We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Vancouver”
Review of Briar Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Little by little, I am seeing the benefits of staying in a B&B versus a generic hotel. Briar Rose Inn only adds to that general thinking. The location is perfect--on the edge of downtown Vancouver, which I found [surprisingly, I might add] "comfy and cozy". It is also within most fit people's walking distance from the Amtrak train station. The turn-of-the-century home is charmingly restored. Ted and Sallie took a run down house and created a gem. Replete with creaking floors and stairs, which is a plus for me. Especially as the guest rooms are all upstairs on the top floor (as far as I could tell), so there are no problems with noisy guests or floors above. Breakfast was delicious. Unfortunately, my field trip to the coast was canceled due to stormy weather, so I stayed but one night. I do, however, hope to return as there does seem to be much to do in Vancouver itself and greater Clark County.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank SweetGum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The owners have lovingly restored this American-Edwardian home and decorated it to a fine level. We stayed in the Hearth Room, their largest, with a king bed and corner windows. The French Toile Room might have worked even better with its en-suite bath. But we enjoyed the bath at the top of the stairs and did not have to share it. The hearty, tasty breakfasts, served in the dining room, set us up for trips to the nearby Farmer's Market and Fort Vancouver; plus trips into Portland for adventurous dining and a visit to the Portland Art Museum. Altogether we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Hemmingway Room would appeal to men; French Toile Room works for anyone; the Hearth Room tickles a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. Ted and Sallie were brilliant hosts and it was really nice sharing our delicious breakfasts with other guests and exchanging stories. We stayed in the Hemingway Room which was very comfortable. The B&B is well located for all local amenities and in a quiet road. We visited Fort Vancouver which was very interesting and also went to Camus a picturesque town about 10 miles west of Fort Vancouver. Fantastic views of Mount Hood. On the way back we stopped at Beaches - a riverside 'resort' with nice walks and even a small beach where we paddled in the river.

Room Tip: Hemingway room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Briar Rose and had a wonderful stay. Both Sallie and Ted were excellent hosts. Having restored a 1908 home to its former beauty, one is transported back to another era (without leaving behind modern conveniences). Luckily, we also were there during the weekend so enjoyed the local Farmer's Market. Had a great dinner at a local thai restaurant (which also had sushi). We stayed in the Hemingway room (complete with Hemingway books) which was a delight. Notwithstanding my dietary restrictions, Ted and Sallie made a wonderful breakfast. A great weekend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Hemingway room is ensuite which two other rooms share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Briar Rose Inn is only two or three blocks, easy walking, from Vancouver's "downtown" -- marked, primarily, by Esther Short Park (and the weekly Farmer's Market on Saturdays; NOT TO BE MISSED). The Inn is a restored 1908 residence; we stayed in the Hemingway Room for a few nights -- two other rooms share a bath but the Hemingway and one other also has a private bath. The Basics: Yes, suitably clean; reasonably accessible (there are stairs with no elevator; it's historic so no mandatory ADA, but the stairs are not particularly steep); it's furnished in common area with period furniture, and the bed itself is quite satisfactory. Breakfast -- Ted is accommodating with special needs/requests. So, Why Stay Here? Well, location is a giant plus; it is right downtown and parking is available (if you have to park on the street Ted throws coins in the meter when applicable -- which I found amusing; I was always able to park off-street) -- but it is walking distance to Vancouver Park, the waterfront, the bridge to Portland (no; we didn't walk across it, that's a bit much). Why? Well, there aren't any other B&Bs near downtown...Why, else? Well, Sallie and Ted are very pleasant people and it's just simply an enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: If the Hemingway is open, choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have stayed at the Briar Rose Inn four times and we will continue to choose it over any hotel. The home is beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Ted is wonderful about accomodating special meal requests (gluten free, no dairy, etc) if you let him know ahead of time.

Room Tip: Good idea to use the provided earplugs if you are bothered by the sound a train's whistle from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We recently stayed four nights at the Briar Rose Inn in downtown Vancouver and we simply had a great stay!

The house is clean, nicely furnished and I thought period authentic for the early 1900's as it was built in 1908. Sallie and Ted bent over backwards to accommodate my family for breakfast and Ted whips up a great breakfast!

The aged original wood floors have a romantic squeak as you walk on them. The rooms and beds were comfortable and everything was in great shape. This was our first B&B stay! Now we are hooked on the personal service and the courtesy shown between the guests and the owners! I hope others are this way.

Being in the downtown area, parking is a little sparse but there is parking on the property. You can hear the trains roll through, even though they are some distance away, so ear plugs are furnished! My wife and I rarely heard them.

Folks, these guys were great and the house beds and all excellent!

Room Tip: Two rooms have a shared bathroom and two have private bathrooms. There are only stairs to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 29 in Vancouver
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
4.3 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Rose Inn

Address: 314 West 11th Street, Vancouver, WA 98660
Region: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing