We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai restaurant in the US”

Dok Bua Thai Kitchen
Ranked #45 of 203 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in the US”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you want your taste buds to feel like you are in Thailand again, you must eat here. Maybe its not so fancy and the menus looks outdated, but the food is so authentic and delicious. I was so happy to find a place that know how to use the right spices and flavors that makes you feel in the middle of Bangkok right here in Brookline.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMIRSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
158 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun, family-oriented Thai restaurant in Coolidge Corner.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Huge menu. Lots of interesting choices. Fast service. A bit of a bustle. Seems to be a hot take-out restaurant as well as sit-in. Service was great and we didn't have to wait long for the kitchen. Will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Bangkok food, conveniently served in Brookline”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you love authentic Thai food, served at the best price around Boston, Dok Bua will become your new favorite restaurant.

Dok Bua means "Lotus flower" in Thai, which is fitting for this hidden jewel. The Lotus flower, while rooted in the mud, is able to rise up above the murky water and yield a flower of beauty. The Dok Bua restaurant itself is rooted in an unimpressive space, however the food and spirit of this small eatery, has brought me back for over six years.

Don't be put off by the humble interior. The décor is just as funky as ever and even after the recent make-over removed the refrigerators from the seating area, it can still get a bit crowded. So what if the cutlery and glasses don't often match, if you are looking for an authentic Thai experience, that's probably not why you are here...

The friendly staff is always quick to attend you and provide very fast service with a smile. In addition, the photo album style menu is a great help to visitors who are not sure about what to try.

I recommend either the Lunch or Dinner special
The Lunch Special is $8.95 for a generous main course, plus 2 sides (available until 4pm)
The Dinner Special is $10.95 for a very generous entree served with jasmine rice, tom-yum soup, egg roll and fried pork dumpling.

For those who don't want spicy food, plain/ stir-fried noodles, popcorn chicken or a simple Pad Thai are good choices. There are also over 20 Vegetarian entrees on the menu. Personally, the Tom-Yum Soup with Pad-Bai-Ga-Pow (Meat with chili and basil) or Panang Curry are a must.

If you don't feel like drinking Thai Ice Tea, Bubble Tea served in Mason Jars, fruit juices or other beverages, the restaurant has a BYOB policy. Although you can't buy a cold beer, you can bring a few frosty ones along to balance the heat.

Aroi mak mak !

Dok Bua is open every day from 11:00 am to 10:00 pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4dv1s0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I was in Brookline last weekend helping my daughter move, and we were looking for some good, light Thai Food, when we stumbled upon Dok Bua. It had received Best in Boston 2011 and 2008, so we thought oh boy, we are in for something good. What a disappointment it was! The food was very greasy, and the peanut sauce was inedible. We did not eat our food, and the waiter didn't even ask if everything was alright?!? Save your money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bustling, energetic, fresh, tasty food, friendly service”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a great little place for quickly served, savory Thai food. Service was attentive. There is a separate large vegetarian section to the menu. This is not thje choice for a romantic dinner, but it is a great place to come with a bunch of folks for a lively, tasty Thai meal and dishes so good you won't want to share. .BYOB, too. I am in agreement with the other reviewers in that I have enjoyed all the dishes I have ordered, both the stir friy and the noodle dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dok Bua Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Dok Bua Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing