We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic”
Review of The Grant House

The Grant House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grant House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fort Vancouver Way
Description: The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last seven years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret"! Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Quaint and a great look back in time. Food was good, but a little expensive. Great area to take a walk after dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    63
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always fresh and new...yet old and exclusive”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Every time we go the menu is new and fresh, in season and inventive. We go as often as possible because we love the atmosphere and the staff, oh yes and the menu, great wine list too. Live music and great intimate bar, patio is fabulous in the summer! Only downside is it closes early...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casnkory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“amazing!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

this was one of the most romantic places iv ever been to. its very private, walking up my boyfriend and I joked what if this is someone's house! with section dinner doors, a fire place and a wall full of wine! our server know the menu like his life depended on it! the food was amazing and we had a amazing time. little pricey but total worth it:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very nice & historical dining experience”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Grant House serves a very nice lunch as well as candle-lit (in the old fashioned way) dinners. The old plank floors add extra atmosphere to this very enjoyable dining experience. The food was excellent and the service was prompt and unobtrusive. Very nice for a quiet, romantic dinner with your spouse. In the summer and fair weather, a nice walk down Officer's Row or across the street to the parade grounds is a nice addition before or after dinner. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FijiDiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great place for lunch with the girls. We sat out on the porch and had a lovely lunch. The old U S Grant house sits in a park-like setting, and the lunch was reasonably priced, fresh, and very tasty!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PortlandPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grant House also viewed

 

Been to The Grant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing