We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The house-made chorizo is as good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorado Tacos & Cemitas

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas
Ranked #57 of 200 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Specializing in Baja California-style fish tacos, real quesadillas, and authentic cemitas, Dorado Tacos features an innovative approach to Mexican street food. Dorado Tacos prepares all its own salsas, dressings, gluten-free marinades, and meat rubs with fresh, seasonal produce and traditional herbs and spices.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The house-made chorizo is as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I love this little place. Very casual, spotless, good vibe. Fastastic chorizo tacos, cemitas, quesadillas. I have never had a bad meal there. great value and the best chorizo on earth - HANDS DOWN.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFussyTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great and Affordable Mexican Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have been to this place twice in the past week and I can finally say that MexiCali aside, this will be my only Mexican joint that I'll hit up in Boston. My first trip there came after I saw that this place was on the "Hot on Yelp" list and also because I wondered what the hell a cemita was.

And cemita is exactly what I ordered after proceeding into this wonderful, welcoming establishment. A cemita is essentially some kind of a Mexican sandwich with multiple layers. I had the house-made chorizo one on my first trip there and tried out the pork milanesa one on my second trip. Both were delicious and may I just say that the buns they use are terrific! The sandwich features layers of oaxaca cheese, avocado, cilantro, black beans and chipotle adobo, along with your filler and it all works out amazingly well and is just delicious! And they cut it in half for you so you don't make a mess.

That aside they also have other fairly unique offerings like their fresh yucca chips which come served with a spicy ketchup cup. Oh they also have imported real Mexican Coca~Cola which is made with sugar cane. A worthy beverage to drink with your real Mexican fare.

I've also tried their tacos and it was spicy and tasty as well. I'd love to try their fish tacos but I'm allergic to fish so that's not going to work out.

The prices are beyond reasonable, the service is prompt and they'll even bring it to your table from the kitchen. They also have some homemade aqua frescas available for the thirsty ones. I can't find anything negative about this place. Even street parking is easy to find there.

Oh and did I mention that they have a liquor license and carry a decent selection of beers? And they also have sangria as well! Dorado, I love you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyKrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best taco plate in Boston area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I regularly walk 20 minutes to Dorado Tacos, in any weather, for their batter-fried whitefish tacos and grilled vegetable tacos. The Taco Plate comes with the best black beans and rice I've ever had. You can't beat the flavor and value. If you're a meat eater, they also have fantastic port tacos. Note that this is high-quality, authentic food, not Mexican food junked down for the American palate with cheese and sour cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_d_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh fish tacos with intense flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

They always have a range of interesting fish, non fish and vegetarian options The flavors are intense and delicious but not overly spicy. The set up is pretty simple, but the value is excellent and the service is good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We go almost every weekend - relatively cheap, lots of variety. Some classic fish tacos and some other meat/ vegie ones too. In season, the elote - corn with cheese, spices - is a must. The staff, even though at first glance might appear like young students not wanting to be there, are great - helpful and friendly. Quick walk from C-line in Brookline - worth the trip, and much more authentic and tastey then any of the burrito places in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacations99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorado Tacos & Cemitas also viewed

 

Been to Dorado Tacos & Cemitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing