watching a 3D movie, Cinetopia will be cheaper by comparison. However, for just a regular showing often times they are more expensive. But with the Groupon that seems to come out every few weeks or so, it makes it super affordable and the drink voucher that comes with the Groupon can be used for beer/wine as well as other regular drinks such as soda.

One bad thing is that if you need to get there earlier than you might for other theaters. One big reason for this is that if you pay a premium, you don't want to get stuck in the "bad seats". Also, since it is a premium theater, you often get people going there who really enjoy going to see movies and so many more people than average show up early. So if the movie is a 2hr movie, and it is opening weekend, and you get lucky enough to get tickets, you had better get there an hour early. So a 2hr movie turns into a 3hr event.

Another bad thing is no cell phone reception. I am not sure if they had to put in sound dampeners because of it being in a mall and that is what is blocking the cell reception, but there is zero cell reception once you are about 10 steps into the lobby. So getting there early and also hanging out in the bar/pub/restaurant is difficult with no reception.

Overall, this is the ONLY place that I will go to see the big movies! The ATMOS sound is unsurpassed as is their presentation in general. You won't be disappointed in the picture or sound, but may not be sold on the food/extra's they try and have. But certainly one of the best spots in Portland to see a high quality movie with the other spots being their other locations ;)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why go Regal when you can sit in First Class”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Their commercials say it all. If you are an adult and want to enjoy a movie, you go here. Chose the Living Room or Movie Parlors on the upper level. This provides you alcohol, and full food menu.

This is what it is like to enjoy a movie outside of your home. These days, you go to a normal movie theater, you are disappointed in the experience. I hear that from others that do not go to this theater and I cannot go back to normal - old school theaters. They do not provide exceptional picture and sound.

Since the new Star Wars film opened, I have been hooked to this chain that is found in Vancouver and Portland.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dnelson_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinetopia Vancouver Mall 23 also viewed

 

Been to Cinetopia Vancouver Mall 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing