We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coolidge Corner Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved everything about this B&B. A beautiful Victorian home in a suuperb neighborhood. A great location near metro station. A short distance to Fenway, restaurants, and theaters.. The staff is amazing! Very friendly and informative! Rooms were large, we had one on each floor. Great breakfast and we loved the cookies in the afternoon! Thanks Shawn & Jessica for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Coolidge Corner Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Firstly the good :

very friendly and genuinely helpful staff, excellent location in terms of transport and near by excellent restaurants , charming old house. Excellent breakfasts too .

The not so good :

- we booked for 4 nights and learned on the morning of our 4th day that the 4th night had NOT in fact been booked. This was despite the fact that we diligently sent an email 3 months ago asking for confirmation that 4 nights HAD been booked. The reply by email was that 4 nights HAD been booked. This obviously impacted on our plans and resulted us in paying significantly more for the 4th nights accommodation elsewhere (out of Boston). What else could we have done to make sure our stay was booked? Lucky this did not happen on the first day of our stay when we had tickets to the Red Sox game. For us this situation has been a major issue and a significant additional expense : all in all we are NOT HAPPY. Note also we had 2 rooms booked not just one.

Room 13: do NOT book it if you plan to"use" the bed.......as a previous reviewer has noted it really really is extremely noisy. I can only imagine what it is like in the room below next to the lounge or the lounge itself. I cannot comment on what other beds are like but this one is just REAL NOISY. SO YOUNG AND OLD LOVERS ALIKE BE WARNED. By the same token exhibitionists will enjoy immensely! (what do they say ? - it is an ill wind that does not blow someone some good) Oh yes as the other reviewer noted the floor boards are really noisy too - not sure what if anything the owners could do about that though as its an old house.

Room 12 and 13 - share the same bathroom in the hall. Fine - we knew that. Our sons were in room 12 - also no problem (very loudly squeaking bed aside of course). What we did NOT know is other guests feel it is their bathroom to use too - not their fault - there are no signs to tell them - no keys for those in 12 and 13 to ensure it is exclusively there's. SO if you are OK with using the "public" facilities - go for room 12 or 13! (they are discounted significantly compared to rooms with bathrooms attached).

Breakfast - except on the weekend when you can eat outside (subject to weather) there is not anywhere enough room for all guests to eat breakfast. This means in reality that those having breakfast CANNOT have a long leisurely breakfast - because of those waiting in the wings to have theirs. An additional fold up table could easily be placed in the lounge at breakfast time to at least relieve this problem.....alas no such initiative thus far.....

We would like to hear see some comments from Management about the issues we have raised.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 13 as explained above and also consider whether you want to use a public bathroo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FUNKYBUNCH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our review is mixed as there are some outstanding features to this place:

The staff was wonderful and the place very clean, well managed. The location is quiet and charming but not far from the convenience of Coolidge Corner.

Theses virtues were countered however by an innkeeper that wasn't on the premises at all while we were there; we'd have appreciated meeting the hosts were as there wasn't always someone available to answer questions we had. Our room was supposed to have a full sized bed (which is the same that we have at home) abut it was definitely smaller. Fortunately, I am 5' tall, my husband 5'10" and we're both thin, but it was still abnormally narrow and made for a somewhat difficult night's sleep. The window shade in the room had a broken bracket which came off no matter how carefully and delicately one pulled it down...and even raveling it by hand couldn't keep it up to let light in.

That said, it was nice enough..and if we can't get a room in our usual Brookline B&B's during visit-your-kid-in-school-stays, we'd probably book here again, making sure not to get the same room we had last time.

Room Tip: don't use the one with the dormer ceiling!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahYuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was in town for my son's graduation. The accommodations and price were unbelievable. Talked with the owner who was incredibly friendly. I highly recommend the guesthouse to anyone having to stay in the Boston area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdefreeseweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Friendly staff anticipated my arrival and addressed my personal requests. Friendly fellow-guests welcomed me and helped with luggage. A hearty cold breakfast is offered, with hot cereal a possibility as well. My room was clean and comfortable, with everything I expected and needed. The staff was anxious to help make me feel welcome and taken care of. Beautiful, walkable neighborhood. This is a small, cozy, homey-feeling B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a nice place, people treat you well. The room was clean and I had a good sleep. Breakfast was nice and the manager was great. I felt secure and safe. I didn't like much the distance between the room and the bathroom (although this was specified at the begining), this is a personal preference since I had to go to it through the kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Coolidge Corner guest house was a fine experience but just a few simple things could have made it much better.
The main thing was that we would have appreciated some hot breakfast items and since there was a staffmember on duty during breakfast, it seems there could have been at least cooked eggs or a breakfast casserole or waffles or something. The bagels/coffeecake/fruit/yogurt type stuff was ok but could have been enhanced by just a few hot breakfast items.
Ok experience overall though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achanso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolidge Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolidge Corner Guest House

Address: 17 Littell Rd, Brookline, MA 02446-6504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range: £105 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coolidge Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coolidge Corner Guest House, a Brookline bed and breakfast, is in a quiet residential neighborhood a 6-minute walk from the nearest Green Line public transit station for access to central Boston. We're a 10 minute drive from downtown Boston MA and close to local colleges, universities, and hospitals. Our family-owned Victorian B&B guesthouse is an affordable and comfortable alternative to luxury inns, hotels, and chain motels. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will help you find the best of Brookline and Boston dining, sight-seeing, transportation and make the most of your stay at The Coolidge Corner Guest House. The guest rooms at this Boston area inn blend antique chic style with modern amenities: flat-screen TVs, free WiFi, cable channels, and central air conditioning. Some guest rooms share bathrooms. Common areas at our Brookline bed and breakfast inn include a private garden, sitting room, and dining room. Guests can also use a kitchenette and laundry facilities. Our expanded Continental breakfast is complimentary and features Boston's best bagels from Kupel's Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coolidge Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed & Bagel Hotel Brookline
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed And Bagel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing