We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great anchor for visiting Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bertram Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bertram Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great anchor for visiting Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A charming place in a quiet location, close enough and yet away. Beautiful decor, rich and tasty breakfast, definitively a place to return to.
We arrived late after a long flight, so it was a great calming and relaxing situation. Visiting Boston for a couple of days, this Inn served as an anchor for this part of our trip.

Room Tip: Worth to add a bit for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShmuelSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    57
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
98
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Full disclaimer: I am not overly fond of B&B's. The Bertram delivered better than most in availability of tea and coffee at all times, accommodating late check in and availability of newspapers. The one thing I usually do like about B&B's fell short: the breakfast. There was a table laden with starches, a large bowl of melon, with very few berries scattered around on top, yoghurt, and cold boiled eggs. Perhaps the rolls and croissants and pastries were delicious, but I found it hard to pull together a healthy breakfast.
My room (4) was nice, a corner room, with a lot of light. As noted in an earlier review, the bed was great, the pillows much less so. I stuffed two of them in one pillowcase in the end.
I had reserved a room with a work space, and, if I pulled the chair out of the corner up to the desk I suppose I had one, but it was not a comfortable setup for any length of time, and it left no other chair in the room for the other half of a couple.
Al in all not bad, but not for the price I paid!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Bertram Inn Oct 12-14 while visiting our daughter in Boston. It was delightful. The location was wonderful. A 5 minute walk to the T or to Coolidge Corner with its many shops and restaurants. Our room was beautiful with a comfortable Duxiana Bed and down pillow decorated with period furniture but yet a HD TV and great WiFi. The lobby was a cozy place to hang out with a nice breakfast. The hotel was very clean. Our room was cleaned each day followed by nighttime turndown service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor is where everyone enters so likely a little noisy. No elevator. 2nd Floor seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKSF7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've stayed twice at this inn and for the most part, it's a good place to stay. It's very conveniently located to the charming town of Brookline with lots of restaurants, etc. What I really like is the constant availability of snacks in the lobby area, hot tea, coffee, etc. There's also a good selection of newspapers in the morning and decent coffee to go with the fresh fruit salad we have every morning. I prefer the rooms with hardwood floors and a seating area. The carpeting in some of the rooms seems old and icky so I avoid those rooms. All cotton sheets satisfy this reviewer, but the pillows are horrible and are the main reason for a 4 rather than a 5 rating!! For an inn that charges a premium for their rooms, they should have great fluffy pillows that provide excellent support. Instead, their pillows are mashed down, flat and extremely lumpy and I struggled to get my head comfortable! Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much and will return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with lots of windows, hardwood floors and a sitting area. Some even have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were at the Inn fro September 12 thru the 16th. Arrived at Logan and were transported to Brookline by Smurfs Transportation, which is a very customer service oriented company. The Bertram Inn is a delightful place to stay! The staff is welcoming and very helpful and make every effort to make you feel at home. Ask them anything about public transportation which is right around the corner, or sites and events during your stay. They have answers. The rooms are historically well appointed and comfortable, and quiet - the room we got #16 was spacious. The daily Offerings in the parlor are homemade breads, cookies, coffee and teas, and the breakfasts are delicious. No other place will do on our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The inn was easily found from the T stop at St Pauls, a five minute walk at most. The inn staff were keen to settle us in and show us the lounge area and the ever ready supply of snacks, tea and coffee. The lounge area was lovely, as was the breakfast veranda and patio. The whole inn had a tranquil and cosy atmosphere with beautiful surroundings The dvd collection for borrowing was varied and there are a number of board games available. We stayed in room 4 which was lovely, light and airy. Would definitely recommend and stay again if we were ever in the area.

Room Tip: The journey to downtown on the T was about 30 minutes. Each journey costs $2.50 no matter how far yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here one night for a quick trip to Boston. The Inn is quite lovely and quiet, and historic. There are wood burning fireplaces, so the woodsmoke smell kind of permeates the living room, but not in a bad way. I loved that there were cookies and snacks available at all times including tea and coffee. Very nice touch. Breakfast is included but is fairly limited to continental type: cereal, toast, yogurt but they did serve eggs. It was satisfactory, nothing to write home about. The T is right down the street VERY convenient for getting into downtown, and the Coolidge corner area of Brookline a short walk away. All in all, very comfortable accommodations, but if you want to be right in town, stay in town (Boston). It makes life easier for you if that is what you want.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBG40894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bertram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn

Property: The Bertram Inn
Address: 92 Sewall Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-5327
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bertram Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Bertram Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bertram Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bertram Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing