We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fish tacos, low-key and inexpensive take out!”

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas
Ranked #82 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Specializing in Baja California-style fish tacos, real quesadillas, and authentic cemitas, Dorado Tacos features an innovative approach to Mexican street food. Dorado Tacos prepares all its own salsas, dressings, gluten-free marinades, and meat rubs with fresh, seasonal produce and traditional herbs and spices.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious fish tacos, low-key and inexpensive take out!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Amazing fish tacos, fairly priced. Great sangria, grilled corn, gazpacho too. Take out joint with shaded sidewalk seating. Great for lunch or brunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicomaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
nicomaus,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our restaurant on traveladvisor.com.
We appreciate your enthusiastic comments about DORADO.
We hope to see you again soon.
Enjoy your summer.
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were in Brookline to see the house where JFK was born but wanted to grab a quick lunch first. We happened on Dorado's and decided to try it. It was really very, very good. It's not a fancy place and you have to order at the counter but the food was tasty and the price was right. I would go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Well doesn't that sound like the perfect Boston day, Linda! So happy we could help you fill up before heading out on your adventures. Did you get to try any of our fish tacos this time around? If not, you'll definitely have to give them a go the next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Cheers,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting, but won't comeback”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I got some take away from this place. I went with the pork cemita and was fairly disappointed. Cemita is basically like a mexican hamburger. However because the chicken was breaded and there was next to no sauces on the burger the whole thing was rather dry and very unexciting. Maybe I choose the wrong menu item, judging from all the good reviews here, but I was very disappointed and will venture across the street to Anna's for my mexican fix.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hwm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The house-made chorizo is as good as it gets”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I love this little place. Very casual, spotless, good vibe. Fastastic chorizo tacos, cemitas, quesadillas. I have never had a bad meal there. great value and the best chorizo on earth - HANDS DOWN.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFussyTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great and Affordable Mexican Joint”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have been to this place twice in the past week and I can finally say that MexiCali aside, this will be my only Mexican joint that I'll hit up in Boston. My first trip there came after I saw that this place was on the "Hot on Yelp" list and also because I wondered what the hell a cemita was.

And cemita is exactly what I ordered after proceeding into this wonderful, welcoming establishment. A cemita is essentially some kind of a Mexican sandwich with multiple layers. I had the house-made chorizo one on my first trip there and tried out the pork milanesa one on my second trip. Both were delicious and may I just say that the buns they use are terrific! The sandwich features layers of oaxaca cheese, avocado, cilantro, black beans and chipotle adobo, along with your filler and it all works out amazingly well and is just delicious! And they cut it in half for you so you don't make a mess.

That aside they also have other fairly unique offerings like their fresh yucca chips which come served with a spicy ketchup cup. Oh they also have imported real Mexican Coca~Cola which is made with sugar cane. A worthy beverage to drink with your real Mexican fare.

I've also tried their tacos and it was spicy and tasty as well. I'd love to try their fish tacos but I'm allergic to fish so that's not going to work out.

The prices are beyond reasonable, the service is prompt and they'll even bring it to your table from the kitchen. They also have some homemade aqua frescas available for the thirsty ones. I can't find anything negative about this place. Even street parking is easy to find there.

Oh and did I mention that they have a liquor license and carry a decent selection of beers? And they also have sangria as well! Dorado, I love you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyKrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorado Tacos & Cemitas also viewed

 
 

Been to Dorado Tacos & Cemitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing