We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor quality breakfast”
Review of Stardust Diner

Stardust Diner
Ranked #12 of 705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come join us at the Stardust Diner and step back into America's Golden Age of the 40's & 50's. Experience old-fashioned service and quality. We feature simple comfort foods made from the freshest, high quality ingredients. Order our hearty breakfasts all day long, burgers, shakes & malts, and full course dinners. Our standout food and stellar service will make you feel like you're sitting down at Mom's kitchen table.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor quality breakfast”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I am a little shocked by the many positive reviews about this restaurant. I think it would be helpful to have demographic information from those leaving their reviews as it seems most senior citizens have an uncanny love for cheap, low quality breakfast restaurants. Just step into any Denny's or Shari's restaurant to see what I'm talking about. That being said, I did only sample two breakfast items from the menu. It is possible that I just happened to order the two worst possible items they offer. I was surprised that my omelet was made with what appeared to be egg beaters and not real eggs. Even McDonalds uses real eggs these days. I mean... Really? The food was of very low quality and taste. I wish I had gone to McDonald's for an egg mcmuffin instead. My business colleague and I met for antler breakfast at Elmer's a few weeks later and were very pleased with the much higher quality meal that was offered.

Helpful?
Thank Aamcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    53
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cuero, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location, clean and cute”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I could eat breakfast here every day, or all day. Lots of food, cooked the way I liked it. The eggs over medium were cooked just right. The wait staff was young ,clean-cut, college types and very attentive. The restaurant done in a 50s diner style. The bacon and sausage were way better than the usual stuff you see at the "famous" breakfast chains. And, the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harrison9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stopped here when looking for a breakfast place one day. There were not many people there. We were pleasantly surprised with the nice friendly, cheerful staff. The breakfast was cooked exactly the way we wanted. What a shock! No runny white in my eggs. And the bacon was thick and perfect. Not the usual thin wimpy bacon encountered at most breakfast places. The sourdough toast was actually warm, and well buttered. An A+ to the cook! And a nice pleasant clean atmosphere to boot!
Can't think of a better meal to start off the day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
284 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Super cute diner and great staff, food not bad”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just passing through town we hit this diner, and it was very cute. The staff was very friendly and the service was quick. They have interesting daily specials, and i had the salmon with rice and vegetables. It was good. My husband had a delux salad with grilled chicken and it looked great. (He said it was very good). I would go again if I was in the area. The tables along the windows had jukeboxes which is always a fun touch. I wouldn't say it was THE best diner I've ever been too, but it was cute, and the food was good. It was very crowded when we left, which to me is always a good sign! I say GO!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not So Great. . .”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The fare here is super ordinary. If you want your gravy sort of heavy and salty, not made with real cream but loaded with crumbled sausage, great. You might like this. And if you want your hollandaise sauce tasting not fresh but something else, like poured out of a packet in powder form and stirred up with liquid and called Hollandaise Sauce, great. You might like this. It's a little too buzy and noisy, although the service is more than adequate. We've eaten here a dozen times for breakfast, but we won't go back because the details are not the best. If you don't have a cook that can make absolutely fresh Hollandaise Sauce, the real deal with egg yolks, real butter and fresh squeezed lemon, don't put it on the menu. It isn't that hard to make, for heaven's sakes. There's an assumption on the part of mgmt. cooking staff that nobody knows the difference, so go on the cheap. Great. They'll be going there without me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stardust Diner also viewed

 

Been to Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing