We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, tasty food. Healthier than most local Thai eateries”

Dok Koon Thai Cuisine
Ranked #97 of 707 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, tasty food. Healthier than most local Thai eateries”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great food. We eat here with a lunch group and also visit for dinner occasionally. Salad rolls with fresh tofu (not the fried tofu most Thai places use in their salad rolls) are so good here!
Musselman curry is a tasty, stick to your ribs meal.
Fresh flowers on the table and service is friendly and the cooks are always spot on correct in our orders. We have noticed that the portions have gotten a little smaller in the last few months. They are still bigger than the other places in Vancouver for Thai cuisine. Chicken is really good. No questionable pieces or dark meat and not fatty like I have unfortunately found in lots of other eateries.
Would like to see a kids menu though. Currently only the chicken satay appetizers are really the only 'kid friendly' food there. Would also like Thai iced tea and coffee made with NON-fat half and half instead of regular like you find pretty much everywhere.
I definitely recommend this local gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpicyRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drunken noodle. Extra spicy.”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

When the server leaves a pitcher of water saying "You're going to need it" you're off to a good start for the day.

One of my all-time favorites in Vancouver: family owned, excellent service, great food, and perfect prices for a starving student. A few blocks north of Clark and somehow not mobbed by students.

More people need to know, and love, Dok Koon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want the real deal, this is it!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I hve been going to Dok Koons for about ten years now. Its always the same faces, the same great food, at the same great prices. I love that they bring in fresh flowers!! Their peanut sauce is perfection, as well as the salad rolls. If you ask for it hot be prepared for what you will recieve!! not for sissys!! Even my husband who doesnt love much more than standard american fare absolutely loves some of their dishes. Im happy to now have two regular thai places to indulge my love for this food here in vancouver.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Salad Rolls In the 'Couv”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This unassuming restaurant is located in a mini strip mall. Dok Koon has good Thai food at reasonable prices. They have the BEST salad rolls at ANY price!
They have the typical Thai fare all well prepared. Pad Thai and curries are all well made with generous portions. ..... but the salad rolls are really why you come here.
These salad rolls are huge , filled with either shrimp, tofu or, by special request, pork. They have fresh lettuce and rice stick noodles in these rolls and the dipping sauce is the icing on the cake for these delectable salad rolls.
The service is great and sometimes may take a bit longer because everything is freshly made to order.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having traveled in Thailand many times I am reluctant to eat Thai food here but after a friends reccommendation I had to try it. Glad I did the food was fresh, well prepared and made me homesick for Thailand. I know where I am going the next time i crave some Thai food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lovetogoalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dok Koon Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Dok Koon Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing