We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced! Who runs this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coolidge Corner Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced! Who runs this place?”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Room/bed comfortable. Best thing is we had our own bathroom. Never saw the innkeeper! Instead greeted by envelope on door with key and instructions on parking. Paid extra to park in single-file 4-deep driveway. College student did later arrive to help with answering questions. Many steps leading to room made carrying luggage a struggle. Not impressed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedandBagel, Owner at Coolidge Corner Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Joel,

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us - I'm so glad you found your room comfortable!

Regarding your concerns about staffing, we (the owners) are on-site 24/7, and can always be reached with a phone call. In addition, we have a morning manager who works from 7 am to noon, as well as a regular evening manager. Since our guests' arrival times range from early morning to past midnight, we always leave a self-check in option as well. Please be assured that there is always someone available if you need assistance or have questions about your stay!

Best wishes,

Jessica LaCount
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    82
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
86
96
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We visited Boston for a family wedding and found The Coolidge Corner Guest House very comfortable and home-like and a great place to stay with our 2 teenagers. They provided two adjoining rooms for us with a bath a few steps down the hall. A beautiful breakfast of English muffins, bagels, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, and juice was served in the quaint dining room each morning and the best part was the personal attention and friendliness of the staff. They helped us navigate through the city and gave us insider tips for all the venues we chose to visit. The location was just a short 3 block walk to the subway/bus system and a few blocks to an area full of little shops and restaurants. We look forward to visiting again and again.

Room Tip: The Bed and Bagel guest house is located in a quiet neighborhood and our room faced out towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5432154321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July. The room was on the second floor and was spacious, clean, and very nicely decorated. We had a very nice private bath. We appreciated the fresh fruit that was out all day and the very good coffee. The B&B is was about a 10 minute walk from the Young Israel shul on Green Street and reasonably close to the kosher restaurants on Harvard Street. The staff was very friendly and we would certainly consider staying here again on future visits to the Boston area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkib_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Judging by some of the other reviews, whether you like this place or not depends on the room you choose. We were in Sunshine on floor 3, with its own bathroom, and found it quiet and comfortable, if a little cramped. Breakfast was 'as described on the tin' and perfectly fine for us and we enjoyed the conversation with the other guests from many different states. The location is superb with access to downtown Boston easy via the T at Coolidge Corner and local restaurants feeding us very well on each of our 3 nights. We even took in a movie at the Coolidge Theatre. Parking for our hire car at $2/night was an added convenience. All in all, a place I'd come back to when in Boston again.

Room Tip: Sunshine (3rd floor with own bathroom) suited us well.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Location is good, but that's about it. Older, noisy house with a very squeaky bed. Every toilet flush was loud. One bathroom shared by 8 adults on our floor. Only had 6 seats at the breakfast table for at least 16 guests. Breakfast itself was continental style, nothing special.

WiFi only worked in the sitting room, not anywhere else.

Air conditioning went out the second night on a very warm evening and didn't even get an apology.

We'll be in a real hotel next time.

We'll be in a real hotel next time, even if it's a couple of bucks more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place was ideal for me to walk to my meetings and back everyday I was in Boston. Nice clean, homely place. Everyone was great. WiFi was non-existent and was told that it would be something that would need fixing but was not done during the time I was there. I considered it something minor given our over dependence on technology. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would choose rooms on the top floor only because of the noises from the plumbing (when the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmeoverthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location of this B&B in Brookline was good for us but the house was old, noisy, and not well appointed for the price. The breakfast was the big disappointment - hardly more than a continental, you could not access the food on your own but had to wait in line in a crowded eating area, six seats for all guests in the home, where the gentleman in charge tried to "serve" you and play traffic cop at the same time. Also, the times of breakfast were not convenient, especially on the weekend. I would search for other options, either B&B or the hotels not far from Coolidge Corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolidge Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolidge Corner Guest House

Property: Coolidge Corner Guest House
Address: 17 Littell Rd, Brookline, MA 02446-6504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coolidge Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coolidge Corner Guest House, a Brookline bed and breakfast, is in a quiet residential neighborhood a 6-minute walk from the nearest Green Line public transit station for access to central Boston. We're a 10 minute drive from downtown Boston MA and close to local colleges, universities, and hospitals. Our family-owned Victorian B&B guesthouse is an affordable and comfortable alternative to luxury inns, hotels, and chain motels. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will help you find the best of Brookline and Boston dining, sight-seeing, transportation and make the most of your stay at The Coolidge Corner Guest House. The guest rooms at this Boston area inn blend antique chic style with modern amenities: flat-screen TVs, free WiFi, cable channels, and central air conditioning. Some guest rooms share bathrooms. Common areas at our Brookline bed and breakfast inn include a private garden, sitting room, and dining room. Guests can also use a kitchenette and laundry facilities. Our expanded Continental breakfast is complimentary and features Boston's best bagels from Kupel's Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coolidge Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed And Bagel
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed & Bagel Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing